2012 Jerez Moto3 | Results

2012-jerez-moto3-results (1)

2012 Moto3 Championship

Italian rookie Romano Fenati confirmed himself as a star of the future with a dominant maiden win in tricky conditions at the Gran Premio bwin de España at Jerez, which saw almost half the field crash out.

Redox-Ongetta-Centro Seta´s Jakub Kornfeil got the best start and led the frantic opening stages in a race that was declared dry, despite a few damp patches still out on track. Red Bull KTM Ajo´s Danny Kent, Caretta Technology´s Jack Miller and Ambrogio Next Racing´s Simone Grotzkyj were soon caught out by the conditions, coming off at turn 10 on lap two simultaneously.

Estrella Galicia 0,0´s Miguel Oliveira was soon in the lead, yet Kornfeil was not giving up without a fight. However, he too came off spectacularly in turn 13, followed closely by RW Racing GP´s Brad Binder. Yet the drama continued as Oliveira followed suit a few turns later, with Kent´s team mate Arthur Sissis high-siding his bike as well.

This left Estrella Galicia 0,0´s pole sitter Alex Rins in the lead ahead of Team Italia FMI´s Romano Fenati and Racing Team Germany´s Louis Rossi. Rossi soon got past the Italian to chased down Rins, who saved a near spectacular crash, leaving him to dice with Fenati and Rossi for first.

The three riders swapped positions frequently, though soon Rossi joined the list of crashers, as he skid out on turn one, leaving the Italian rookie and Spanish wildcard to lead the way. Further down the grid, Moto FGR´s Jasper Iwema slid his bike into the gravel, after which JHK T-Shirt Laglisse´s Adrian Martin followed suit in turn one, crashing out from seventh. Mahindra Racing´s Danny Webb retired with a mechanical problem with seven laps to go, while on the same lap Technomag-CIP-TSR´s Kenta Fujii crashed in the final turn.

At the end it was Romano Fenati who took the checker flag with a 31 second lead to take the lead in the Moto3 championship, ahead of RW Racing´s Luis Salom, who won the battle to take second spot ahead of Red Bull KTM Ajo´s Sandro Cortese in third, and Rins in fourth. Miller´s team mate Alexis Masbou finished fifth ahead Blusens Avintia´s championship favourite Maverick Viñales in sixth, who recovered from an earlier run off track.

Jack Miller was confirmed to have fractured his collarbone, with Danny Kent suffering multiple contusions. Sissis suffered multiple contusions to his chest and hand, while Fujii was taken to the medical centre for X-rays.

2012 Jerez Moto3 Results:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1. 25 5 Romano FENATI ITA Team Italia FMI FTR Honda 139.2 43’50.885
2. 20 39 Luis SALOM SPA RW Racing GP Kalex KTM 137.3 +36.139
3. 16 11 Sandro CORTESE GER Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 137.3 +36.895
4. 13 42 Alex RINS SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 Suter Honda 137.3 +37.061
5. 11 10 Alexis MASBOU FRA Caretta Technology Honda 136.7 +49.036
6. 10 25 Maverick VIÑALES SPA Blusens Avintia FTR Honda 136.3 +55.857
7. 9 23 Alberto MONCAYO SPA Bankia Aspar Team Kalex KTM 136.2 +57.505
8. 8 27 Niccolo ANTONELLI ITA San Carlo Gresini Moto3 FTR Honda 135.9 +1’03.683
9. 7 55 Hector FAUBEL SPA Bankia Aspar Team Kalex KTM 135.3 +1’15.351
10. 6 63 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN MAL AirAsia-Sic-Ajo KTM 134.3 +1’35.650
11. 5 19 Alessandro TONUCCI ITA Team Italia FMI FTR Honda 132.9 1 Lap
12. 4 12 Alex MARQUEZ SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 Suter Honda 132.8 1 Lap
13. 3 21 Ivan MORENO SPA Andalucia JHK Laglisse FTR Honda 132.5 1 Lap
14. 2 89 Alan TECHER FRA Technomag-CIP-TSR TSR Honda 131.0 1 Lap
15. 1 30 Giulian PEDONE SWI Ambrogio Next Racing Oral 131.0 1 Lap
16. 77 Marcel SCHROTTER GER Mahindra Racing Mahindra 129.2 1 Lap
17. 53 Jasper IWEMA NED Moto FGR FGR Honda 128.8 1 Lap
Not Classified
26 Adrian MARTIN SPA JHK T-Shirt Laglisse FTR Honda 135.3 8 Laps
51 Kenta FUJII JPN Technomag-CIP-TSR TSR Honda 135.1 8 Laps
99 Danny WEBB GBR Mahindra Racing Mahindra 134.8 9 Laps
96 Louis ROSSI FRA Racing Team Germany FTR Honda 137.1 14 Laps
32 Isaac VIÑALES SPA Ongetta-Centro Seta FTR Honda 134.3 17 Laps
28 Josep RODRIGUEZ SPA Wild Wolf BST FTR Honda 125.2 19 Laps
44 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Estrella Galicia 0,0 Suter Honda 134.6 20 Laps
61 Arthur SISSIS AUS Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 133.0 20 Laps
84 Jakub KORNFEIL CZE Redox-Ongetta-Centro Seta FTR Honda 132.9 21 Laps
41 Brad BINDER RSA RW Racing GP Kalex KTM 129.3 21 Laps
7 Efren VAZQUEZ SPA JHK T-Shirt Laglisse FTR Honda 128.8 21 Laps
31 Niklas AJO FIN TT Motion Events Racing KTM 127.6 21 Laps
9 Toni FINSTERBUSCH GER Cresto Guide MZ Racing MZ FTR 126.3 21 Laps
3 Luigi MORCIANO ITA Ioda Team Italia Ioda 125.3 21 Laps
Not Starting
8 Jack MILLER AUS Caretta Technology Honda 0 Lap
52 Danny KENT GBR Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 0 Lap
15 Simone GROTZKYJ ITA Ambrogio Next Racing Oral 0 Lap