2011 Sachsenring 125cc MotoGP | Results

125cc MotoGP

A breathtaking last lap battle between Hector Faubel (Bankia Aspar), Johann Zarco (Avant-AirAsia-Ajo) and Maverick Vinales (Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing Team) in the 125cc race at Sachsenring, Germany, saw Frenchman Zarco make a move on Faubel out of the last corner of the race, crossing the finish line at the exact same time as the Spaniard.

A video finish determined a tie between the two, and Faubel was awarded his first win of the season by virtue of having set a faster lap during the race than Zarco.

A great start by Sergio Gadea (Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing Team) put him in the lead at the start of the 27-lap race, where he was joined by the likes of Luis Salom (RW Racing GP), Miguel Oliveira (Team Andalucía Banca Civica), Efrén Vazquez (Avant-AirAsia-Ajo), Nicolas Terol (Bankia Aspar) in an eight-man tussle for the lead. Meanwhile Viñales was pushed down to tenth at the start, giving the youngster who started on pole a tough job to scrap his way back to the front on the tight and twisty Sachsenring circuit.

Fierce racing ensued, with Terol, Vázquez and Gadea swapping the lead and no break in the front eight until Vazquez was forced off at turn one trying to out-brake everyone and ran off the track, taking him out of the lead pack with 11 laps to go. Vazquez later crashed out of the race while pushing hard to catch the leaders.

With ten laps to go, there were still six riders fighting fiercely at the front, with aggressive passing and bumping for position between the leaders. Terol faded from the front on lap 22, and Gadea was dropped shortly after when it appeared he had an issue with the clutch lever of the bike. Meanwhile Viñales had made his way up to Faubel and Zarco, and the three began the struggle for the lead until the photo finish.

Championship leader Terol finally finished in fourth, with Salom and Gadea in fifth and sixth. Jonas Folger (Red Bull Ajo Motorsport), who had tried to stay with the frontrunners but fell back halfway through, ended the race seventh, while Sandro Cortese (Intact Racing Team Germany), Danny Kent (Red Bull Ajo Motorsport) and Niklas Ajo (TT Motion Events Racing) completed the top ten positions.

2011 Germany 125cc MotoGP: Sachsenring Results:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1. 25 55 Hector FAUBEL SPA Bankia Aspar Team 125cc Aprilia 148.8 39'57.979
2. 20 5 Johann ZARCO FRA Avant-AirAsia-Ajo Derbi 148.8 0 Lap
3. 16 25 Maverick VIÑALES SPA Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing Aprilia 148.8 +0.272
4. 13 18 Nicolas TEROL SPA Bankia Aspar Team 125cc Aprilia 148.7 +1.723
5. 11 39 Luis SALOM SPA RW Racing GP Aprilia 148.6 +2.784
6. 10 33 Sergio GADEA SPA Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing Aprilia 148.4 +6.786
7. 9 94 Jonas FOLGER GER Red Bull Ajo MotorSport Aprilia 148.0 +13.116
8. 8 11 Sandro CORTESE GER Intact-Racing Team Germany Aprilia 148.0 +13.414
9. 7 52 Danny KENT GBR Red Bull Ajo MotorSport Aprilia 148.0 +13.710
10. 6 31 Niklas AJO FIN TT Motion Events Racing Aprilia 147.0 +29.090
11. 5 23 Alberto MONCAYO SPA Andalucia Banca Civica Aprilia 147.0 +29.341
12. 4 42 Toni FINSTERBUSCH GER Freudenberg Racing Team KTM 146.8 +33.483
13. 3 84 Jakub KORNFEIL CZE Ongetta-Centro Seta Aprilia 146.7 +34.357
14. 2 99 Danny WEBB GBR Mahindra Racing Mahindra 146.7 +34.405
15. 1 53 Jasper IWEMA NED Ongetta-Abbink Metaal Aprilia 146.5 +36.878
16.   77 Marcel SCHROTTER GER Mahindra Racing Mahindra 146.2 +43.087
17.   15 Simone GROTZKYJ ITA Phonica Racing Aprilia 146.2 +43.123
18.   96 Louis ROSSI FRA Matteoni Racing Aprilia 145.6 +52.487
19.   3 Luigi MORCIANO ITA Team Italia FMI Aprilia 145.1 +1'01.936
20.   30 Giulian PEDONE SWI Phonica Racing Aprilia 144.9 +1'04.494
21.   50 Sturla FAGERHAUG NOR WTR-Ten10 Racing Aprilia 144.8 +1'05.804
22.   43 Francesco MAURIELLO ITA WTR-Ten10 Racing Aprilia 144.8 +1'05.900
23.   36 Joan PERELLO SPA Matteoni Racing Aprilia 143.8 +1'24.205
24.   63 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN MAL Airasia-Sic-Ajo Derbi 143.6 +1'27.327
25.   19 Alessandro TONUCCI ITA Team Italia FMI Aprilia 143.6 +1'27.505
26.   10 Alexis MASBOU FRA Caretta Technology KTM 143.2 1 Lap
27.   78 Felix FORSTENHAEUSLER GER Schwaben Racing Team Honda 142.8 1 Lap
Not Classified
    26 Adrian MARTIN SPA Bankia Aspar Team 125cc Aprilia 146.8 1 Lap
    21 Harry STAFFORD GBR Ongetta-Centro Seta Aprilia 146.7 1 Lap
    41 Luca GRUENWALD GER Freudenberg Racing Team KTM 144.5 4 Laps
    7 Efren VAZQUEZ SPA Avant-AirAsia-Ajo Derbi 147.7 7 Laps
    56 Peter SEBESTYEN HUN Caretta Technology KTM 144.1 8 Laps
    70 Marvin FRITZ GER LHF Project Racing Honda 142.6 19 Laps
    73 Jack MILLER AUS RZT Racing Aprilia 134.3 24 Laps
    44 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Andalucia Banca Civica Aprilia 145.0 25 Laps
    17 Taylor MACKENZIE GBR Phonica Racing Aprilia 143.0 25 Laps


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.