2012 Le Mans Moto2 | Results

2012-le-mans-moto2-results (1)

2012 Moto2 Championship

Interwetten-Paddock’s Tom Lüthi put in a tremendous ride to take his season-first victory at the Monster Energy Grand Prix de France in Le Mans amid difficult conditions in a dramatic Moto2 race.

Pons 40 HP Tuenti’s Pol Espargaró got the best start as he stormed into the lead along with Marc VDS Racing Team’s Scott Redding.

The first chicane proved difficult as Came IodaRacing Project’s Simone Corsi was bucked off his bike, with the trio of NGM Mobile Forward Racing’s Yuki Takahashi, GP Team Switzerland’s Randy Krummenacher and S/Master Speed Up’s Mike Di Meglio taking each other out a few corners later.

Espargaró was trying to pull away at the front, but Lüthi and Redding were closely on his heels, with Tech 3 Racing’s Bradley Smith and Federal Oil Gresini Moto2’s Gino Rea in tow.

Takahashi’s teammate Alex de Angelis survived a scare as he slid back onto the track after coming off his bike, with the Moto2 pack doing tremendously well to avoid the rider.

Just as Rea looked to making headway, JiR Moto2’s Johann Zarco went up the inside, clipping the Brit’s front wheel, and sending him into the gravel, putting an end to his first race on the new Suter chassis. Meanwhile, Italtrans Racing Team’s Claudio Corti joined the front five, with Speed Master compatriot Andrea Iannone surging up the field as well.

With 17 laps to go, Espargaró ran wide, handing the lead to Lüthi and dropping into ninth in the process. Smith also had a run off track, but managed to re-join in 14th. Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol’s Marc Márquez, who did not have a terrific start, was fighting his way up to the front five, as he tussled with rain-specialist Zarco.

Drama followed shortly after as the Spanish championship leader went down after loosing control of his bike, and being unable to re-join. This left Zarco to challenge for a podium, and the Frenchman soon pushed past Redding into second, followed by Corti, who put in a bold move on the Brit. With 13 laps to go, Lüthi had pulled out a lead of just over three seconds.

Arguiñano Racing Team’s Ricard Cardús suffered a heavy high-side half way through the race, yet fortunately walked away unscathed. Further down the field, Espargaró was struggling to make up positions, as he was overtaken in eighth place by QMMF Racing Team’s Anthony West, who was showing his usual prowess in the rain.

Di Meglio, who had re-joined the race after his early crash, lost control of his bike once again with nine laps to go, putting an end to his race. He was followed shortly by Corti’s teammate Takaaki Nakagami who had a high-speed crash heading into the back chicane. With six laps left, Zarco had cut the lead to Lüthi to under a second, whilst West went past Blusens Avintia’s Julián Simón into sixth. West’s teammate Elena Rosell was not faring as well as the Australian, as she crashed out of the race.

French heartache soon followed, as Zarco lost the back-end of his bike as he continued to push hard in the wet, handing second place to Corti and third to Redding. The main tussle in the pack was for sixth place with Redding’s teammate Kallio, West, Espargaró, Simón and Smith swapping positions in the final few laps. The unpredictability of the race was to continue until the final corner as Smith dropped his bike in the last turn, and Simón having to push his bike across the finish line due to an electrical fault.

It was however Lüthi who put in a stunning ride to take the chequered flag ahead of Corti, who recorded his first ever podium, and Redding in third, recording his first podium for 22 races. Rounding out the top ten were Iannone, Kallio, Espargaró, West, Kiefer Racing’s Max Neukirchner, Thai Honda Gresini’s Ratthapark Wilairot as well as Smith, who managed to salvage a few points.

2012 Le Mans Moto2 Results:

1.2512Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten-PaddockSuter130.450’02.816
2.2071Claudio CORTIITAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex130.2+6.354
3.1645Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex129.9+12.162
4.1329Andrea IANNONEITASpeed MasterSpeed Up129.7+16.338
5.1136Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex129.6+19.278
6.1040Pol ESPARGAROSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex129.5+20.874
7.995Anthony WESTAUSQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki129.5+21.705
8.876Max NEUKIRCHNERGERKiefer RacingKalex129.2+28.117
9.714Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2Suter128.8+38.317
10.638Bradley SMITHGBRTech 3 RacingTech 3128.7+40.940
11.580Esteve RABATSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex128.6+44.077
12.424Toni ELIASSPAMapfre Aspar TeamSuter127.9+59.583
13.360Julian SIMONSPABlusens AvintiaSuter127.8+1’01.785
14.218Nicolas TEROLSPAMapfre Aspar TeamSuter127.8+1’03.430
15.177Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter127.5+1’10.341
16.44Roberto ROLFOITATechnomag-CIPSuter127.0+1’22.145
17.49Axel PONSSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex126.0+1’46.994
18.72Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNNGM Mobile Forward RacingSuter123.91 Lap
19.10Marco COLANDREASWISAG TeamFTR120.51 Lap
Not Classified
5Johann ZARCOFRAJIR Moto2Motobi130.35 Laps
82Elena ROSELLSPAQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki122.88 Laps
30Takaaki NAKAGAMIJPNItaltrans Racing TeamKalex128.99 Laps
63Mike DI MEGLIOFRAS/Master Speed UpSpeed Up125.310 Laps
88Ricard CARDUSSPAArguiñano Racing TeamAJR128.813 Laps
93Marc MARQUEZSPATeam CatalunyaCaixa RepsolSuter119.815 Laps
8Gino REAGBRFederal Oil Gresini Moto2Suter127.819 Laps
7Alexander LUNDHSWECresto Guide MZ RacingMZ-RE Honda119.619 Laps
15Alex DE ANGELISRSMNGM Mobile Forward RacingSuter125.723 Laps
47Angel RODRIGUEZSPADesguaces La Torre SAGBimota117.924 Laps
3Simone CORSIITACame IodaRacing ProjectFTR96.624 Laps
4Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIGP Team SwitzerlandKalex76.725 Laps

2012 Le Mans Moto2 Point Standings (After four of 18 rounds):

2.Marc MARQUEZSuterSPA70
3.Thomas LUTHISuterSWI68
4.Andrea IANNONESpeed UpITA46
5.Scott REDDINGKalexGBR44
6.Mika KALLIOKalexFIN33
7.Claudio CORTIKalexITA32
8.Bradley SMITHTech 3GBR24
9.Johann ZARCOMotobiFRA23
10.Toni ELIASSuterSPA23
11.Esteve RABATKalexSPA18
12.Alex DE ANGELISSuterRSM14
13.Takaaki NAKAGAMIKalexJPN13
14.Dominique AEGERTERSuterSWI13
15.Julian SIMONSuterSPA12
16.Anthony WESTMoriwakiAUS9
17.Mike DI MEGLIOSpeed UpFRA9
20.Ratthapark WILAIROTSuterTHA7
21.Xavier SIMEONTech 3BEL6
23.Nicolas TEROLSuterSPA2
25.Gino REAMoriwakiGBR1