News 2012 Estoril Moto3 | Results

2012 Estoril Moto3 | Results

2012-estoril-moto3-results (1)

2012 Moto3

Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Sandro Cortese took victory Sunday in a thrilling battle to the line with rival Maverick Viñales in the Moto3 class at the Grande Prémio de Portugal Circuito Estoril.

It was Cortese who got the holeshot and led into the first corner, ahead of Blusens Avintia’s Viñales. After the typical Moto3 melee of 34 bikes swapping places in the opening laps, a leading group containing Cortese, RW Racing GP’s Luis Salom, JHK T-Shirt Laglisse’s Efrén Vázquez, Viñales and Cortese’s teammate Danny Kent started to pull away early on.

In the latter stages of the race, Cortese moved past Viñales at the end of the straight to take the lead, though could not shake the young Spaniard, as the two were wheel to wheel for the final three laps. Salom, then lying in fourth, also took the fight to Air-Asia-SIC-Ajo’s Zulfahmi Khairuddin in front, as he pushed past him on the first bend with two laps to go.

The last lap was a nail-biting affair as Viñales and Cortese touched fairings throughout, yet it was the German who won the drag to the line after the final bend, to take his first victory of the season and the lead in the championship.

The last step on the podium went to Salom, who manage to hold Khairuddin at bay to secure third. The top ten were rounded out by Efrén Vázquez, San Carlo Gresini Moto3’s Niccolo Antonelli, Estrella Galicia 0,0’s Alex Rins, Danny Kent, Caretta-Technology’s Alexis Masbou and Redox-Ongetta-Centro Seta’s Jakub Kornfeil.

2012 Estoril Moto3 Results:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 11 Sandro CORTESE GER Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 138.8 41’34.536
2 20 25 Maverick VIÑALES SPA Blusens Avintia FTR Honda 138.8 +0.055
3 16 39 Luis SALOM SPA RW Racing GP Kalex KTM 138.2 +11.038
4 13 63 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN MAL AirAsia-Sic-Ajo KTM 138.1 +12.195
5 11 7 Efren VAZQUEZ SPA JHK T-Shirt Laglisse FTR Honda 137.7 +20.934
6 10 27 Niccolò ANTONELLI ITA San Carlo Gresini Moto3 FTR Honda 137.7 +20.976
7 9 42 Alex RINS SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 Suter Honda 137.6 +21.792
8 8 52 Danny KENT GBR Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 137.6 +21.888
9 7 10 Alexis MASBOU FRA Caretta Technology Honda 137.5 +23.046
10 6 84 Jakub KORNFEIL CZE Redox-Ongetta-Centro Seta FTR Honda 137.5 +23.310
11 5 41 Brad BINDER RSA RW Racing GP Kalex KTM 137.5 +23.379
12 4 55 Hector FAUBEL SPA Bankia Aspar Team Kalex KTM 137.5 +23.763
13 3 61 Arthur SISSIS AUS Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 137.5 +24.308
14 2 23 Alberto MONCAYO SPA Bankia Aspar Team Kalex KTM 137.4 +25.015
15 1 12 Alex MARQUEZ SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 Suter Honda 137.4 +26.450
16 6 Joan OLIVE SPA TT Motion Events Racing KTM 137.0 +32.641
17 89 Alan TECHER FRA Technomag-CIP-TSR TSR Honda 137.0 +32.743
18 19 Alessandro TONUCCI ITA Team Italia FMI FTR Honda 136.8 +36.511
19 77 Marcel SCHROTTER GER Mahindra Racing Mahindra 135.9 +53.527
20 21 Ivan MORENO SPA Andalucia JHK Laglisse FTR Honda 135.3 +1’04.014
21 9 Toni FINSTERBUSCH GER Cresto Guide MZ Racing Honda 135.3 +1’04.064
22 73 Manuel TATASCIORE ITA Caretta Technology Honda 135.3 +1’04.071
23 51 Kenta FUJII JPN Technomag-CIP-TSR TSR Honda 133.9 +1’30.900
24 3 Luigi MORCIANO ITA Ioda Team Italia Ioda 132.8 1 Lap
25 86 Kevin HANUS GER Thomas Sabo GP Team Honda 132.7 1 Lap
80 Armando PONTONE ITA IodaRacing Project Ioda 130.8 +2’32.229
30 Giulian PEDONE SWI Ambrogio Next Racing Oral 130.7 +2’35.705
Not Classified
53 Jasper IWEMA NED Moto FGR FGR Honda 135.3 8 Laps
96 Louis ROSSI FRA Racing Team Germany FTR Honda 137.3 9 Laps
5 Romano FENATI ITA Team Italia FMI FTR Honda 137.3 9 Laps
32 Isaac VIÑALES SPA Ongetta-Centro Seta FTR Honda 135.0 10 Laps
99 Danny WEBB GBR Mahindra Racing Mahindra 129.6 15 Laps
26 Adrian MARTIN SPA JHK T-Shirt Laglisse FTR Honda 131.7 17 Laps
44 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Estrella Galicia 0,0 Suter Honda 132.3 20 Laps

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2022 Kawasaki KLR650 First Look (14 Fast Facts)

2018 was a dark year for Kawasaki KLR650 enthusiasts. It was the last year of the much-loved venerable big-bore dual-sport model that debuted in...

2022 Indian FTR Lineup First Look (8 Fast Facts)

It’s barely 2021, yet the 2022 Indian FTR lineup is here, and there are some significant changes to three of the four variants. In...

2021 Kawasaki KLX230R S First Look (8 Fast Facts)

Just a year after the debut of the Kawasaki KLX230R trail bike, we get our first look at the 2021 Kawasaki KLX230R S. While...

2021 Triumph Speed Triple 1200 RS First Look (19 Fast Facts)

Forget what you know about any previous Triumph Speed Triple. The 2021 Triumph Speed Triple 1200 RS is an all-new naked upright sportbike ready...

2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited First Look: Updates, Specs, Photos

The 2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited arrives with two new paint choices, plus a couple of updates in the dash area. There’s a new LED...

MP Magic 37.5 Tech Merino Wool Socks Review (All-Season Footwear)

I’m very picky when it comes to motorcycle socks. For dirt bikes, it’s easy. I always wear Fly Racing Knee Brace socks, as they...