Motorcycle Racing News 2011 Indy 125cc MotoGP | Results

2011 Indy 125cc MotoGP | Results


2011 125cc MotoGP

World Championship 125cc MotoGP points leader Nico Terol took his sixth win of the season Sunday at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, charging to victory ahead of Maverick Vinales and Sandro Cortese.

Bankia Aspar’s Terol had an amazing start off pole position, clearly determined to take a win following his DNF at the Czech GP when a mechanical forced his retirement out of the lead of the race.

The 22 year-old pulled an immediate gap and led the race unchallenged, winning the race and extending his Championship lead to 26 points over Johann Zarco (Avant-AirAsia-Ajo).

Vinales (Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing) picked off his competitors one by one to make his way up to third place to fight it out with Zarco. The French rider then had a huge moment, dropping him back into seventh with10 laps to go, allowing Vinales to push on and finish second.

Vinales appeared to have second in the bag, until with five laps remaining his tires started to go, letting Cortese (Intact Racing Team Germany) and Sergio Gadea (Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing Team) catch back up to the youngster. Viñales came out on top of that skirmish to cross the line second, with Cortese finishing third and Gadea fourth.

Frenchman Zarco worked his way back through the field to cross the line fifth, getting the better of team mate Efren Vazquez (Avant-AirAsia-Ajo) who finished sixth. Hector Faubel (Bankia Aspar) crossed the line a clear seventh, with Miguel Oliveira (Team Andalucía Banca Civica), Jonas Folger (Red Bull Ajo Motorsport) and Jakub Kornfeil (Ongetta-Centro Seta) completing the top ten. Brad Binder (RW Racing GP) made an impressive showing in his very first GP, finishing in 17th position.

2011 Indy 125cc MotoGP Results

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1. 25 18 Nicolas TEROL SPA Bankia Aspar Team 125cc Aprilia 137.9 42’11.978
2. 20 25 Maverick VIÑALES SPA Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing Aprilia 137.7 +3.633
3. 16 11 Sandro CORTESE GER Intact-Racing Team Germany Aprilia 137.7 +3.737
4. 13 33 Sergio GADEA SPA Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing Aprilia 137.6 +4.227
5. 11 5 Johann ZARCO FRA Avant-AirAsia-Ajo Derbi 137.1 +14.186
6. 10 7 Efren VAZQUEZ SPA Avant-AirAsia-Ajo Derbi 137.1 +14.200
7. 9 55 Hector FAUBEL SPA Bankia Aspar Team 125cc Aprilia 136.9 +18.477
8. 8 44 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Andalucia Banca Civica Aprilia 136.6 +23.992
9. 7 94 Jonas FOLGER GER Red Bull Ajo MotorSport Aprilia 136.6 +24.239
10. 6 84 Jakub KORNFEIL CZE Ongetta-Centro Seta Aprilia 135.8 +38.748
11. 5 15 Simone GROTZKYJ ITA Phonica Racing Aprilia 135.8 +39.194
12. 4 96 Louis ROSSI FRA Matteoni Racing Aprilia 135.7 +40.203
13. 3 52 Danny KENT GBR Red Bull Ajo MotorSport Aprilia 135.5 +44.088
14. 2 10 Alexis MASBOU FRA Caretta Technology KTM 135.5 +45.201
15. 1 3 Luigi MORCIANO ITA Team Italia FMI Aprilia 135.4 +46.037
16. 53 Jasper IWEMA NED Ongetta-Abbink Metaal Aprilia 134.8 +58.451
17. 14 Brad BINDER RSA RW Racing GP Aprilia 134.1 +1’12.015
18. 43 Francesco MAURIELLO ITA WTR-Ten10 Racing Aprilia 134.0 +1’12.898
19. 63 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN MAL Airasia-Sic-Ajo Derbi 133.9 +1’14.294
20. 36 Joan PERELLO SPA Matteoni Racing Aprilia 133.4 +1’23.947
21. 17 Taylor MACKENZIE GBR Phonica Racing Aprilia 133.2 +1’29.369
22. 56 Peter SEBESTYEN HUN Caretta Technology KTM 133.1 +1’29.813
23. 19 Alessandro TONUCCI ITA Team Italia FMI Aprilia 132.9 +1’34.296
24. 30 Giulian PEDONE SWI Phonica Racing Aprilia 121.2 2 Laps
Not Classified
77 Marcel SCHROTTER GER Mahindra Racing Mahindra 134.9 1 Lap
26 Adrian MARTIN SPA Bankia Aspar Team 125cc Aprilia 132.8 3 Laps
50 Sturla FAGERHAUG NOR WTR-Ten10 Racing Aprilia 133.1 12 Laps
31 Niklas AJO FIN TT Motion Events Racing Aprilia 135.1 16 Laps
21 Harry STAFFORD GBR Ongetta-Centro Seta Aprilia 128.1 16 Laps

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Aprilia Tuono V4 Lineup First Look (8 Fast Facts)

The Aprilia Tuono V4 has earned a reputation for being an uncompromisingly high-performance upright sportbike. Note that we didn’t say naked, as it has...

2021 Moto Guzzi V85 TT Lineup First Look: Adventure and Travel

Sporting two touring-oriented ADV motorcycles, the 2021 Moto Guzzi V85 TT lineup returns with some motor and electronics package updates, and a bit more....

2021 American Flat Track Schedule: 17 AFT Rounds Planned

The 2021 American Flat Track schedule has been revealed, and it features 17 rounds running from March to October, and coast-to-coast. There are four...

2021 Aprilia RSV4 and RSV4 Factory First Look (11 Fast Facts)

There are quite a few updates to the 2021 Aprilia RSV4 and RSV4 Factory. None of them are revolutionary. However, taken together, they add...

Honda CRF110F EFI Long-Term Test: 11-Year-Old Tested

When we got a hold of the 2019 Honda CRF110F, we were reluctant to give it back. Test rider Ben Karsian was cutting his...

2021 Moto Guzzi V9 Lineup First Look: Bobber and Roamer Updated

The  Moto Guzzi V9 lineup of the Bobber and Roamer gets a significant update for 2021. There’s a new motor powering the two V9s,...