Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport 2011 Freestyle Motocross Awards

2011 Freestyle Motocross Awards

NIGHT of the JUMPs/FIM Freestyle MX Awards

The worldwide FMX scene voted Javier Villegas as the Best International FMX Rider in 2011. The FMX athlete from Chile won the NIGHT of the JUMPs / FIM Freestyle MX World Championship series last year and reached 64 percent of all votes.

Spaniard Dany Torres made it on top of the Euro riders and won in the category "Best European FMX Rider.

For the third time in a row Robbie Maddison has been crowned as "Best Australian FMX Rider." Users choice for "Best American FMX Rider" felt to X-Games Champion Nate Adams. Taka Higashino became "Best Asian FMX Rider" for the second time.

Marcelo Simoes won the category "Best Brazilian FMX Rider," German FMX Champion Hannes Ackermann has been voted as "Best German FMX Rider." His younger brother Luc Ackermann, World Record holder of the youngest Backflip on a motorcycle, is once again German FMX Rookie of the year.

NIGHT of the JUMPs newcomer Maikel Melero made it on top of two categories. The Spanish rider is International and European Rookie of the year.

The users choice for the best FMX Event/Series felt to the Red Bull X-Fighters followed by the X Games and the NIGHT of the JUMPs. Best FMX Bike 2011 was once again the Yamaha YZ 250. Finally Kyle Lozas bikeflip attempt won the Best Trick Innovation.

The FMX Awards were established in 2006 by Berlinièros Sports Agency to honor the world’s best Freestyle Motocross riders. Annually it awards FMX competitors who have been outstanding during the previous year.

2011 FMX Award Winners:

  • Best International FMX Rider: Javier Villegas (CHL)
  • Best European FMX Rider: Dany Torres (ESP)
  • Best American FMX Rider: Nate Adams (USA)
  • Best Australian FMX Rider: Robbie Maddison (AUS)
  • Best African FMX Rider: Alastair Sayer (BOT)
  • Best Asian FMX Rider: Taka Higashino (JAP)
  • Best German FMX Rider: Hannes Ackermann GER)
  • Best Brazilian FMX Rider: Marcelo Simoes (BRA)
  • Best International FMX Rookie: Maikel Melero (ESP)
  • Best European FMX Rookie: Maikel Melero (ESP)
  • Best German FMX Rookie: Luc Ackermann (GER)
  • Best FMX Series / Event: X-Fighters
  • Best FMX Bike: Yamaha YZ 250
  • Best Trick Innovation: Bikeflip (Attempt) / Kyle Loza (USA)

For additional information, log onto

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Classic Superbikes by Frank Melling Book Review: Motorcycle History

Frank Melling is an old-school moto journalist and former factory racer. He lives with his wife Carol on a beautiful farm in northwest England....

Harley-Davidson IRONe12 Review (14 Fast Facts)

Electric bicycles are growing in popularity across a broad spectrum of people and a wide array of uses. This is a story about one...

2021 Honda Rebel 1100 First Look (8 Fast Facts + 40 Photos)

In spite of the Japanese manufacturers’ general retreat from the cruiser market, Honda is going against the current with its third iteration of the...

Garmin Montana 700i Review: Motorcycle GPS Adventure Partner

I am starting to do adventure motorcycle riding here in the Pacific Northwest, and I am a fanatic about my personal safety. I do...

2021 Kawasaki Z H2 SE First Look (5 Fast Facts—Supercharged)

We met the Kawasaki Z H2 last year, and now it’s time to upgrade. The 2021 Kawasaki Z H2 SE takes the standard supercharged...

2021 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R and ZX-10RR: All-New (15 Fast Facts)

Kawasaki has totally revamped its 2021 Ninja ZX-10R and ZX-10RR superbikes. The motorcycles, built with input from Kawasaki Racing Team (KRT), won the past...