2012 Qatar Moto3 | Results

2012 Moto3

The debut of the new Moto3 category in the World Championship delivered an excellent spectacle as Maverick Viñales (Blusens Avintia) took victory in the first race of the evening at Losail International Circuit, Qatar.

The Spaniard, who won the last two 125cc races of the two-stroke machine era and was the Rookie of the Year in 2011, was followed across the line by debutant Romano Fenati (Team Italia FMI) who scored a podium in his first ever Grand Prix start.

The young Italian led the race for the opening six laps before Viñales overtook him, and the pair traded places again before the more experienced Viñales – still only 17 and now the second-youngest rider in history to have won three successive Grands Prix – pulled away to win by a margin of 4.3 seconds.

The displays of Viñales and 16 year-old Fenati were hugely impressive, and as the pair rode out front for the majority of the 18-lap race a thrilling battle for the third and final podium position raged behind.

In the end it was pole position starter Sandro Cortese (Red Bull KTM Ajo) who prevailed after an intense five-way fight with, in order of their final race positions, Luis Salom (RW Racing GP), Miguel Oliveira (Estrella Galicia 0’0), Zulfahmi Khairuddin (Airasia-SIC-Ajo) and rookie Arthur Sissis (Red Bull KTM Ajo). Each of the four and Cortese had looked like taking third in an open race, before the German managed his drive out of the last corner on the final lap perfectly to beat Salom.

Completing the top 10 were British rider Danny Kent (Red Bull KTM Ajo), Frenchman Louis Rossi (Racing Team Germany) and another rookie, Spanish prospect Alex Rins (Estrella Galicia 0’0).

It was a special evening for new talent on the World Championship stage as Alan Techer (Technomag-CIP-TSR) registered points on his GP debut by taking 11th, with Héctor Faubel (Bankia Aspar Team), Niklas Ajo (TT Motion Events Racing), Alberto Moncayo (Bankia Aspar Team) and Jakub Kornfeil (Redox-Ongetta-Centro Seta) also scoring as they completed the top 15 riders across the finish line.

The MotoGP World Championship returns to action in just under three weeks, for the Gran Premio bwin de España at Jerez, which takes place from April 27-29.

2012 Qatar Moto3 Results:

1.2525Maverick VIÑALESSPABlusens AvintiaFTR Honda150.238’40.995
2.205Romano FENATIITATeam Italia FMIFTR Honda149.9+4.301
3.1611Sandro CORTESEGERRed Bull KTM AjoKTM149.0+18.013
4.1339Luis SALOMSPARW Racing GPKalex KTM149.0+18.200
5.1144Miguel OLIVEIRAPOREstrella Galicia 0,0Suter Honda149.0+18.745
6.1063Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDINMALAirAsia-Sic-AjoKTM149.0+19.052
7.961Arthur SISSISAUSRed Bull KTM AjoKTM149.0+19.466
8.852Danny KENTGBRRed Bull KTM AjoKTM148.9+21.098
9.796Louis ROSSIFRARacing Team GermanyFTR Honda148.8+21.153
10.642Alex RINSSPAEstrella Galicia 0,0Suter Honda148.4+28.733
11.589Alan TECHERFRATechnomag-CIP-TSRTSR Honda148.3+29.775
12.455Hector FAUBELSPABankia Aspar TeamKalex KTM148.3+29.813
13.331Niklas AJOFINTT Motion Events RacingKTM147.9+35.940
14.223Alberto MONCAYOSPABankia Aspar TeamKalex KTM147.9+35.983
15.184Jakub KORNFEILCZERedox-Ongetta-Centro SetaFTR Honda147.7+38.641
16. 7Efren VAZQUEZSPAJHK T-Shirt LaglisseHonda147.6+40.219
17. 27Niccolo ANTONELLIITASan Carlo Gresini Moto3Honda147.0+50.629
18. 99Danny WEBBGBRMahindra RacingMahindra146.7+54.751
19. 21Ivan MORENOSPAAndalucia JHK LaglisseFTR Honda146.7+54.989
20. 26Adrian MARTINSPAJHK T-Shirt LaglisseHonda146.1+1’05.183
21. 51Kenta FUJIIJPNTechnomag-CIP-TSRTSR Honda145.1+1’21.239
22. 15Simone GROTZKYJITAAmbrogio Next RacingOral144.3+1’35.791
23. 9Toni FINSTERBUSCHGERCresto Guide MZ RacingMZ-RE Honda143.9+1’41.291
24. 53Jasper IWEMANEDMoto FGRFGR Honda143.2+1’54.293
25. 8Jack MILLERAUSCaretta TechnologyHonda139.91 Lap
Not Classified
  94Jonas FOLGERGERIodaRacing ProjectIoda143.57 Laps
  3Luigi MORCIANOITAIoda Team ItaliaIoda142.911 Laps
  41Brad BINDERRSARW Racing GPKalex KTM147.312 Laps
  77Marcel SCHROTTERGERMahindra RacingMahindra145.713 Laps
  10Alexis MASBOUFRACaretta TechnologyHonda 0 Lap
  19Alessandro TONUCCIITATeam Italia FMIFTR Honda 0 Lap
  32Isaac VIÑALESSPAOngetta-Centro SetaFTR Honda 0 Lap