2011 Silverstone 125cc MotoGP Results

125 MotoGP

Spoiler Alert:
Silverstone 125cc MotoGP results below

Jonas Folger rode his Red Bull Ajo Motorsport machine to his first GP win at a wet Silverstone on Sunday, after battling with Johann Zarco (Avant-AirAsia-Ajo) for the entire 125cc race.

Zarco crossed the line in second to take another season podium and Héctor Faubel (Bankia Aspar) took third for his first rostrum of the campaign, in wet conditions.

Seventeen year-old Folger who started from eighth spot on the grid, shot to the lead on the first lap of the race. Folger battled with Zarco for the lead from the first lap of the race, beating the Frenchman across the line to finally clinch the first win in his 44th GP race start, moving the German into second place in the Championship.

Faubel finished third, and Luis Salom (RW Racing GP) passed Efrén Vázquez (Avant-AirAsia-Ajo) to finish fourth, with Vázquez finishing fifth in front of Adrián Martín (Bankia Aspar). Martín ran off the track when saving a highside with 7 laps to go, rejoining to finish sixth in front of Sandro Cortese (Intact Racing Team Germany).

Championship leader Nico Terol (Bankia Aspar) took a cautious approach in the hazardous conditions to collect eight more points for his eighth place finish. Jakub Kornfeil (Ongetta-Centro Seta) finished ninth, in front of Danny Kent (Red Bull Ajo Motorsport) in tenth.

Danny Webb (Mahindra Racing) collected his first points of the season at the British Grand Prix, crossing the line 11th, followed by Taylor Mackenzie (Phonica Racing), who ran off the track at the start of the race, but rejoined to finish twelfth and in the points.

As expected, the weather ended the race early for several riders, including pole position starter Maverick Viñales (Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing Team), who had a good start and slotted himself into third position for most of the competition until he crashed out of his sixth GP race with just six laps to go.

2011 Silverstone 125cc MotoGP Results

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1. 25 94 Jonas FOLGER GER Red Bull Ajo MotorSport Aprilia 137.4 43’48.862
2. 20 5 Johann ZARCO FRA Avant-AirAsia-Ajo Derbi 137.2 +3.885
3. 16 55 Hector FAUBEL SPA Bankia Aspar Team 125cc Aprilia 136.6 +14.951
4. 13 39 Luis SALOM SPA RW Racing GP Aprilia 136.5 +17.164
5. 11 7 Efren VAZQUEZ SPA Avant-AirAsia-Ajo Derbi 136.5 +17.403
6. 10 26 Adrian MARTIN SPA Bankia Aspar Team 125cc Aprilia 136.4 +19.236
7. 9 11 Sandro CORTESE GER Intact-Racing Team Germany Aprilia 136.3 +21.609
8. 8 18 Nicolas TEROL SPA Bankia Aspar Team 125cc Aprilia 136.1 +25.167
9. 7 84 Jakub KORNFEIL CZE Ongetta-Centro Seta Aprilia 135.7 +32.345
10. 6 52 Danny KENT GBR Red Bull Ajo MotorSport Aprilia 135.7 +32.971
11. 5 99 Danny WEBB GBR Mahindra Racing Mahindra 134.6 +54.704
12. 4 17 Taylor MACKENZIE GBR Phonica Racing Aprilia 134.1 +1’03.969
13. 3 96 Louis ROSSI FRA Matteoni Racing Aprilia 132.6 +1’35.316
14. 2 10 Alexis MASBOU FRA Caretta Technology KTM 132.2 +1’43.383
15. 1 71 John McPHEE GBR Racing Steps Foundation KRP Aprilia 132.1 +1’45.973
16.   31 Niklas AJO FIN TT Motion Events Racing Aprilia 132.1 +1’46.339
17.   23 Alberto MONCAYO SPA Andalucia Banca Civica Aprilia 131.7 +1’52.836
18.   63 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN MAL Airasia-Sic-Ajo Derbi 130.2 +2’25.969
19.   36 Joan PERELLO SPA Matteoni Racing Aprilia 129.7 +2’36.732
20.   19 Alessandro TONUCCI ITA Team Italia FMI Aprilia 124.7 1 Lap
Not Classified
    77 Marcel SCHROTTER GER Mahindra Racing Mahindra 136.0 3 Laps
    33 Sergio GADEA SPA Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing Aprilia 135.9 5 Laps
    25 Maverick VIÑALES SPA Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing Aprilia 137.0 6 Laps
    56 Peter SEBESTYEN HUN Caretta Technology KTM 123.6 6 Laps
    30 Giulian PEDONE SWI Phonica Racing Aprilia 122.0 6 Laps
    15 Simone GROTZKYJ ITA Phonica Racing Aprilia 136.1 7 Laps
    53 Jasper IWEMA NED Ongetta-Abbink Metaal Aprilia 126.1 7 Laps
    43 Francesco MAURIELLO ITA WTR-Ten10 Racing Aprilia 121.8 11 Laps
    50 Sturla FAGERHAUG NOR WTR-Ten10 Racing Aprilia   0 Lap
Not Starting
    21 Harry STAFFORD GBR Ongetta-Centro Seta Aprilia   0 Lap



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.