Assen World Superbike: Sykes on Pole

2012-assen-world-superbike-sykes-on-pole (1)

2012 World Superbike

Remember Tom Sykes’ win last year at Nurburgring? It was the first World Superbike victory for Kawasaki since 2006, and Sykes took the win under extremely wet conditions.

The Brit showed his talent and the ability of the ZX-10R once again under wet conditions during the first part of superpole Saturday for Assen World Superbike, round 3 of 14.

Under wet conditions like the ones present in The Netherelands Saturday, World Superbike rules dictate that riders participate in two sessions verses the normal three, with only the top eight riders from Superpole 1 moving into Superpole 2.

This was a bad situation for many riders, considering the track almost completely dried out during Superpole 2. But it allowed Sykes to really put in another top performance on the ZX-10R, and qualify over a second quicker than Honda World Superbike’s Jonathan Rea. With his Assen Superpole, Sykes has now qualified on the pole for every race so far this season.

Finishing the front row were the Team Effenbert-Liberty Racing Ducati riders Jakub Smrz and Sylvain Guintoli, respectively.

Heading up the second row will be the reigning World Superbike Champion and current points leader, Althea Ducati’s Carlos Checa. The Spaniard will be joined by BMW Motorrad Italia Godl Bet’s Michel Fabrizio, BMW Motorrad’s Leon Haslam and Crescent FIXI Suzuki’s John Hopkins, respectively.

As for Max Biaggi, the Aprilia Team rider will start 17th; the 2010 World Champion was not able to better his Friday times, so he is forced to start from the fifth row.

The 23-rider grid will be back on the Assen circuit for the doubleheader on Sunday. SPEED TV will broadcast both races starting at 5 p.m. EDT Sunday.

2012 Assen World Superbike: Superpole Results:

1. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1’35.399

2. Jonathan Rea (Honda World Superbike Team) Honda CBR1000RR 1’36.432

3. Jakub Smrz (Liberty Racing Team Effenbert) Ducati 1098R 1’36.566

4. Sylvain Guintoli (Team Effenbert Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 1’36.875

5. Carlos Checa (Althea Racing) Ducati 1098R 1’37.156

6. Michel Fabrizio (BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet) BMW S1000 RR 1’37.311

7. Leon Haslam (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 1’37.592

8. John Hopkins (Crescent Fixi Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 1’37.913

9. Marco Melandri (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 1’40.516

10. David Salom (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1’40.523

11. Chaz Davies (ParkinGO MTC Racing) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1’40.627

12. Leon Camier (Crescent Fixi Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 1’40.681

13. Brett McCormick (Liberty Racing Team Effenbert) Ducati 1098R 1’41.962

14. Eugene Laverty (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1’43.947

15. Maxime Berger (Team Effenbert Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 1’44.022

16. Ayrton Badovini (BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet) BMW S1000 RR 1’44.500

17. Max Biaggi (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1’40.231

18. Niccolò Canepa (Red Devils Roma) Ducati 1098R 1’40.859

19. Davide Giugliano (Althea Racing) Ducati 1098R 1’41.161

20. Leandro Mercado (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1’41.693

21. Hiroshi Aoyama (Honda World Superbike Team) Honda CBR1000RR 1’41.768

22. Mark Aitchison (Grillini Progea Superbike Team) BMW S1000 RR 1’43.144

23. Lorenzo Zanetti (PATA Racing Team) Ducati 1098R 1’50.808