Marquez on Le Mans Moto2 Pole

2012 Moto2

Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol’s championship leader Marc Márquez claimed pole position at the Monster Energy Grand Prix de France despite a crash early in the session.

The Spaniard recorded his third consecutive pole position with a best lap of 1.37’710, overcoming an early scare, as he lost the front end with 25 minutes to go. He was able to return to the pits and head back out on track shortly after.

The Moto2 grid was lucky with the weather and riders were able to run in dry conditions almost right up to the chequered flag, where Interwetten-Paddock’s Tom Lüthi managed to sneak into second place ahead of Pons 40 HP Tuenti’s Pol Espargaró.

Marc VDS Racing Team’s Scott Redding heads the second row, after failing to improve on his time due to a crash on the final quick lap. He starts ahead of Speed Master’s Andrea Iannone, who was pushing hard until the very end, despite some spots of rain appearing on his last run. Sixth place went to Redding’s teammate Mika Kallio, who was just over two-tenths off the Brit.

NGM Mobile Forward Racing’s Alex de Angelis starts from seventh, ahead of JiR Moto2’s local favourite Johann Zarco, who put in a strong performance in front of his home crowd. Italtrans Racing Team’s Claudio Corti continued his good form from this morning as he finished ninth, with Mapfre Aspar Team’s Toni Elías rounding out the top ten.

Apart from Márquez and Redding, there were further crashes for S/Master Speed Up’s Mike Di Meglio and Tech 3 Racing’s Xavier Simeon. Simeon sustained multiple fractures in his left hand, a fracture in his left foot, and has been taken to hospital to check on potential pelvis trauma.

2012 Le Mans Moto2 Qualifying Results:

Pos.Num.RiderNationTeamBikeKm/hTimeGap 1st/Prev.
1.93Marc MARQUEZSPATeam CatalunyaCaixa RepsolSuter254.11’37.710
2.12Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten-PaddockSuter256.81’37.7390.029 / 0.029
3.40Pol ESPARGAROSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex253.81’38.1900.480 / 0.451
4.45Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex250.31’38.3690.659 / 0.179
5.29Andrea IANNONEITASpeed MasterSpeed Up252.61’38.3990.689 / 0.030
6.36Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex253.61’38.5740.864 / 0.175
7.15Alex DE ANGELISRSMNGM Mobile Forward RacingSuter251.71’38.6620.952 / 0.088
8.5Johann ZARCOFRAJIR Moto2Motobi251.71’38.7521.042 / 0.090
9.71Claudio CORTIITAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex247.11’38.7951.085 / 0.043
10.24Toni ELIASSPAMapfre Aspar TeamSuter250.61’38.8261.116 / 0.031
11.60Julian SIMONSPABlusens AvintiaSuter253.21’38.8271.117 / 0.001
12.77Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter251.51’38.8631.153 / 0.036
13.4Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIGP Team SwitzerlandKalex256.21’38.8801.170 / 0.017
14.3Simone CORSIITACame IodaRacing ProjectFTR251.51’38.9611.251 / 0.081
15.88Ricard CARDUSSPAArguiñano Racing TeamAJR249.51’39.0611.351 / 0.100
16.49Axel PONSSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex251.71’39.1051.395 / 0.044
17.18Nicolas TEROLSPAMapfre Aspar TeamSuter252.61’39.2291.519 / 0.124
18.80Esteve RABATSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex255.71’39.2581.548 / 0.029
19.38Bradley SMITHGBRTech 3 RacingTech 3250.61’39.3011.591 / 0.043
20.72Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNNGM Mobile Forward RacingSuter253.81’39.3151.605 / 0.014
21.19Xavier SIMEONBELTech 3 RacingTech 3248.81’39.3531.643 / 0.038
22.44Roberto ROLFOITATechnomag-CIPSuter250.21’39.4141.704 / 0.061
23.63Mike DI MEGLIOFRAS/Master Speed UpSpeed Up253.31’39.5201.810 / 0.106
24.8Gino REAGBRFederal Oil Gresini Moto2Suter253.21’39.7962.086 / 0.276
25.30Takaaki NAKAGAMIJPNItaltrans Racing TeamKalex252.01’39.7972.087 / 0.001
26.7Alexander LUNDHSWECresto Guide MZ RacingMZ-RE Honda249.71’39.9242.214 / 0.127
27.76Max NEUKIRCHNERGERKiefer RacingKalex247.01’40.1202.410 / 0.196
28.95Anthony WESTAUSQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki247.61’40.5732.863 / 0.453
29.14Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2Suter249.41’40.7843.074 / 0.211
30.47Angel RODRIGUEZSPADesguaces La Torre SAGBimota245.61’41.4433.733 / 0.659
31.82Elena ROSELLSPAQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki243.61’41.6343.924 / 0.191
32.10Marco COLANDREASWISAG TeamFTR248.71’42.1824.472 / 0.548