Le Mans Moto3: Vinales on Pole

2012-le-mans-moto3-vinales-on-pole (1)2012 Moto3 Le Mans Qualifying Results

In wet conditions at the Monster Energy Grand Prix de France in Le Mans it was Blusens Avintia’s Maverick Viñales who held his nerve to take pole position ahead of Efrén Vázquez.

After having had nothing but dry time at the French circuit, the Moto3 contingent struggled with the changed conditions, as many riders fell chasing grid positions.

It was however Viñales who put in a rain master-class as he took his first pole position of the season with a time of 1.55’865, ahead of Efrén Vázquez, who also achieved his first front row start of the year, even though he was almost a second behind his compatriot.

The front row is completed by Estrella Galicia 0,0’s Miguel Oliveira, who set his time half way through the session, before crashing, and being unable to challenge at the end.

It was a great outing for Redox-Ongetta-Centro Seta’s Jakub Kornfeil, who heads up the front row, just in front of Caretta Technology’s local favourite Alexis Masbou. Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Sandro Cortese rounds out the second row on the grid, after the current championship leader crashed early on, and only had the last 10 minutes to post a competitive time.

Seventh and eighth spot are occupied by Bankia Aspar Team pair Alberto Moncayo and Héctor Faubel, with RW Racing GP’s Luis Salom in ninth. AirAsia-SIC-Ajo’s Zulfahmi Khairuddin rounds out the top ten.

Riders that fell throughout the session included JHK T-Shirt Laglisse’s Adrian Martín, who fell on two occasions, Mahindra Racing’s Danny Webb, Andalucia JHK Laglisse’s Ivan Moreno, RW Racing GP’s Brad Binder, Oliveira’s teammate Alex Rins, Thomas Sabo GP Team’s Kevin Hanus, Caretta Technology’s Jack Miller, Cresto Guide MZ Racing’s Toni Finsterbusch, Mahindra’s Marcel Schrotter, and San Carlo Gresini Moto3’s Niccolo Antonelli.

Rins sustained a fractured finger in his right hand, while Finsterbusch has fractured his right collarbone. Rins’ ability to race tomorrow is being assessed, while the German has been declared unfit.

2012 Le Mans Moto3 Qualifying Results:

Pos.Num.RiderNationTeamBikeKm/hTimeGap 1st/Prev.
1.25Maverick VIÑALESSPABlusens AvintiaFTR Honda201.61’55.865
2.7Efren VAZQUEZSPAJHK T-Shirt LaglisseFTR Honda1’56.8470.982 / 0.982
3.44Miguel OLIVEIRAPOREstrella Galicia 0,0Suter Honda197.91’57.1141.249 / 0.267
4.84Jakub KORNFEILCZERedox-Ongetta-Centro SetaFTR Honda196.71’57.3921.527 / 0.278
5.10Alexis MASBOUFRACaretta TechnologyHonda197.91’57.6731.808 / 0.281
6.11Sandro CORTESEGERRed Bull KTM AjoKTM198.51’57.8011.936 / 0.128
7.23Alberto MONCAYOSPABankia Aspar TeamKalex KTM196.51’57.8461.981 / 0.045
8.55Hector FAUBELSPABankia Aspar TeamKalex KTM198.81’57.8992.034 / 0.053
9.39Luis SALOMSPARW Racing GPKalex KTM197.61’58.0002.135 / 0.101
10.63Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDINMALAirAsia-Sic-AjoKTM203.01’58.1332.268 / 0.133
11.94Jonas FOLGERGERIodaRacing ProjectIoda188.51’58.3042.439 / 0.171
12.26Adrian MARTINSPAJHK T-Shirt LaglisseFTR Honda192.21’58.3152.450 / 0.011
13.31Niklas AJOFINTT Motion Events RacingKTM202.71’58.5632.698 / 0.248
14.61Arthur SISSISAUSRed Bull KTM AjoKTM200.11’58.5702.705 / 0.007
15.96Louis ROSSIFRARacing Team GermanyFTR Honda196.61’58.5762.711 / 0.006
16.41Brad BINDERRSARW Racing GPKalex KTM200.71’58.5902.725 / 0.014
17.52Danny KENTGBRRed Bull KTM AjoKTM198.51’58.6732.808 / 0.083
18.89Alan TECHERFRATechnomag-CIP-TSRTSR Honda198.61’58.6792.814 / 0.006
19.30Giulian PEDONESWIAmbrogio Next RacingSuter Honda194.31’58.9323.067 / 0.253
20.32Isaac VIÑALESSPAOngetta-Centro SetaFTR Honda192.01’58.9383.073 / 0.006
21.5Romano FENATIITATeam Italia FMIFTR Honda200.61’58.9783.113 / 0.040
22.8Jack MILLERAUSCaretta TechnologyHonda192.11’59.2333.368 / 0.255
23.19Alessandro TONUCCIITATeam Italia FMIFTR Honda199.31’59.2513.386 / 0.018
24.15Simone GROTZKYJITAAmbrogio Next RacingSuter Honda195.71’59.3353.470 / 0.084
25.53Jasper IWEMANEDMoto FGRFGR Honda193.01’59.5393.674 / 0.204
26.42Alex RINSSPAEstrella Galicia 0,0Suter Honda199.91’59.8884.023 / 0.349
27.27Niccolò ANTONELLIITASan Carlo Gresini Moto3FTR Honda195.72’00.1294.264 / 0.241
28.51Kenta FUJIIJPNTechnomag-CIP-TSRTSR Honda196.82’00.9035.038 / 0.774
29.21Ivan MORENOSPAAndalucia JHK LaglisseFTR Honda197.72’02.3796.514 / 1.476
30.9Toni FINSTERBUSCHGERCresto Guide MZ RacingHonda195.42’03.2407.375 / 0.861
31.86Kevin HANUSGERThomas Sabo GP TeamHonda192.92’03.6267.761 / 0.386
99Danny WEBBGBRMahindra RacingMahindra185.62’04.1448.279 / 0.518
77Marcel SCHROTTERGERMahindra RacingMahindra192.82’05.2069.341 / 1.062
3Luigi MORCIANOITAIoda Team ItaliaIoda177.92’05.5659.700 / 0.359