2011 Assen Moto2: Thursday FP Results


2011 Moto2

The Moto2 field only got in one of two practice sessions Thursday at Assen TT due to rainy conditions and some oil spilled on the track.

With the cancellation of FP2, riders will have an extended practice session Friday before qualifying.

Current leader of the Moto2 pack, Stefan Bradl, put the heat on his intermediate category rivals Thursday in the rainy Assen Free Practice 1.

Viessmann Kiefer Racing rider Bradl opened up the first Moto2 practice session of the Iveco TT Assen weekend riding his Kalex machine to the top of the timesheet with a best lap of 1’54.435 on the historic Dutch circuit.

Kenan Sofuoglu (Technomag-CIP Moto2) was second fastest, less than three tenths behind the German with Simone Corsi (Ioda Racing Project Moto2), who is currently second in the Championship, third quickest in the wet.

Yuki Takahashi (Gresini Racing Moto2), who is now third in the Championship, was 0.83s adrift of Bradl’s pace in fourth. Last year’s race winner Andrea Iannone (Speed Master) lead in the beginning of the session though crashed out in the first 15 minutes.

The Italian’s first laps were quick enough to put him fifth in the times, Thomas Lüthi (Interwetten Paddock Moto2), Mika Kallio (Marc VDS Racing), Ratthapark Wilairot (Thai Honda Singha-SAG), Pol Espargaró (HP Tuenti Speed Up) – who crashed before the end of the session- and American rider Kenny Noyes (Avintia-STX) all registering top ten times.

The adverse weather claimed several more riders, with a sudden spate of crashes bringing out the red flag, and later the cancellation of the session, with four minutes remaining due to oil spillage on the track.

But not before Elena Rosell, the replacement rider for Julián Simon on the Mapfre Aspar team, crashed twice, Axel Pons (Pons HP 40), Javier Forés (Mapfre Aspar) and Ricky Cardús (QMMF Racing Team), among others, crashed out of the session in various corners.

2011 Assen Moto2: Free Practice 1 Results:

Pos.Num.RiderNationTeamBikeKm/hTimeGap 1st/Prev.
1.65Stefan BRADLGERViessmann Kiefer RacingKalex238.61’54.435
2.54Kenan SOFUOGLUTURTechnomag-CIPSuter242.31’54.7150.280 / 0.280
3.3Simone CORSIITAIoda Racing ProjectFTR242.31’55.0580.623 / 0.343
4.72Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki240.21’55.2680.833 / 0.210
5.29Andrea IANNONEITASpeed MasterSuter239.11’55.4240.989 / 0.156
6.12Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten Paddock Moto2Suter237.01’55.4361.001 / 0.012
7.36Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter236.91’56.1451.710 / 0.709
8.14Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda Singha SAGFTR235.71’56.2971.862 / 0.152
9.44Pol ESPARGAROSPAHP Tuenti Speed UpFTR242.31’56.4802.045 / 0.183
10.9Kenny NOYESUSAAvintia-STXFTR230.31’56.5852.150 / 0.105
11.68Yonny HERNANDEZCOLBlusens-STXFTR239.51’56.6572.222 / 0.072
12.15Alex DE ANGELISRSMJIR Moto2Motobi226.21’56.8452.410 / 0.188
13.63Mike DI MEGLIOFRATech 3 RacingTech 3238.11’56.9152.480 / 0.070
14.51Michele PIRROITAGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki239.01’57.1122.677 / 0.197
15.88Ricard CARDUSSPAQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki235.81’57.1372.702 / 0.025
16.71Claudio CORTIITAItaltrans Racing TeamSuter235.21’57.1412.706 / 0.004
17.16Jules CLUZELFRANGM Forward RacingSuter230.11’57.2412.806 / 0.100
18.76Max NEUKIRCHNERGERMZ Racing TeamMZ-RE Honda232.81’57.4142.979 / 0.173
19.34Esteve RABATSPABlusens-STXFTR232.21’57.4423.007 / 0.028
20.21Javier FORESSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter239.31’57.4683.033 / 0.026
21.93Marc MARQUEZSPATeam CatalunyaCaixa RepsolSuter239.11’57.6293.194 / 0.161
22.38Bradley SMITHGBRTech 3 RacingTech 3241.01’57.7123.277 / 0.083
23.40Aleix ESPARGAROSPAPons HP 40Pons Kalex241.51’58.0603.625 / 0.348
24.4Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIGP Team Switzerland Kiefer RacingKalex241.71’58.4153.980 / 0.355
25.13Anthony WESTAUSMZ Racing TeamMZ-RE Honda237.91’58.4714.036 / 0.056
26.49Kev COGHLANGBRAeroport de CastelloFTR222.21’58.5504.115 / 0.079
27.80Axel PONSSPAPons HP 40Pons Kalex234.71’58.6484.213 / 0.098
28.75Mattia PASINIITAIoda Racing ProjectFTR239.91’58.7174.282 / 0.069
29.25Alex BALDOLINIITANGM Forward RacingSuter230.11’58.7514.316 / 0.034
30.53Valentin DEBISEFRASpeed UpFTR238.61’58.8624.427 / 0.111
31.45Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter234.41’59.0164.581 / 0.154
32.77Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter235.01’59.2534.818 / 0.237
33.66Michael VAN DER MARKNEDEAB RacingTen Kate226.11’59.3634.928 / 0.110
34.39Robertino PIETRIVENItaltrans Racing TeamSuter238.42’00.1025.667 / 0.739
35.19Xavier SIMEONBELTech 3 BTech 3225.52’00.9226.487 / 0.820
36.31Carmelo MORALESSPADesguaces La Torre G22Moriwaki229.62’01.3396.904 / 0.417
37.95Mashel AL NAIMIQATQMMF Racing TeamMoriwaki236.32’01.6167.181 / 0.277
38.64Santiago HERNANDEZCOLSAG TeamFTR232.12’02.3317.896 / 0.715
82Elena ROSELLSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter212.62’05.70811.273 / 3.377
97Steven ODENDAALRSAMS RacingSuter223.52’07.42212.987 / 1.714