Motorcycle Racing News McGuinness to Race SES TT Zero

McGuinness to Race SES TT Zero


2012 Isle of Man TT

For the fourth consecutive year, the SES TT Zero Challenge will be held during the Isle of Man TT. And for 2012, there will be a new crowd favorite – 17-time Isle of Man TT winner John McGuinness.

McGuinness, who holds the outright record on the 37.739 course (131.578 mph, 2009, Honda CBR1000RR Fireblade) will pilot the Mugen EV machine entered by Team Mugen on June 6 during the TT Zero.

The team nicknamed the bike “Shinden,” which means electricity of God, will become the first electric bike to average 100 mph plus lap at the TT course, Mugen said.

M-Tec Company Ltd President Shin Nagaosa unveiled Shinden at the Suzuka circuit in Japan over the weekend. He said the machine features a carbon-fiber frame and swingarm, and was designed specially to take on the Mountain Course.

The SES TT Zero Race takes place over one lap in a time trial format and is restricted to entrants using motorcycles with zero-emission engines that emit no CO2. The Isle of Man Government has offered a £10,000 prize for the first team to break an average speed of 100mph around the 37.739 mile Mountain Course.

John McGuinness (Team Mugen TT Zero) says: “I’ve not had a chance to test the bike yet. My first look at it will be in a few weeks, but the pictures look great.

“I’ve followed the electric bike race for the last couple of years and I was keen to take part if the bike was right. There are a few other good machines in the line up so I think there’s going to be a bit of competition this year, particularly with the chance to make history with the first 100mph lap.”

John Shimmin (The Isle of Man Government’s Economic Development Minister) “Having the Mugen team enter the race is a real boost to the SES TT Zero and the Isle of Man’s clean tech credentials.

“We are really pleased that the team has chosen the Isle of Man for the bike’s first competitive outing and having John McGuinness competing in the event will generate even more interest in the race.”

McGuinness will compete in the five solo races also, aboard the Honda TT Legends Fireblade and Padgett Honda machinery.

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Harley-Davidson Road King Special First Look: Hot Rod Bagger

The 2021 Harley-Davidson Road King Special is a Touring model that The Motor Company puts in a sub-category—Hot Rod Bagger. To earn that title,...

2021 Honda CRF300L and CRF300L Rally Coming To America

We told you all about the new 2021 Honda CRF300L and CRF300L Rally last month. Although we fully expected the pair to be imported...

2021 Harley-Davidson Fat Boy 114 First Look (Specs, Photos, Prices)

The distinctive Harley-Davidson Fat Boy is back for 2021, with the Milwaukee-Eight 114 powerplant and machined solid cast aluminum Lakester wheels. We tested the...

2021 Husqvarna 701 Lineup First Look (6 Fast Facts + Photos)

There are two 2021 Husqvarna 701 motorcycles to choose from—the Enduro and the Supermoto. Although they are closely related, with the same frame and...

2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Street Glide First Look (5 Fast Facts + Photos)

The 2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Street Glide is here, and it has several updates. Returning is the Milwaukee-Eight 177 V-twin powerplant that cranks out a...

Bring the Honda Solo to America: One More MiniMoto

We were poking through the archives, and this little gem re-caught our attention. The 2003 Honda Solo was part of Honda’s N Project. According...