Motorcycle Racing News 2012 Geneva X-Trial: Another Bou Victory

2012 Geneva X-Trial: Another Bou Victory

2012 FIM X-Trial Championship

Toni Bou once again proved his dominance at Round 2 of 8 in the 2012 FIM X-Trial Championship Saturday in Geneva, Switzerland.

During the Geneva Indoor Trials round, the Repsol Montesa rider took the top spot in qualifying, and and then showed his excellent from in the first zone of the semi-final. Repsol reports Bou was “unreachable for all his rivals and that the several times champion was able to finish with only one point.”

During the third obstacle, Bou crashed but still finished as the leader. In the final round, having a four-point advantage over his fellow compeitors, Bou finished without increasing his penalty.

Joining Bou on the podium was Sheraco’s Albert Cabestany and Bou’s teammate, Takahisa Fujinami. With this new victory, Toni Bou increased by 13 points his advantage on top of the overall classification of this championship he has won the last five years.

There was a special treat for MotoGP fans in Geneva; Repsol Honda’s Dani Pedrosa was at the event, and joined Bou and Fujinami for some photo opportunities.

Toni Bou (Repsol Montesa Trial) says: “It was a complicated trial, as all rounds in the World Championship, as there is always a lot at stake. In the end we were lucky to have from the beginning a small difference from the previous phase. I knew I could not make mistakes but the advantage I had, small as it was, allowed me to face the decisive moments with confidence. Of course, I am very satisfied with this victory and with the beginning of the season.”

The 2012 FIM X-Trial Championship continues in Marseille, France, Jan. 27 and 28.

2012 FIM X-Trial: Geneva, Switzerland, Results:

1. Toni Bou (Repsol Montesa Honda) 6 points

2. Albert Cabestany (Sherco) 19 points

3.Takahisa Fujinami (Repsol Montesa Honda) 19 points

4. Adam Raga (Gas Gas) 23 points

5. Loris Gubian (Gas Gas) 11 points

2012 FIM X-Trial Championship Point Standings (after 2 of 8 rounds):

1. Toni Bou (Repsol Montesa Honda) 40 points

2. Albert Cabestany (Sherco) 27 points

3. Adam Raga (Gas Gas) 24 points

4. Takahisa Fujinami (Repsol Montesa Honda) 21 points

5. Jeroni Fajardo (Beta) 11 points

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 DOT Certified Helmet Performance Testing Update

We provide some deep insight into the latest 2021 DOT Certified Motorcycle Helmet performance testing, from failure rate to suggestions for regulators.

2021 Benelli TRK502 Review (15 Fast Facts for Sport-Touring)

Last month we tested the 2021 Benelli TRK502X adventure motorcycle and came away impressed. At first glance, the standard TRK502 doesn’t seem that much...

2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Road Glide First Look (6 Fast Facts)

The 2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Road Glide is here, and it’s louder and sleeker than ever—plus it has some wild new wheels. Here’s what’s new...

2021 Houston 3 Fantasy Supercross Tips (11 Fast Facts)

The 2021 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series is off to a mind-boggling start. The playing field is so level that the bubble is right...

2021 Harley-Davidson Street Bob 114 First Look (6 Fast Facts)

When the Softail Standard was released last year and functionally the same motorcycle as the Street Bob, we knew something had to be afoot...

2021 Harley-Davidson Road King Special First Look: Hot Rod Bagger

The 2021 Harley-Davidson Road King Special is a Touring model that The Motor Company puts in a sub-category—Hot Rod Bagger. To earn that title,...