Jerez MotoGP: Yamaha’s Lorenzo on Pole


2012 MotoGP Championship

For the first time all weekend, the 21-ride MotoGP grid was able to lap Jerez under dry conditions Sunday for qualifying.

And although he couldn’t top the times in the free practice sessions held under wet conditions, Yamaha Factory Racing’s Jorge Lorenzo fought a back-and-fourth battle with his compatriot Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda) to take the pole for Sunday’s Jerez MotoGP.

Lorenzo, who won the last two years at Jerez, secured the pole with a quickest final lap of 1:39.532. But Pedrosa, who led Free Practice 2 and 3, was only 0.132 of a second behind. But what’s more amazing is that these two were over a second ahead of the remaining riders.

Completing the front row is the American Nicky Hayden. The Ducati GP12 rider put in a surprise effort to take the third-spot, although he was 1.031 seconds slower than Lorenzo. As for Hayden’s teammate, Valentino Rossi, who has won at Jerez eight times, the nine-time World Champion will start from 13th on the grid, 3.429 seconds behind his former teammate Lorenzo.

Heading up the second row is Monster Tech 3 Yamaha’s Cal Crutchlow, although he crashed at the end of the qualifying session. Crutchlow was just 0.007 of a second behind Hayden, and 1.045 seconds behind Lorenzo. Joining Crutchlow on the second row will be the reigning MotoGP Champion, Casey Stoner (Repsol Honda), and Lorenzo’s teammate, Ben Spies.

Making up row three will be Monster Tech 3 Yamaha’s Andrea Dovizioso, San Carlo Honda Gresini’s Alvaro Bautista and LCR Honda’s Stefan Bradl, respectively. The top-qualifying CRT machine was the Power Electronics Aspar bike piloted by Randy de Puniet.

As for the top row, it’s the first time since the 2010 Valenica MotoGP that three separate manufacturers will start from the front.

SPEED TV will cover 2012 Jerez MotoGP at 8 a.m. EDT Sunday, April 29.

2012 Jerez MotoGP Qualifying Results:

Pos.Num.RiderNationTeamBikeKm/hTimeGap 1st/Prev.
1.99Jorge LORENZOSPAYamaha Factory RacingYamaha282.11’39.532
2.26Dani PEDROSASPARepsol Honda TeamHonda283.51’39.6670.135 / 0.135
3.69Nicky HAYDENUSADucati TeamDucati282.31’40.5631.031 / 0.896
4.35Cal CRUTCHLOWGBRMonster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha281.71’40.5701.038 / 0.007
5.1Casey STONERAUSRepsol Honda TeamHonda285.91’40.5771.045 / 0.007
6.11Ben SPIESUSAYamaha Factory RacingYamaha280.91’41.0901.558 / 0.513
7.4Andrea DOVIZIOSOITAMonster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha284.01’41.1801.648 / 0.090
8.19Alvaro BAUTISTASPASan Carlo Honda GresiniHonda286.91’41.4471.915 / 0.267
9.6Stefan BRADLGERLCR Honda MotoGPHonda287.31’41.5502.018 / 0.103
10.14Randy DE PUNIETFRAPower Electronics AsparART265.61’41.7002.168 / 0.150
11.17Karel ABRAHAMCZECardion AB MotoracingDucati284.21’41.7242.192 / 0.024
12.8Hector BARBERASPAPramac Racing TeamDucati288.81’41.8712.339 / 0.147
13.46Valentino ROSSIITADucati TeamDucati282.31’42.9613.429 / 1.090
14.41Aleix ESPARGAROSPAPower Electronics AsparART267.71’43.1353.603 / 0.174
15.51Michele PIRROITASan Carlo Honda GresiniFTR268.21’43.3633.831 / 0.228
16.54Mattia PASINIITASpeed MasterART266.51’44.3084.776 / 0.945
17.68Yonny HERNANDEZCOLAvintia BlusensBQR269.51’44.4674.935 / 0.159
18.9Danilo PETRUCCIITACame IodaRacing ProjectIoda257.41’44.6455.113 / 0.178
19.22Ivan SILVASPAAvintia BlusensBQR261.41’44.7175.185 / 0.072
20.77James ELLISONGBRPaul Bird MotorsportART264.81’45.7246.192 / 1.007
21.5Colin EDWARDSUSANGM Mobile Forward RacingSuter264.51’46.2006.668 / 0.476