2012 Seattle Supercross | Results

2012 AMA Supercross

Spoiler Alert: 2012 AMA Supercross results from CenturyLink Field, Seattle, listed below

For the first time since round 6 in San Diego, the 2012 AMA Supercross Championship returned to the West Coast Saturday at CenturyLink Field in Seattle

And before almost 53,000 fans, L&MC Racing Honda’s Andrew Short took his first carreer win the the Supercross class after six years of competing. And the Texas native, who missed seven races this year due to injury, completed the task with dominance, taking a wire-to-wire win.

Joining Short on the podium was Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen and Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Jake Weimer

As for this year’s champion, Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto, the Washington native crashed after mid-pack start, and favored his leg while on the ground. He was able to walk off the track by himself, though.

Reid Nordin (Monster Energy Kawasaki Team Manager) says: “Ryan didn’t get such a good start. He was charging through the pack and lost the front end and ended up getting a handle bar to the gut, which knocked the wind out of him, and he got a stinger when the foot peg came down on him. He’s really bummed out and upset with himself with what happened. He really wanted to do well for the fans here.”

Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey also returned to action after missing the last five rounds; the 2010 AMA SX Champion finished fifth.

When the 20-lap main began, Short took the Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot, followed by Team Honda Muscle Milk’s Justin Brayton and Roczen. A battle began up front, but by lap six Short was opening a gap, and took an easy win.

Andrew Short (L&MC Racing Honda CRF450R Supercross) says: “It doesn’t feel real. My team has been through some challenges, but we stuck together. There are so many people who have helped me in 11 years of doing this. I’m getting old. I didn’t believe (I could win) too much until the end and I think that’s been one of my problems in the past. All I wanted to do was be out here and to win is unreal.”

With his second-place finish, Roczen earned his best-carrer finish int he Supercross class.

Following a two-month break from Western Regional Supercross Lites Class competition, Star/Valli Yamaha’s Ryan Sipes, of Ekron, Ky., grabbed his first win of the season. As the gate dropped, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Dean Wilson edged out both Sipes and GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac to grab the Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award, only to have Sipes assert himself in the lead shortly thereafter, Feld Motor Sports says.

As Sipes opened a margin over the field, Wilson and Tomac went head to head in a heated battle for the runner-up spot. The class’ two top contenders for the championship traded the position a few times, before coming together on Lap 8, causing Wilson to fall to the ground.

Tomac looked to close in on Sipes, but was ultimately caught by Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin on the final lap. Sipes led all 15 laps of the main event, bouncing back from an injury he suffered earlier in the season, Feld Motor Sports says.

Ryan Sipes (Star/Valli Yamaha YZF250) says: “I worked really hard to come back here and didn’t think I’d be able to. I tried not to push. I tried to conserve and flow. I didn’t go fast, but I didn’t go slow either. The first five races (this season) were so tough. I felt good, but I was pushing too hard. It just feels so good to come back form (my) injury like this.”

Musquin held on for second, while Tomac finished third, taking over the points lead from Wilson, who recovered to finish seventh following his crash, Feld Motor Sports says.

Eli Tomac (GEICO Honda CRF250R Supercross) says: “I wasn’t happy with my heat race, but it was go time in the main event. Dean (Wilson) put some block passes on me and I said, ‘let’s play.’ I got into him there, but I guess that’s racing. I was rusty in practice but I gave it my all tonight. When we made contact, my clutch was bent, so I was riding in third gear. I’m looking forward to Salt Lake City because it’s like a home race for me.”

The series returns next weekend at Rice Eccles Stadium in Salt Lake City for the penultimate round of competition ahead of the season finale in Las Vegas.

2012 AMA Supercross Class Results: Seattle:

  1. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda
  2. Ken Roczen, Murrieta, Calif., KTM
  3. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki
  4. Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., Honda
  5. Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha
  6. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM
  7. Mike Alessi, Hilliard, Fla., Suzuki
  8. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Kawasaki
  9. Weston Peick, Wildomar, Calif., Yamaha
  10. Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., Kawasaki

2012 AMA Supercross Class Season Standings (after 15 of 17 rounds):

  1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 323
  2. Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 222
  3. Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., Honda, 219
  4. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM, 207
  5. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki, 191
  6. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Yamaha, 178
  7. Mike Alessi, Hilliard, Fla., Suzuki, 176
  8. Brett Metcalfe, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Suzuki, 173
  9. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda, 166
  10. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Kawasaki, 146

2012 Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Results: Seattle:

  1. Ryan Sipes, Ekron, Ky., Yamaha
  2. Marvin Musquin, Murrieta, Calif., KTM
  3. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda
  4. Cole Seely, Murrieta, Calif., Honda
  5. Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Honda
  6. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Suzuki,
  7. Dean Wilson, Menifee, Calif., Kawasaki
  8. Billy Laninovich, Riverside, Calif., Honda
  9. Travis Baker, Temecula, Calif., Honda
  10. Vince Friese, Cape Girardeau, Mo., Honda

2012 Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Season Standings:

  1. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda, 134
  2. Dean Wilson, Menifee, Calif., Kawasaki, 130
  3. Cole Seely, Murrieta, Calif., Honda, 119
  4. Marvin Musquin, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 111
  5. Ryan Sipes, Ekron, Ky., Yamaha, 78
  6. Nico Izzi, Menifee, Calif., Yamaha, 78
  7. Matt Moss, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 77
  8. Travis Baker, Temecula, Calif., Honda, 75
  9. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Suzuki, 73
  10. Billy Laninovich, Riverside, Calif., Honda, 70