Motorcycle Racing News 2011 Superbike Monza Qualifying

2011 Superbike Monza Qualifying

World Superbike Qualifying Results

Most of us in California were asleep at 6 a.m. when the World Superbike riders took to the Monza circuit in Italy for Superpole.

There was the traditional shake-up in the time sheets that were established in the practice and qualifying sessions on Friday and Saturday.

Leon Haslam had impressed, putting his BMW S1000RR at the top of the time sheets in Friday’s first timed session, proving his, and the BMW’s speed. The usual suspects followed, with Max Biaggi present as always.

When Superpole wrapped up today at 7 a.m. Pacific Time, it was reigning champ, Max Biaggi aboard the mighty V-4 Aprilia sitting on Pole.

Eugene Laverty (Yamaha) came through with an impressive second position, followed by early fast qualifier Jonathan Rea on the Castrol Honda in third. Rounding out the front row for tomorrow’s races is BMW-mounted Troy Corser.

Second row on the grid leads with Marco Melandri on the Yamaha, followed by Leon Haslam on the second BMW, Suzuki-mounted Michel Fabrizio, and fan favorite Noriyuki Haga on the satellite Aprilia.

Championship leader, Carlos Checa – on the Althea Ducati – starts from the third row. Here’s how the field is cued up for tomorrow’s round at the famous Monza circuit.

Row 1

1. Max Biaggi ITA Aprilia Alitalia Racing RSV-4 1min 41.745s

2. Eugene Laverty IRL Yamaha WSBK YZF R1 1min 42.393s

3. Jonathan Rea GBR Castrol Honda CBR1000RR 1min 42.614s

4. Troy Corser AUS BMW Motorrad S1000RR 1min 42.688s

Row 2

5. Marco Melandri ITA Yamaha WSBK YZF R1 1min 42.714s

6. Leon Haslam GBR BMW Motorrad S1000RR 1min 42.723s

7. Michel Fabrizio ITA Suzuki Alstare GSX-R1000 1min 42.954s

8. Noriyuki Haga JPN PATA Aprilia RSV-4 1min 43.043s

Row 3

9. Ayrton Badovini ITA BMW Italia S1000RR 1min 42.886s

10. Leon Camier GBR Aprilia Alitalia Racing RSV-4 1min 42.995s

11. Carlos Checa ESP Althea Ducati 1098R 1min 43.116s

12. Sylvain Guintoli FRA Effenbert Liberty Ducati 1098R 1min 43.146s

Row 4

13. Joan Lascorz ESP Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 1min 43.090s

14. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki RTS ZX-10R 1min 43.437s

15. Jakub Smrz CZE Effenbert Liberty Ducati 1098R 1min 43.993s

16. Maxime Berger FRA Supersonic Ducati 1098R 1min 44.005s

The riders that qualified outside the top sixteen and did not progress to Superpole were:

17. Ruben Xaus ESP Castrol Honda CBR1000RR 1min 44.216s

18. Roberto Rolfo ITA Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 1min 44.515s

19. James Toseland GBR BMW Italia S1000RR 1min 44.989s

20. Mark Aitchison AUS Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 1min 45.022s

21. Fabrizio Lai ITA Echo CRS Honda CBR1000RR 1min 45.739s

22. Chris Vermeulen AUS Kawasaki RTS ZX-10R No Time

There are questions about Chris Vermeulen being able to ride in Sunday’s race(s) following a qualifying get off. Race action will be broadcast on SPEED TV Sunday; Race 1 at 4 p.m., Race 2 at 5 p.m.

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Indian Challenger Lineup First Look: Photos, Prices, and Colors

The performance-oriented Challenger bagger lineup from Indian returns for 2021, with three models to choose from. All three 2021 Indian Challenger models get the...

2021 GasGas Motocross Lineup First Look (Specs and Photos)

When under Spanish ownership, GasGas was never known as a motocross brand. However, under the guidance of Pierer Mobility AG and Bajaj Auto—the owners...

2021 Indian Chieftain Lineup First Look: 3 Big-Inch Baggers

There are three baggers in the 2021 Indian Chieftain lineup, with just a few changes to the motorcycles this year. There are new colors,...

2021 GasGas Trial Lineup First Look (8 Fast Facts: 3 TXT Racing Models)

The first GasGas motorcycles of the Pierer Mobility AG and Bajaj Auto era have arrived. Those who were expecting wholesale redesigns of the line...

Lieback’s Lounge: This Will All Pass [Thoughts on Simic and Motorcycles]

There is a menace in the air Of tragedies in the making. These lines are from "Late September," written by the American minimalist poet Charles Simic....

Racing Classic Motorcycles: First You Have to Finish by Andy Reynolds [Review]

Author Andy Reynolds’ new book, Racing Classic Motorcycles: First You Have to Finish, is about a man livin’ the classic motorcycle racing dream—with some...