2011 TT Assen Moto2 | Results

2011-assen-moto2-results (1)

2011 TT Assen Moto2 | Results

Moto2 Spoiler Alert

Round 7 of the 2011 Moto2 Championship got underway in wet conditions, but turned dry as the riders lapped the TT Assen circuit in the Netherlands.

Since every team had rain tires on its Moto2 machine(s), by the end of the Assen race the tires were worn, causing multiple crashes.

But one rider battled through the wearing-tire conditions to take his second victory of the 2011 Moto2 season – the Moto2 rookie and current 125cc MotoGP Champion, Marc Marquez.

The Spaniard piloted his Repsol Moto2 machine to the finish line 2.397 seconds ahead of Technomag-CIP’s Kenan Sofuoglu and Tech 3’s Bradley Smith.

Throughout the race, it was Sofuoglu and Smith leading, with Marquez and battling with Yuki Takahashi (Gresini Racing).

Marquez and Takahashi eventually got up front, and with eight laps remaining, the Repsol rider took the lead. Takahashi then crashed with four laps to go, leaving the battle for second behind between Sofuoglu and Smith. In the last laps he rode alone after setting a very fast pace to increase his margin over his rivals.

Rounding out the top five were Anthony West (MZ Racing) and Alex de Angelis (JiR Moto20.

As for crashes, there were many, including series’ leader Stefan Bradl (Viessmann Kiefer Racing). Mike di Meglio (Tech 3) also crashed while up front. Other crashes included Michele Pirro (Gresini Racing), Jules Cluzel (Forward Racing), who rejoined the race after falling on the warm up lap but crashed out again, Axel Pons (Pons HP 40) Kenny Noyes (Avintia-STX) and Xavier Simeon (Tech 3 B).

2011 Assen Moto2: Results

1.2593Marc MARQUEZSPATeam CatalunyaCaixa RepsolSuter147.044’30.409
2.2054Kenan SOFUOGLUTURTechnomag-CIPSuter146.8+2.397
3.1638Bradley SMITHGBRTech 3 RacingTech 3146.6+6.418
4.1313Anthony WESTAUSMZ Racing TeamMZ-RE Honda145.7+22.803
5.1115Alex DE ANGELISRSMJIR Moto2Motobi145.5+25.882
6.1075Mattia PASINIITAIoda Racing ProjectFTR145.5+26.851
7.934Esteve RABATSPABlusens-STXFTR145.4+28.125
8.812Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten Paddock Moto2Suter145.4+28.712
9.74Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIGP Team Switzerland Kiefer RacingKalex145.3+29.744
10.676Max NEUKIRCHNERGERMZ Racing TeamMZ-RE Honda144.8+39.767
11.525Alex BALDOLINIITANGM Forward RacingSuter144.4+47.158
12.429Andrea IANNONEITASpeed MasterSuter144.2+50.846
13.368Yonny HERNANDEZCOLBlusens-STXFTR143.9+57.118
14.23Simone CORSIITAIoda Racing ProjectFTR143.7+1’00.775
15.171Claudio CORTIITAItaltrans Racing TeamSuter143.4+1’06.310
16.40Aleix ESPARGAROSPAPons HP 40Pons Kalex143.4+1’06.764
17.51Michele PIRROITAGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki143.4+1’06.823
18.77Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter142.9+1’16.296
19.88Ricard CARDUSSPAQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki142.6+1’21.524
20.31Carmelo MORALESSPADesguaces La Torre G22Moriwaki142.6+1’22.289
21.49Kev COGHLANGBRAeroport de CastelloFTR141.7+1’38.161
22.66Michael VAN DER MARKNEDEAB RacingTen Kate141.6+1’41.888
23.21Javier FORESSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter141.5+1’42.189
24.45Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter140.71 Lap
25.95Mashel AL NAIMIQATQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki140.61 Lap
26.39Robertino PIETRIVENItaltrans Racing TeamSuter140.11 Lap
Not Classified
65Stefan BRADLGERViessmann Kiefer RacingKalex145.54 Laps
97Steven ODENDAALRSAMS RacingSuter141.24 Laps
72Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki146.75 Laps
44Pol ESPARGAROSPAHP Tuenti Speed UpFTR145.15 Laps
9Kenny NOYESUSAAvintia-STXFTR141.55 Laps
19Xavier SIMEONBELTech 3 BTech 3145.26 Laps
36Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter139.711 Laps
80Axel PONSSPAPons HP 40Pons Kalex138.617 Laps
14Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda Singha SAGFTR137.219 Laps
53Valentin DEBISEFRASpeed UpFTR135.119 Laps
64Santiago HERNANDEZCOLSAG TeamFTR134.621 Laps
63Mike DI MEGLIOFRATech 3 RacingTech 3138.022 Laps
16Jules CLUZELFRANGM Forward RacingSuter133.622 Laps