2012 Monza Superbike: Guintoli on Pole

2012-monza-superbike-guintoli-on-pole (1)

2012 World Superbike Superpole

Sylvain Guintoli (Team Effenbert Liberty Racing) made the best of the continuing difficult and changeable track conditions at Monza to record his first ever Tissot-Superpole win.

A wet Superpole was called which meant that there would be only two sessions, each of 20 minutes duration, with the slowest eight riders eliminated after the first session.

As soon as the session started bright sunshine started to dry the wet track surface, particularly on the main straight, but further small showers were evident around the track before the finish.

Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) was unable to quite reach the level of Guintoli, as he failed to win the pole prize for the first time this year. But the Brit qualified second for Sunday’s double-header at Monza.

Marco Melandri (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) was third, Carlos Checa (Althea Racing Ducati) fourth. The second row of the grid for Sunday’s races will be headed by Jonathan Rea (Honda World Superbike Team) with Max Biaggi (Aprilia Racing), Jakub Smrz (Liberty Racing Team Effenbert) and Davide Giugliano (Althea Racing Ducati) alongside him.

2012 Monza World Superbike Superpole Results:

1. Sylvain Guintoli (Team Effenbert Liberty Racing) Ducati 1198R 1’54.276

2. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1’54.990

3. Marco Melandri (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 1’55.971

4. Carlos Checa (Althea Racing) Ducati 1198R 1’56.793

5. Jonathan Rea (Honda World Superbike Team) Honda CBR1000RR 1’57.630

6. Max Biaggi (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1’58.666

7. Jakub Smrz (Liberty Racing Team Effenbert) Ducati 1098R 1’59.718

8. Davide Giugliano (Althea Racing) Ducati 1198R 2’00.645

9. John Hopkins (Crescent Fixi Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 1’59.489

10. Eugene Laverty (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1’59.680

11. Michel Fabrizio (BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet) BMW S1000 RR 1’59.681

12. Leon Camier (Crescent Fixi Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 1’59.845

13. Ayrton Badovini (BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet) BMW S1000 RR 1’59.978

14. Leon Haslam (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 2’00.093

15. David Salom (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 2’00.602

16. Chaz Davies (ParkinGO MTC Racing) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 2’01.772

17. Lorenzo Zanetti (PATA Racing Team) Ducati 1198R 1’44.203

18. Niccolò Canepa (Red Devils Roma) Ducati 1198R 1’44.321

19. Maxime Berger (Team Effenbert Liberty Racing) Ducati 1198R 1’44.489

20. Hiroshi Aoyama (Honda World Superbike Team) Honda CBR1000RR 1’44.686

21. Leandro Mercado (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1’45.156

22. Mark Aitchison (Grillini Progea Superbike Team) BMW S1000 RR 1’45.841

23. Sergio Gadea (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1’48.085

Previous article2012 Estoril MotoGP: Stoner on Pole
Next articleLas Vegas Supercross | Results
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007 and is currently Editor at Large at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of 365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).