2011 Laguna MotoGP: Qualifying Results

2011 MotoGP

True champions never give up. And when you’re the reigning champion of the fastest motorcycle racing in the world, MotoGP, you simply can’t stop.

This was definitely the mind breath of Jorge Lorenzo as he throttled his Yamaha Factory Racing YZR-M1 to the pole position for tomorrow’s Red Bull USGP.

The Spaniard had suffered a hectic high-side during Free Practice 3, placing him third fastest in that session. But when qualifying arrived today (Saturday), Lorenzo set the pace for Sunday’s Laguna Seca MotoGP just 15 minutes into the session.

By the time the hour-long Laguna Seca qualifying session ended, Lorenzo posted a 1:21.202, giving him the front spot on the grid.

Joining Lorenzo on the front row will be the other men who dominated all three free practice sessions with reigning MotoGP Champion, the Repsol Honda duo of Casey Stoner and Dani Pedrosa, respectively. Stoner trailed Lorenzo by 0.072 of a second, with Pedrosa 0.183 of a second further back.

Although he had a qualifying crash in Turn 3, Lorenzo’s teammate Ben Spies will head the second row, the Texan 0.376 of a second behind Lorenzo’s pole time. Joining Spies on the second row will be San Carlo Honda Gresini’s Marco Simoncelli and the third and final Repsol Honda rider, Andrea Dovizioso.

After struggling throughout the free practice sessions at Laguna Seca, Ducati Team’s Valentino Rossi posted a 1:22.235 to begin on the third row. Just 0.003 of a second behind was the second fastest Ducati, Mapfre Aspar Ducati’s Hector Barbera. Finishing off the second row for Sunday’s Laguna Seca MotoGP is Rossi’s teammate, Nicky Hayden.

The American Hayden crahsed at Rainey curve (Turn 9), but was able to quickly rejoin and take the final spot on the third row. Rounding out the top 10 was the Brit Cal Crutchlow on the Monster Tech 3 Yamaha.

As for the Wildcard entry, American AMA Superbike pilot Ben Bostrom, he qualifyed 18th out of 18, 4.089 behind the pole-sitter Jorge Lorenzo.

2011 Laguna Seca MotoGP: Qualifying Results:

Pos.Num.RiderNationTeamBikeKm/hTimeGap 1st/Prev.
1.1Jorge LORENZOSPAYamaha Factory RacingYamaha261.81’21.202 
2.27Casey STONERAUSRepsol Honda TeamHonda265.61’21.2740.072 / 0.072
3.26Dani PEDROSASPARepsol Honda TeamHonda262.11’21.3850.183 / 0.111
4.11Ben SPIESUSAYamaha Factory RacingYamaha261.21’21.5780.376 / 0.193
5.58Marco SIMONCELLIITASan Carlo Honda GresiniHonda260.91’21.6960.494 / 0.118
6.4Andrea DOVIZIOSOITARepsol Honda TeamHonda260.61’21.7310.529 / 0.035
7.46Valentino ROSSIITADucati TeamDucati262.81’22.2351.033 / 0.504
8.8Hector BARBERASPAMapfre Aspar Team MotoGPDucati263.51’22.2381.036 / 0.003
9.69Nicky HAYDENUSADucati TeamDucati261.91’22.2711.069 / 0.033
10.35Cal CRUTCHLOWGBRMonster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha261.11’22.3851.183 / 0.114
11.5Colin EDWARDSUSAMonster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha257.71’22.5201.318 / 0.135
12.19Alvaro BAUTISTASPARizla Suzuki MotoGPSuzuki256.91’22.6691.467 / 0.149
13.17Karel ABRAHAMCZECardion AB MotoracingDucati261.41’22.8931.691 / 0.224
14.7Hiroshi AOYAMAJPNSan Carlo Honda GresiniHonda258.61’22.9371.735 / 0.044
15.14Randy DE PUNIETFRAPramac Racing TeamDucati254.71’22.9611.759 / 0.024
16.65Loris CAPIROSSIITAPramac Racing TeamDucati253.91’23.8762.674 / 0.915
17.24Toni ELIASSPALCR Honda MotoGPHonda259.31’24.1562.954 / 0.280
18.23Ben BOSTROMUSALCR Honda MotoGPHonda253.61’25.2914.089 / 1.135