Motorcycle Racing News 2011 Assen MotoGP: Qualifying Results

2011 Assen MotoGP: Qualifying Results

2011 MotoGP

For the second time since Catalunya MotoGP, San Carlo Honda Gresini’s Marco Simoncelli will start from the pole position.

The Italian edged out Yamaha Factory Racing’s Ben Spies Friday at Assen qualifying by a mere 0.009 of a second, with the current MotoGP points’ leader, Repsol Honda’s Casey Stoner, a further 0.290 of a second behind Simoncelli.

This makes Simoncelli the fastest rider so far in Assen; on Thursday, he held off Ducati Team’s Valentino Rossi in Free Practice 1, then the current MotoGP leader, Repsol Honda’s Casey Stoner, in an extended Free Practice 2 due to the original session being canceled due to rain and oil on the track Thursday.

The second row for Saturday’s Assen TT MotoGP race will be headed by the reigning MotoGP Champion, Jorge Lorenzo on the Yamaha Factory Racing M1. Joining Lorenzo on the second row will be Repsol Honda’s Andrea Dovizioso, who was 0.101 of a second behind the Spaniard, and Monster Tech 3 Yamaha’s Cal Crutchlow, who is still healing from breaking his shoulder at Silverstone two weeks ago.

Qualigying seventh was Cardion AB Motoracing’s Karel Abraham, followed by Colin Edwards (Monster Tech 3 Yamaha), Nicky Hayden (Ducati Team) and Randy de Puniet (Pramac Racing).

As for Rossi, the Italian couldn’t find a a proper setup for the new GP11.1 in the dry conditions. Valentino Rossi will start from 11th on the grid.

As for crashes, Pramac Racing Ducati’s Loris Capirossi and LCR Honda’s Toni Elias both crashed during Assen MotoGP qualifying.

The race action gets underway at 3 p.m. local time; stay clicked to for the results and team reports.

2011 Assen MotoGP: Qualifying Results

Pos. Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time Gap 1st/Prev.
1. 58 Marco SIMONCELLI ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini Honda 291.0 1’34.718
2. 11 Ben SPIES USA Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha 293.1 1’34.727 0.009 / 0.009
3. 27 Casey STONER AUS Repsol Honda Team Honda 298.7 1’35.008 0.290 / 0.281
4. 1 Jorge LORENZO SPA Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha 300.7 1’35.143 0.425 / 0.135
5. 4 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Repsol Honda Team Honda 295.0 1’35.244 0.526 / 0.101
6. 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 291.3 1’35.329 0.611 / 0.085
7. 17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Cardion AB Motoracing Ducati 291.7 1’35.742 1.024 / 0.413
8. 5 Colin EDWARDS USA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 294.5 1’35.818 1.100 / 0.076
9. 69 Nicky HAYDEN USA Ducati Team Ducati 302.1 1’35.866 1.148 / 0.048
10. 14 Randy DE PUNIET FRA Pramac Racing Team Ducati 300.2 1’36.435 1.717 / 0.569
11. 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Ducati Team Ducati 301.2 1’36.564 1.846 / 0.129
12. 7 Hiroshi AOYAMA JPN Repsol Honda Team Honda 293.5 1’36.580 1.862 / 0.016
13. 8 Hector BARBERA SPA Mapfre Aspar Team MotoGP Ducati 293.2 1’36.590 1.872 / 0.010
14. 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA SPA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP Suzuki 300.1 1’36.820 2.102 / 0.230
15. 65 Loris CAPIROSSI ITA Pramac Racing Team Ducati 290.9 1’37.130 2.412 / 0.310
16. 24 Toni ELIAS SPA LCR Honda MotoGP Honda 282.2 1’37.651 2.933 / 0.521
17. 64 Kousuke AKIYOSHI JPN San Carlo Honda Gresini Honda 281.3 1’39.006 4.288 / 1.355

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Triumph Trident 660 First Look: 42 Photos and 13 Fast Facts

With the Triumph Speed Triple and Street Triple getting continually more aggressive, Triumph is making its signature three-cylinder motor configuration approachable again with the...

Lieback’s Lounge: From Injury to 200-Lap Endurance Mini Moto Racing

Heading into July, I put around 7000 miles combined on my Ducati Multistrada and KTM 1190 Adventure R, and about 1000 miles on my...

Full of Hot Air? Exotogg Puts It To Good Use [Cold Weather Riding Vest]

Have you ever been told you’re full of hot air? Well, even if you haven’t, there’s a new product out from the U.K. that...

2021 KTM 350 XC-F Kailub Russell Edition First Look (12 Fast Facts)

KTM continues its tradition of special edition motorcycles to honor championship-winning riders. The good news is that buyers get a chance to own a...

2021 BMW R 18 Classic First Look: Touring Motorcycle (9 Fast Facts)

Hot on the heels of the 2021 BMW R 18 First Edition comes the 2021 BMW R 18 Classic. BMW goes for the touring...

2021 Yamaha YZ250F Review (13 First Ride Fast Facts)

We rode the new, upgraded 2021 Yamaha YZ250F at Glen Helen Raceway for a first ride impression. We were fans of the previous YZ250F, so...