Jerez: Confirmed for 2012 MotoGP

2012 MotoGP

When MotoGP released the 18-round schedule for 2012, the Circuito de Jerez in Spain was listed as round 2, although negotiations were continuing regarding the contract.

But on Wednesday, MotoGP reported that the negotiations were settled, and Jerez, which is typically the first European GP on the calendar, will host a MotoGP round for the next four years.

Carmelo Ezpeleta (Dorna Sports CEO) says: “We are delighted to confirm that the 2012 Grand Prix of Spain will be held at the Circuito de Jerez, a very special locale for the MotoGP World Championship.

“I’d like to thank the Junta de Andalucía and Jerez de la Frontera City Council for their support in working toward securing this iconic event. We’ll now look ahead to the future of the event and focus on working together to reach an agreement up until 2016.”

This coming season begins a new era in GP racing as engine capacity is raised to 1000cc, and the addition of Claiming Rules Team (CRT). Each CRT is a privateer entry that will be allowed to have certain flexibility in fuel-tank capacity and engines, making them competitive to run with the other prototypes.

2012 MotoGP Schedule:

  1. April 8 / Qatar*: Doha/Losail
  2. April 29 / Spain (STC): Jerez de la Frontera
  3. May 6 / Portugal (STC): Estoril
  4. May 20 / France: Le Mans
  5. June 3 / Catalunya: Catalunya
  6. June 17 / Great Britain: Silverstone
  7. June 30 / Netherlands**: Assen
  8. July 8 / Germany (STC): Sachsenring
  9. July 15 / Italy: Mugello
  10. July 29 / United States***: Laguna Seca
  11. August 19 / Indianapolis: Indianapolis Motor Speedway
  12. August 24 / Czech Republic: Brno
  13. September 16 / San Marino & Riviera di Rimini: Misano
  14. September 30 / Aragon: Motorland
  15. October 14 / Japan: Motegi
  16. October 21 / Malaysia: Sepang
  17. October 28 / Australia: Phillip Island Ricard Tormo
  18. November 11 / Valencia: Valencia

* Evening Race
** Saturday Race
*** Only MotoGP class
STC (Subject to the contract)