Motorcycle Racing News World Superbike: Point Standings

World Superbike: Point Standings

2011 WSBK Standings

The 2011 World Superbike Championship concluded Oct. 17 at Portimao in Portugal, with a different rider winning each race.

In Race 1, the man who clinched the 2011 WSBK title a round earlier in Magny-Cours was victorious – Carlos Checa. With the Race 1 win at Portimao, Checa would finish the season with an impressive 15 wins in 13 rounds.

It wasn’t a runaway race as is usually the case; the Althea Ducati 1198 rider took the winning pass with three laps to go. Joining Checa on the Race-1 podium was Effenbert-Liberty Racing Ducati’s Sylvain Guintoli and the pole-sitter, Castrol Honda’s Jonathan Rea.

Race 2 gave the factory Yamaha a great ending to the 2011 World Championship. Marco Melandri would take the win, followed by his teammate Eugene Laverty. Taking third once again was Rea.

Once all was complete in Portimao, the final World Superbike points tally awarded Checa with 505, Melandri with 395, and Alitalia Aprilia’s Max Biaggi and Laverty each with 303 points.

2011 World Superbike Final Point Standings:

1. Carlos Checa Ducati ESP 505

2. Marco Melandri Yamaha ITA 395

3. Max Biaggi Aprilia ITA 303

4. Eugene Laverty Yamaha GBR 303

5. Leon Haslam BMW GBR 224

6. Sylvain Guintoli Ducati FRA 210

7. Leon Camier Aprilia GBR 208

8. Noriyuki Haga Aprilia JPN 176

9. Jonathan Rea Honda GBR 170

10. Ayrton Badovini BMW ITA 165

11. Joan Lascorz Kawasaki ESP 161

12. Michel Fabrizio Suzuki ITA 152

13. Tom Sykes Kawasaki GBR 141

14. Jakub Smrz Ducati CZE 127

15. Troy Corser BMW AUS 87

16. Maxime Berger Ducati FRA 64

2011 World Superbike Final Manufacturing Standings:

1. Ducati 529

2. Yamaha 450

3. Aprilia 422

4. BMW 275

5. Kawasaki 228

6. Honda 194

7. Suzuki 169

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 AMA Supercross and Motocross Pro Numbers: List and Analysis

Supercross starts up in January, and it’s time to match the latest crop of riders to the numbers on their motorcycles. The biggest news...

Cardo Packtalk Black and Prototype Headset Review: Racing Intercom

Cardo has been well known for its high-quality helmet-to-helmet communication systems for over a decade. Cardo uses Bluetooth technology in both is Packtalk and...

2021 Husqvarna FC 450 Rockstar Edition First Look (8 Fast Facts)

The triumvirate of 2020 AMA 450MX National Champion Zach Osborne, 2018 AMA Supercross Champion Jason Anderson, and Dean Wilson will all be racing motorcycle...

Shoei RF-1400 First Look: New Motorcycle Helmet

The folks at Shoei made the best of our pandemic situation with their unique launch of the new Shoei RF-1400. They shipped us the...

2021 Ducati Monster First Look [13 Fast Facts + Specs]

Amid these unique times when OEMs are usually launching their lineups at EICMA, Ducati spent the past five Wednesdays releasing new models. Many, like the...

2021 Ducati Monster Lineup First Look: 4 Models; 2 All-New

There’s a big shakeup in the Ducati Monster lineup for 2021. Say goodbye to the 797, 821, and 821 Stealth. Those three models are...