2012 Salt Lake City Supercross | Results

2012 AMA Supercross Championship

Spoiler Alert: 2012 AMA Supercross Series results from Rice-Eccles Stadium, Salt Lake City, listed below

The penultimate round of the 2012 AMA Supercross Championship got underway Saturday before over 4,500 fans at Rice-Eccles Stadium, Salt Lake City.

One rider was missing, though – Ryan Villopoto. The Monster Energy Kawasaki rider, who clinched the 2012 SX title at Houston, was injured last week at Seattle. Villopoto tore up his knee, and will undergo surgery. He will miss the rest of the SX season, and will likely be out for the opening rounds of the AMA Motocross Championship.

But the action didn’t slow at Salt Lake City SX. And the rider who just returned from injury last week at Seattle Supercross took his third win of 2012 in Salt Lake City – Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey.

Taking the Nuclear Cowboyz holeshot was Toyota/Yamaha/JGRMX’s Davi Millsaps, followed by Dungey and Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Jake Weimer.

Weimer quickly took the second-place position ahead of Dungey, but on lap 8, Dungey passed him for second. The fought a back-and-fourth battle, Dungey was comfortably in second, chasing down Millsaps.

On lap 18 of 20, Millsaps made a mistake, giving the lead to Dungey. The 2010 AMA Supercross Champion held the lead to take the win, the third this season. Joining him on the podium was Millsaps and Weimer, respectively.

Ryan Dungey (Red Bull KTM SX-450 Supercross) says: “It feels great to take another win tonight. It is an even greater accomplishment to take this win after recovering from my collar bone injury. It solidifies that we made the right choice to come back to racing and finish out the Supercross Series before heading to outdoors.

“I just really want to thank my team tonight. They did a great job getting my bike ready and I couldn’t have won without them.”

As for the points for second, Millsaps now holds a seven-point lead over Team Honda Muscle Milk’s Justin Brayton, who finished fourth at Salt Lake City. Taking fifth was Dungey’s teammate, Mike Alessi.

En route to winning his fourth Main Event of the year, GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac clinched the first Western Regional Supercross Lites Class Championship of his career.

Rockstar Energy Racing Suzuki’s Jason Anderson won the Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award with his teammate Martin Davalos to start the race. On the opening lap, Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin moved into second, while Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Dean Wilson secured third place, Feld Motor Sports reports.

Wilson quickly passed Musquin while Tomac moved into third place. Tomac stalked Wilson for several laps before making the pass for second on Lap 8. It didn’t take long for Tomac to cut into Anderson’s lead and make the race-winning pass on lap 10.

Feld Motor Sports says a dramatic turn of events happened on Lap 12 when Wilson, who came into tonight’s race four points behind Wilson, suffered a huge crash that forced him to withdraw from the race. As a result, Tomac scored enough points to clinch the championship. Anderson and Davalos earned career-best results, finishing second and third, respectively.

Eli Tomac (GEICO Honda CRF250R Supercross) says: “It was huge to close out the night with a race win and a championship. That was some good racing out there. Off the gate I got bumped around and was able to slowly pick guys off and try to pace. I did my best not to do anything stupid. That was the best way to do it.”

The final race of the 2012 Monster Energy Supercross Championship takes place next Saturday, May 5 at Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas.

2012 AMA Supercross Class Results: Salt Lake City:

  1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM
  2. Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha
  3. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki
  4. Justin Brayton, Fort Dodge, Iowa, Honda
  5. Mike Alessi, Hilliard, Fla., Suzuki
  6. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Kawasaki
  7. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda
  8. Joshua Grant, Smithville, Texas, Kawasaki
  9. Robert Kiniry, Holland Patent, N.Y., Yamaha
  10. Tyler Bowers, Danville, Ken., Kawasaki

2012 AMA Supercross Class Season Standings:

  1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 323
  2. Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 244
  3. Justin Brayton, Fort Dodge, Iowa, Honda, 237
  4. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM, 232
  5. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki, 211
  6. Mike Alessi, Hilliard, Fla., Suzuki, 192
  7. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Yamaha, 178
  8. Brett Metcalfe, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Suzuki, 174
  9. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda, 166
  10. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Kawasaki, 161

Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Results: Salt Lake City:

  1. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda
  2. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Suzuki
  3. Martin Davalos, Cairo, Ga, Suzuki
  4. Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Honda
  5. Marvin Musquin, Murrieta, Calif., KTM
  6. Matt Moss, Murrieta, Calif., KTM
  7. Billy Laninovich, Riverside, Calif., Honda
  8. Topher Ingalls, San Luis Obispo, Calif., Honda
  9. Vince Friese, Cape Girardeau, M.O., Honda
  10. Scott Champion, Sun City, Calif., Honda

Western Regional Supercross Lites Class Season Standings:

  1. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda, 159
  2. Dean Wilson, Menifee, Calif., Kawasaki, 132
  3. Marvin Musquin, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 127
  4. Cole Seely, Murrieta, Calif., Honda, 119
  5. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Suzuki, 95
  6. Matt Moss, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 92
  7. Billy Laninovich, Riverside, Calif., Honda, 84
  8. Ryan Sipes, Ekron, Kent., Yamaha, 83
  9. Nico Izzi, Menifee, Calif., Yamaha, 78
  10. Travis Baker, Temecula, Calif., Honda, 75