Germany 125cc MotoGP: Qualifying Results

2011 125cc MotoGP

Maverick Vinales will head the 125 grid at Sachsenring, Germany, after securing his third pole position of the season, with Hector Faubel and Luis Salom joining the 16 year old on the front row.

Vinales entered the qualifying session all guns blazing, jumping to the top of the pile ahead of Faubel, who had topped the times at the start.

Faubel responded to the youngster’s challenge to regain the lead at the halfway point and appeared capable of taking the pole until a high speed run off on his fast lap had him running through the gravel at the end of QP, handing the top spot to the Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing Team rider who set a time of 1’27.477.

Faubel’s best lap of 1’27.808 set before his run off was enough to secure him the second spot on the grid, with Luis Salom (RW Racing GP) 0.057s behind him in third. Nicolas Terol (Bankia Aspar), who was fastest in the previous three practice sessions though has never had a podium at the Sachsenring circuit, posted the fourth fastest time with a 1’27.992.

Sergio Gadea (Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing Team) began the session with rear suspension problems, but he emerged later in the session to post a time that put him on the second row for the start of the race. Last year’s sixth place finisher Johann Zarco (Avant-AirAsia-Ajo) took the last spot on the second row with a best lap of 1’28.178.

Efrén Vázquez (Avant-AirAsia-Ajo), heads the third row, joined by Alberto Moncayo (Team Andalucía Banca Cívica) and German rider Jonas Folger (Red Bull Ajo Motorsport). Danny Kent (Red Bull Ajo Motorsport), Miguel Oliveira (Team Andalucía Banca Cívica) and Adrián Martín (Bankia Aspar) make up the fourth row.

German rider Sandro Cortese (Intact Racing Team Germany), who had run in the top ten all weekend crashed at the end of qualifying session, his earlier set best lap time leaving him in 15th position, just ahead of Danny Webb (Mahindra Racing) in 16th.

2011 125cc MotoGP Qualifying Results

Pos.Num.RiderNationTeamBikeKm/hTimeGap 1st/Prev.
1.25Maverick VIÑALESSPABlusens by Paris Hilton RacingAprilia207.31’27.477 
2.55Hector FAUBELSPABankia Aspar Team 125ccAprilia203.51’27.8080.331 / 0.331
3.39Luis SALOMSPARW Racing GPAprilia208.51’27.8650.388 / 0.057
4.18Nicolas TEROLSPABankia Aspar Team 125ccAprilia210.81’27.9920.515 / 0.127
5.33Sergio GADEASPABlusens by Paris Hilton RacingAprilia204.91’28.0670.590 / 0.075
6.5Johann ZARCOFRAAvant-AirAsia-AjoDerbi203.61’28.1780.701 / 0.111
7.7Efren VAZQUEZSPAAvant-AirAsia-AjoDerbi206.71’28.3160.839 / 0.138
8.23Alberto MONCAYOSPAAndalucia Banca CivicaAprilia210.11’28.3440.867 / 0.028
9.94Jonas FOLGERGERRed Bull Ajo MotorSportAprilia204.01’28.3900.913 / 0.046
10.52Danny KENTGBRRed Bull Ajo MotorSportAprilia201.11’28.6261.149 / 0.236
11.44Miguel OLIVEIRAPORAndalucia Banca CivicaAprilia204.51’28.6511.174 / 0.025
12.26Adrian MARTINSPABankia Aspar Team 125ccAprilia204.71’28.7041.227 / 0.053
13.77Marcel SCHROTTERGERMahindra RacingMahindra200.11’28.7211.244 / 0.017
14.31Niklas AJOFINTT Motion Events RacingAprilia205.01’28.7521.275 / 0.031
15.11Sandro CORTESEGERIntact-Racing Team GermanyAprilia205.01’28.7781.301 / 0.026
16.99Danny WEBBGBRMahindra RacingMahindra204.31’28.8221.345 / 0.044
17.63Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDINMALAirasia-Sic-AjoDerbi204.21’28.9291.452 / 0.107
18.3Luigi MORCIANOITATeam Italia FMIAprilia204.41’29.0621.585 / 0.133
19.15Simone GROTZKYJITAPhonica RacingAprilia205.51’29.1711.694 / 0.109
20.21Harry STAFFORDGBROngetta-Centro SetaAprilia201.01’29.2261.749 / 0.055
21.17Taylor MACKENZIEGBRPhonica RacingAprilia202.21’29.3071.830 / 0.081
22.10Alexis MASBOUFRACaretta TechnologyKTM201.61’29.4461.969 / 0.139
23.96Louis ROSSIFRAMatteoni RacingAprilia200.51’29.4501.973 / 0.004
24.53Jasper IWEMANEDOngetta-Abbink MetaalAprilia208.91’29.5232.046 / 0.073
25.41Luca GRUENWALDGERFreudenberg Racing TeamKTM201.21’29.6282.151 / 0.105
26.73Jack MILLERAUSRZT RacingAprilia198.81’29.6802.203 / 0.052
27.50Sturla FAGERHAUGNORWTR-Ten10 RacingAprilia202.41’29.7252.248 / 0.045
28.42Toni FINSTERBUSCHGERFreudenberg Racing TeamKTM202.31’29.7392.262 / 0.014
29.30Giulian PEDONESWIPhonica RacingAprilia202.41’29.8252.348 / 0.086
30.84Jakub KORNFEILCZEOngetta-Centro SetaAprilia204.31’29.9052.428 / 0.080
31.43Francesco MAURIELLOITAWTR-Ten10 RacingAprilia201.71’30.2272.750 / 0.322
32.56Peter SEBESTYENHUNCaretta TechnologyKTM199.31’30.6023.125 / 0.375
33.36Joan PERELLOSPAMatteoni RacingAprilia198.01’30.6063.129 / 0.004
34.19Alessandro TONUCCIITATeam Italia FMIAprilia200.21’31.2733.796 / 0.667
35.78Felix FORSTENHAEUSLERGERSchwaben Racing TeamHonda198.91’31.4313.954 / 0.158
36.70Marvin FRITZGERLHF Project RacingHonda196.81’31.6554.178 / 0.224