2012 Qatar Moto2 | Results

2012-qatar-moto2-results (1)

2012 Moto2 Championship

In the Moto2 season opener at Losail International Circuit, Qatar, Marc Márquez (Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol) beat Andrea Iannone (Speed Master) to victory by just 0.061 of a second, as the intermediate class put on an absorbing 20-lap encounter.

Following a race-long battle for the lead which involved up to seven riders at one point, Márquez and Iannone came out of the last corner on the final lap neck-and-neck, with the Spaniard winning out in the sprint for the checkered flag by the slimmest of margins.

After being enveloped in a tight group of riders scrapping for first position, the two eventually finished over a second clear of the remainder of the chasing pack.

Completing the podium after being involved in the fight for victory for the most part Pol Espargaró (Pons 40 HP Tuenti), who at one stage had led, crossed in third after spending the closing stages of the race locked in combat with his team-mate Esteve Rabat who finished fourth.

Crossing the finish line in fifth position was Thomas Lüthi (Interwetten Paddock), who had started from pole position and who spent the entire race in the leading group. The Swiss rider’s challenge for victory ended going into the final lap however, when he ran wide at Turn 1 as he and Márquez went head-to-head.

Scott Redding (Marc VDS Racing Team) rode a strong final few laps to take sixth position from 13th on the starting grid, and he finished just 0.026s ahead Frenchman Mike di Meglio (S/Master Speed Up). Simone Corsi (Came Iodaracing Project) had played his part in the show at the front during the race and eventually ended eighth, with Bradley Smith (Tech 3 Racing) and Mika Kallio (Marc VDS Racing Team) completing the top 10.

Riders also leaving Round 1 with points on the board included Randy Krummenacher (GP Team Switzerland), Moto2 rookie Johann Zarco (JiR Moto2), returning 2010 Champion Toni Elías (Mapfre Aspar Team), Takaaki Nakagami (Italtrans Racing Team) and Julián Simón (Blusens Avintia), who all finished inside the top 15.

2012 Qatar Moto2 Results:

1.2593Marc MARQUEZSPATeam CatalunyaCaixa RepsolSuter159.140’34.225
2.2029Andrea IANNONEITASpeed MasterSpeed Up159.1+0.061
3.1640Pol ESPARGAROSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex159.0+1.412
4.1380Esteve RABATSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex159.0+1.639
5.1112Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten-PaddockSuter158.9+3.981
6.1045Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex158.7+6.768
7.963Mike DI MEGLIOFRAS/Master Speed UpSpeed Up158.7+6.794
8.83Simone CORSIITACame IodaRacing ProjectFTR158.7+6.986
9.738Bradley SMITHGBRTech 3 RacingTech 3158.4+10.828
10.636Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex158.4+11.379
11.54Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIGP Team SwitzerlandKalex158.3+12.750
12.45Johann ZARCOFRAJIR Moto2Motobi158.2+14.121
13.324Toni ELIASSPAMapfre Aspar TeamSuter158.0+17.634
14.230Takaaki NAKAGAMIJPNItaltrans Racing TeamKalex158.0+17.875
15.160Julian SIMONSPABlusens AvintiaFTR158.0+17.894
16.71Claudio CORTIITAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex157.9+19.014
17.19Xavier SIMEONBELTech 3 RacingTech 3157.9+19.114
18.77Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter157.3+28.802
19.72Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNNGM Mobile Forward RacingSuter156.8+36.598
20.47Angel RODRIGUEZSPADesguaces La Torre SAGFTR156.8+36.738
21.14Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda Gresini Moto2Moriwaki156.7+37.147
22.49Axel PONSSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex156.7+37.443
23.18Nicolas TEROLSPAMapfre Aspar TeamSuter156.6+39.523
24.88Ricard CARDUSSPAArguiñano Racing TeamAJR156.2+45.260
25.95Anthony WESTAUSQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki155.7+53.786
26.8Gino REAGBRFederal Oil Gresini Moto2Moriwaki155.7+54.008
27.10Marco COLANDREASWISAG TeamFTR154.1+1’19.054
28.7Alexander LUNDHSWECresto Guide MZ RacingMZ FTR154.1+1’19.071
29.82Elena ROSELLSPAQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki153.1+1’35.150
30.76Max NEUKIRCHNERGERKiefer RacingKalex150.31 Lap
Not Classified
15Alex DE ANGELISRSMNGM Mobile Forward RacingSuter158.42 Laps
96Nasser Hasan AL MALKIQATQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki151.010 Laps
44Roberto ROLFOITATechnomag-CIPSuter85.317 Laps