2011 125cc MotoGP: Mugello Results

125 MotoGP

Nicolas Terol (Bankia Aspar) had a stunning return to competition after missing the last 125cc MotoGP race in Assen due to injury, shooting off the second row to lead the start of the Gran Premio d’Italia TIM Mugello race with first time pole man Zarco (Avant-AirAsia-Ajo) moving quickly into second, chasing his first 125 GP victory.

The two 125cc MotoGP riders broke away from the rest of the field, pursued by the pack of Spanish riders Maverick Vinales (Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing Team), Efren Vazquez (Avant-AirAsia-Ajo), Héctor Faubel (Bankia Aspar), Luis Salom (RW Racing GP), and Sergio Gadea (Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing Team), and two German 125cc riders Sandro Cortese (Intact Racing Team Germany) and Jonas Folger (Red Bull Ajo Motorsport).

With ten laps to go, pressure from Zarco caused Terol to run wide, and the Frenchman took over the lead. The Spanish rider sat back until the final corner, driving out of it to pass Zarco on the home straight despite the Avant-AirAsia-Ajo rider swerving to break the draft. The win is the fifth for Terol of 2011, adding Mugello to the list of his previous wins at Losail, Jerez, Estoril and Catalunya.

16 year old Viñales dueled with Vázquez for the third spot on the podium, finally beating him across the line to take his fourth consecutive podium of the season, and moving into third place overall in the Championship.

Folger crashed out of the pack of seven 125cc MotoGP riders tussling for third on lap 17, handing his second place in the Championship over to Zarco.

2011 125cc MotoGP: Mugello Results

1.2518Nicolas TEROLSPABankia Aspar Team 125ccAprilia157.939’51.815
2.205Johann ZARCOFRAAvant-AirAsia-AjoDerbi157.9+0.167
3.1625Maverick VIÑALESSPABlusens by Paris Hilton RacingAprilia157.3+8.379
4.137Efren VAZQUEZSPAAvant-AirAsia-AjoDerbi157.3+8.491
5.1155Hector FAUBELSPABankia Aspar Team 125ccAprilia157.3+8.594
6.1039Luis SALOMSPARW Racing GPAprilia156.4+22.908
7.933Sergio GADEASPABlusens by Paris Hilton RacingAprilia156.3+23.989
8.844Miguel OLIVEIRAPORAndalucia Banca CivicaAprilia155.3+40.138
9.723Alberto MONCAYOSPAAndalucia Banca CivicaAprilia155.2+40.767
10.684Jakub KORNFEILCZEOngetta-Centro SetaAprilia155.2+41.198
11.577Marcel SCHROTTERGERMahindra RacingMahindra155.2+41.255
12.411Sandro CORTESEGERIntact-Racing Team GermanyAprilia156.3+43.999
13.315Simone GROTZKYJITAPhonica RacingAprilia154.9+46.172
14.253Jasper IWEMANEDOngetta-Abbink MetaalAprilia154.1+58.976
15.152Danny KENTGBRRed Bull Ajo MotorSportAprilia154.0+59.725
16. 10Alexis MASBOUFRACaretta TechnologyKTM154.0+1’00.127
17. 17Taylor MACKENZIEGBRPhonica RacingAprilia154.0+1’00.227
18. 63Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDINMALAirasia-Sic-AjoDerbi153.5+1’08.245
19. 95Miroslav POPOVCZEEllegi RacingAprilia153.4+1’10.593
20. 19Alessandro TONUCCIITATeam Italia FMIAprilia153.2+1’13.662
21. 43Francesco MAURIELLOITAWTR-Ten10 RacingAprilia152.5+1’23.949
22. 31Niklas AJOFINTT Motion Events RacingAprilia151.6+1’38.811
23. 30Giulian PEDONESWIPhonica RacingAprilia150.8+1’53.144
Not Classified
  3Luigi MORCIANOITATeam Italia FMIAprilia154.11 Lap
  74Kevin CALIAITAMGP RacingAprilia154.11 Lap
  94Jonas FOLGERGERRed Bull Ajo MotorSportAprilia156.03 Laps
  99Danny WEBBGBRMahindra RacingMahindra153.011 Laps
  56Peter SEBESTYENHUNCaretta TechnologyKTM150.811 Laps
  96Louis ROSSIFRAMatteoni RacingAprilia153.813 Laps
  36Joan PERELLOSPAMatteoni RacingAprilia145.613 Laps
  50Sturla FAGERHAUGNORWTR-Ten10 RacingAprilia144.713 Laps
  88Massimo PARZIANIITAFaenza RacingAprilia151.714 Laps
  26Adrian MARTINSPABankia Aspar Team 125ccAprilia144.019 Laps
  21Harry STAFFORDGBROngetta-Centro SetaAprilia141.319 Laps

Previous article2011 Mugello Moto2: Race Results
Next article2011 MotoGP: Mugello Quote Roundup
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007 and is currently Editor at Large at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of 365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).