Motorcycle Racing News 2011 Germany MotoGP | Race Results

2011 Germany MotoGP | Race Results

Spoiler Alert: Sachsenring MotoGP results below

For the 14th year, MotoGP took on the Sachsenring circuit in Germany, the second shortest track (2.281 miles) besides Laguna Seca.

Sachsenring challenged the 17-rider grid Sunday for Round 9 of 18, the anti-clockwise track featuring a technical section from turn 1 through 7, to a flowing faster section from turn 8 through 13.

There were many lead changes throughout the 30-lap race, but once Dani Pedrosa took it on lap 21, the Spaniard held it to the checkered flag.

The Sachsenring MotoGP victory was the second one this season for the Spaniard. It was also Pedrosa’s fifth victory at the German circuit. Joining Pedrosa on the podium Yamaha Factory Racing’s Jorge Lorenzo and Repsol Honda’s Casey Stoner, who started from the pole.

Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda RC212V MotoGP) says: "This is an unbelievable feeling. To come back so soon and win so soon is unbelievable and I’m very happy. Even with the front row yesterday I was so happy, but I didn’t expect this.

"I wasn’t feeling perfect with the bike but as the race went on I was feeling better and had a better rhythm. I knew I would suffer less here than Mugello because it’s more lefts but still I was suffering a lot physically by the end. I’m really satisfied with the victory and I want to thank everyone who’s been with me during this hard time."

When the MotoGP began, Pedrosa took the holeshot, followed by Lorenzo, Stoner, San Carlo Honda Gresini Marco Simoncelli, Repsol Honda’s Andrea Dovizioso and Lorenzo’s teammate Ben Spies.

But by the end of lap one, Lorenzo was in the lead, with some battles brewing for second between the three Repsol Honda boys – Stoner, Pedrosa and Dovi. Stoner took the lead for a bit, but Lorenzo regained it quickly.

By mid race, Lorenzo, Pedrosa and Stoner were running up front alone. And on lap 21, Pedrosa took the lead, holding it to the checkered flag. He would finish 1.477 seconds ahead of Lorenzo, with Stoner 1.568 seconds behind.

A further 10 seconds behind the lead group was an intense MotoGP battle for fourth between Spies, Simoncelli and Dovizioso. The Italian Dovizioso would finish two-tenths of a second ahead of Spies, and four-tenths of a second ahead of Simoncelli.

Rounding out the top 10 were Rizla Suzuki’s Alvaro Bautista, the Ducati Team duo of Nicky Hayden and Valentino Rossi, and Monster Tech 3 Yamaha’s Colin Edwards.

Following his third-place Sachsenring finish, Stoner retained the MotoGP championship lead, 15 points ahead of Lorenzo. Dovi reamins in third with 132, Rossi in fourth with 98.

The MotoGP Championship now heads to Laguna Seca for Round 10 at the shortest track on the 2011 schedule.

2011 Sachsenring MotoGP: Germany Results

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1. 25 26 Dani PEDROSA SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 160.4 41’12.482
2. 20 1 Jorge LORENZO SPA Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha 160.3 +1.477
3. 16 27 Casey STONER AUS Repsol Honda Team Honda 160.3 +1.568
4. 13 4 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Repsol Honda Team Honda 159.7 +10.513
5. 11 11 Ben SPIES USA Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha 159.7 +10.719
6. 10 58 Marco SIMONCELLI ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini Honda 159.6 +10.923
7. 9 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA SPA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP Suzuki 158.6 +27.451
8. 8 69 Nicky HAYDEN USA Ducati Team Ducati 158.6 +27.510
9. 7 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Ducati Team Ducati 158.6 +27.576
10. 6 5 Colin EDWARDS USA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 158.2 +33.491
11. 5 8 Hector BARBERA SPA Mapfre Aspar Team MotoGP Ducati 157.9 +38.944
12. 4 17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Cardion AB Motoracing Ducati 157.9 +39.148
13. 3 14 Randy DE PUNIET FRA Pramac Racing Team Ducati 157.8 +39.415
14. 2 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 157.8 +39.477
15. 1 7 Hiroshi AOYAMA JPN San Carlo Honda Gresini Honda 156.9 +54.516
16.   24 Toni ELIAS SPA LCR Honda MotoGP Honda 155.8 +1’12.335
17.   50 Sylvain GUINTOLI FRA Pramac Racing Team Ducati 154.0  


2011 MotoGP Point Standings (After nine of 18 rounds)

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1. Casey STONER Honda AUS 168
2. Jorge LORENZO Yamaha SPA 153
3. Andrea DOVIZIOSO Honda ITA 132
4. Valentino ROSSI Ducati ITA 98
5. Dani PEDROSA Honda SPA 94
6. Ben SPIES Yamaha USA 85
7. Nicky HAYDEN Ducati USA 85
8. Marco SIMONCELLI Honda ITA 60
9. Colin EDWARDS Yamaha USA 59
10. Hiroshi AOYAMA Honda JPN 57
11. Hector BARBERA Ducati SPA 49
12. Karel ABRAHAM Ducati CZE 41
13. Alvaro BAUTISTA Suzuki SPA 39
14. Toni ELIAS Honda SPA 35
15. Cal CRUTCHLOW Yamaha GBR 34
16. Loris CAPIROSSI Ducati ITA 22
17. Randy DE PUNIET Ducati FRA 15
18. John HOPKINS Suzuki USA 6
19. Kousuke AKIYOSHI Honda JPN 3


Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Breitling Top Time Deus Limited Edition Watch First Look

“Bikers, boarders, surfers, digital nomads,” Breitling CEO George Kerns observes, “this is a timepiece for dynamic people of action, purpose, and style. Our versatile...

86 Gear Motorcycles Yamaha XT630 Supermoto: Restomod Special

Sometimes the route to a custom build is a short one. An idea pops into a builder's head, and the process begins. Other times,...

Honda, KTM, Piaggio, and Yamaha Sign E-Motorcycle Battery Agreement

Get ready for the Swappable Batteries Consortium for Motorcycles and Light Electric Vehicles made up of Honda, KTM, Piaggio, and Yamaha. The goal is...

Laurin & Klement Slavia B – The Birth of Škoda Motorsports 120 Years Ago

Czechs Václav Laurin and Václav Klement founded their bicycle manufacturing company in Mladá Boleslav, Bohemia, in 1895. The company, Laurin & Klement, started a...

2021 Daytona Fantasy Supercross Tips (16 Fast Facts)

The Daytona Supercross is the midway point in the 2021 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series. There are eight rounds in the book, and there...

BMW Motorrad International GS Trophy Comes To Europe For 2022

For the first time since its 2008 debut, the BMW Motorrad International GS Trophy competition will be held in Europe. Located above the northeast...