Pedrosa Untouchable at Brno MotoGP FP1


2011 MotoGP

The 11th round of the 2011 MotoGP Championship began at Brno Friday morning with the first of three free practice sessions.

One man was untouchable throughout the first 45-minute session – Dani Pedrosa. The Repsol Honda rider was the only rider to post under the 1:57 mark, Pedrosa piloting his RC212V to a 1:56.328.

Almost a second slower was Pedrosa’s teammate Casey Stoner; the Australian posted a 1:577.294. Only 0.114 of a second behind Stoner was San Carlo Honda Gresini’s Marco Simoncelli. The Italian also had a crash at turn 13, but walked away unscathed.

Rounding out the top five in the FP1 at Brno MotoGP were Yamaha Factory Racing’s Jorge Lorenzo and the third Repsol Honda rider, Andrea Dovizioso.

The top American on in FP1 was Lorenzo’s teammate Ben Spies in sixth, who was followed by Wildcard rider John Hopkins, another American who’s piloting a second Rizla Suzuki GSVR. The official Rizla Suzuki rider, Alvaro Bautista was eight.

The Monster Tech 3 Yamaha duo of Cal Crutchlow and Colin Edwards, respectively. As for Valentino Rossi, the Ducati Team rider was 11th quickest, 2.491 seconds behind Pedrosa.

Brno MotoGP continues Friday with Free Practice 2.

2011 Brno MotoGP: Free Practice 1 Results:

Pos.Num.RiderNationTeamBikeKm/hTimeGap 1st/Prev.
1.26Dani PEDROSASPARepsol Honda TeamHonda299.51’56.328
2.27Casey STONERAUSRepsol Honda TeamHonda296.71’57.2940.966 / 0.966
3.58Marco SIMONCELLIITASan Carlo Honda GresiniHonda291.51’57.4081.080 / 0.114
4.1Jorge LORENZOSPAYamaha Factory RacingYamaha295.01’57.5871.259 / 0.179
5.4Andrea DOVIZIOSOITARepsol Honda TeamHonda295.21’57.7761.448 / 0.189
6.11Ben SPIESUSAYamaha Factory RacingYamaha290.81’57.9031.575 / 0.127
7.21John HOPKINSUSARizla Suzuki MotoGPSuzuki293.01’58.3211.993 / 0.418
8.19Alvaro BAUTISTASPARizla Suzuki MotoGPSuzuki294.41’58.3452.017 / 0.024
9.35Cal CRUTCHLOWGBRMonster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha292.31’58.3902.062 / 0.045
10.5Colin EDWARDSUSAMonster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha292.41’58.4972.169 / 0.107
11.46Valentino ROSSIITADucati TeamDucati292.01’58.8192.491 / 0.322
12.14Randy DE PUNIETFRAPramac Racing TeamDucati291.01’58.9272.599 / 0.108
13.8Hector BARBERASPAMapfre Aspar Team MotoGPDucati297.81’58.9732.645 / 0.046
14.69Nicky HAYDENUSADucati TeamDucati290.51’58.9752.647 / 0.002
15.7Hiroshi AOYAMAJPNSan Carlo Honda GresiniHonda296.51’59.2892.961 / 0.314
16.17Karel ABRAHAMCZECardion AB MotoracingDucati293.91’59.3343.006 / 0.045
17.65Loris CAPIROSSIITAPramac Racing TeamDucati290.21’59.7063.378 / 0.372
18.24Toni ELIASSPALCR Honda MotoGPHonda294.02’00.2013.873 / 0.495

Other articles you will enjoy: