News 2012 Jerez Moto2 | Results

2012 Jerez Moto2 | Results


2012 Moto2 Championship

Spanish youngster Pol Espargaró took his maiden Moto2 victory in front of his home crowd at the Gran Premio bwin de España at Jerez Sunday in a thrilling Moto2 race that was cut short by rain.

The Pons 40 HP Tuenti rider led the race early on, yet was soon entangled in the usual Moto2TM first lap melee. Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol´s Marc Marquez, Interwetten-Paddock´s Tom Lüthi and Marc VDS´ Scott Redding were not giving each other any room, as they swapped positions throughout the race.

It was a tough fight to the end, which saw Redding´s teammate Mika Kallio run onto the gravel from fifth, and GP Team Switzerland´s Randy Krummenacher and S/Master Speed Up´s Mike Di Meglio both crash out simultaneously while chasing the front pack.

With 11 laps left it started to rain, causing riders to push for front positions in case of a red flag. As the riders pushed harder and harder as conditions worsened, Márquez tried to pull out a lead, yet was overtaken by old 125cc foe Espargaró on lap 16. Márquez once again pushed past Espargaró, yet it was too late, as the red flag came out shortly after.

With regulations stating that the person who led the last full lap (17 in this case) wins, provided that over 2/3rd of the race distance has been covered, it was Espargaró who took the win ahead of Marquez in second and Lüthi in third, in what was once again a breathtaking Moto2TM encounter.

The top ten were rounded out by Scott Redding, Italtrans Racing Team´s Takaaki Nakagami, team mate Claudio Corti, Mika Kallio, Technomag-CIP´s Dominique Aegerter, Mapfre Aspar Team´s Toni Elias and JiR Moto2´s Johann Zarco.

QMMF Racing Team rider Elena Rosell crashed out of her home race, as she continues to struggle with the Moriwaki bike. Pons 40 HP Tuenti´s Esteve Rabat suffered a fall towards the latter stages and returned to the pits, before heading back out on track and finishing 28.

2012 Jerez Moto2 Results:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1. 25 40 Pol ESPARGARO SPA Pons 40 HP Tuenti Kalex 149.3 30’12.879
2. 20 93 Marc MARQUEZ SPA Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol Suter 149.3 +0.241
3. 16 12 Thomas LUTHI SWI Interwetten-Paddock Suter 149.3 +0.483
4. 13 45 Scott REDDING GBR Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex 149.0 +4.414
5. 11 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN Italtrans Racing Team Kalex 148.9 +4.837
6. 10 71 Claudio CORTI ITA Italtrans Racing Team Kalex 148.8 +5.881
7. 9 36 Mika KALLIO FIN Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex 148.8 +6.149
8. 8 77 Dominique AEGERTER SWI Technomag-CIP Suter 148.7 +7.097
9. 7 24 Toni ELIAS SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Suter 148.7 +7.866
10. 6 5 Johann ZARCO FRA JIR Moto2 Motobi 148.6 +8.680
11. 5 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Tech 3 Racing Tech 3 148.5 +9.382
12. 4 15 Alex DE ANGELIS RSM NGM Mobile Forward Racing Suter 148.5 +9.768
13. 3 19 Xavier SIMEON BEL Tech 3 Racing Tech 3 148.5 +10.433
14. 2 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Speed Master Speed Up 146.8 +31.366
15. 1 8 Gino REA GBR Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 Moriwaki 146.8 +31.504
16. 95 Anthony WEST AUS QMMF Racing Team Moriwaki 146.6 +34.172
17. 3 Simone CORSI ITA Came IodaRacing Project FTR 146.5 +34.450
18. 49 Axel PONS SPA Pons 40 HP Tuenti Kalex 146.4 +36.410
19. 88 Ricard CARDUS SPA Arguiñano Racing Team AJR 146.3 +36.803
20. 47 Angel RODRIGUEZ SPA Desguaces La Torre SAG FTR 146.3 +37.449
21. 72 Yuki TAKAHASHI JPN NGM Mobile Forward Racing Suter 146.1 +39.465
22. 4 Randy KRUMMENACHER SWI GP Team Switzerland Kalex 145.6 +45.782
23. 60 Julian SIMON SPA Blusens Avintia Suter 145.6 +46.163
24. 7 Alexander LUNDH SWE Cresto Guide MZ Racing MZ-RE Honda 145.6 +46.251
25. 44 Roberto ROLFO ITA Technomag-CIP Suter 144.6 +59.593
26. 14 Ratthapark WILAIROT THA Thai Honda Gresini Moto2 Moriwaki 144.5 +59.987
27. 18 Nicolas TEROL SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Suter 144.5 +1’01.010
28. 80 Esteve RABAT SPA Pons 40 HP Tuenti Kalex 140.3 1 Lap
Not Classified
76 Max NEUKIRCHNER GER Kiefer Racing Kalex 146.9 5 Laps
63 Mike DI MEGLIO FRA S/Master Speed Up Speed Up 147.7 9 Laps
10 Marco COLANDREA SWI SAG Team FTR 139.4 11 Laps
82 Elena ROSELL SPA QMMF Racing Team Moriwaki 138.8 13 Laps

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Moto Guzzi V85 TT Lineup First Look: Adventure and Travel

Sporting two touring-oriented ADV motorcycles, the 2021 Moto Guzzi V85 TT lineup returns with some motor and electronics package updates, and a bit more....

2021 American Flat Track Schedule: 17 AFT Rounds Planned

The 2021 American Flat Track schedule has been revealed, and it features 17 rounds running from March to October, and coast-to-coast. There are four...

2021 Aprilia RSV4 and RSV4 Factory First Look (11 Fast Facts)

There are quite a few updates to the 2021 Aprilia RSV4 and RSV4 Factory. None of them are revolutionary. However, taken together, they add...

Honda CRF110F EFI Long-Term Test: 11-Year-Old Tested

When we got a hold of the 2019 Honda CRF110F, we were reluctant to give it back. Test rider Ben Karsian was cutting his...

2021 Moto Guzzi V9 Lineup First Look: Bobber and Roamer Updated

The  Moto Guzzi V9 lineup of the Bobber and Roamer gets a significant update for 2021. There’s a new motor powering the two V9s,...

Tirox SnapJack SS First Look: Motorcycle Chain Maintenance Aid

Although single-sided swingarms are designed to simplify maintenance, if the motorcycle doesn’t have a centerstand, it doesn’t make working on your drive chain any...