2011 125cc GP: Portugal Results


125cc Estoril

Bankia Aspar’s Nicolas Terol continued his perfect start to the 2011 125cc MotoGp season with his third successive win of the 125cc campaign.

The Spaniard dominated at the front in Estoril, Portugal, and led home Sandro Cortese (Intact-Racing Team Germany) and Johann Zarco (Avant-AirAsia-Ajo).

Pole sitter Terol become the first rider to win the opening three 125cc GP races since Masao Azuma in 1999. The 22 year old extended his lead in the championship standings to 25 points after securing maximum points from all three rounds and claimed his eighth career victory.

Cortese, who qualified second, continued his run of grid positions in the top two this season and fought with the most experienced rider in the class Héctor Faubel (Bankia Aspar) through the middle of the race. They led a gaggle of riders for an intense battle including Maverick Viñales (Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing) and Zarco. However, Faubel hit the tarmac after crashing with just a few laps remaining, when he was in line for the final spot on the rostrum.

Frenchman Zarco, who achieved his first podium in 125cc at the last round in Jerez, made it two in a row after a photo-finish between him and rookie rider Viñales decided that the Ajo Motorsport rider beat him on the line. The difference between third and fourth was a marginal two-thousandths of a second. Fourth place was the Spaniard’s best result of his debut campaign in 125cc, after narrowly missing the opportunity to stand on the rostrum.

Jonas Folger (Red Bull Ajo Motorsport) who is now joint third in the championship with Zarco, was fifth, ahead of Efrén Vázquez (Avant-AirAsia-Ajo). Miguel Oliveira (Team Andalucía Banca Cívica) who became the first Portuguese rider to start on the front row of a Grand Prix grid, finished in seventh in front of the home crowd in his third race of his rookie season.

Luis Salom (RW Racing GP) was eighth, one spot in front of the second Bankia Aspar bike of Adrián Martín. Tenth went to Simone Grotzkyj (Phonica Racing).

Danny Kent (Red Bull Ajo Motorsport) had a ride through penalty for a jump start but came through to finish in 15th and clinch the last point on offer. Kent fought off competition from fellow compatriot, Danny Webb (Mahindra Racing) who had to settle for 16th. The third British rider Harry Stafford (Ongetta-Centro Seta) had a crash towards the latter stages of the race and had to return to the pits. Taylor Mackenzie (Phonica Racing) who qualified 26th after a crash in QP, did not start the race due to a shoulder injury sustained in his fall.

2011 125cc MotoGP: Estoril Portugal Results:

1.2518Nicolas TEROLSPABankia Aspar Team 125ccAprilia139.541’21.986
2.2011Sandro CORTESEGERIntact-Racing Team GermanyAprilia139.3+3.671
3.165Johann ZARCOFRAAvant-AirAsia-AjoDerbi139.3+4.466
4.1325Maverick VIÑALESSPABlusens by Paris Hilton RacingAprilia139.3+4.468
5.1194Jonas FOLGERGERRed Bull Ajo MotorSportAprilia138.8+12.140
6.107Efren VAZQUEZSPAAvant-AirAsia-AjoDerbi138.4+20.304
7.944Miguel OLIVEIRAPORAndalucia Banca CivicaAprilia138.1+25.905
8.839Luis SALOMSPARW Racing GPAprilia137.0+46.316
9.726Adrian MARTINSPABankia Aspar Team 125ccAprilia137.0+46.395
10.615Simone GROTZKYJITAPhonica RacingAprilia136.8+49.447
11.563Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDINMALAirasia-Sic-AjoDerbi136.7+51.071
12.433Sergio GADEASPABlusens by Paris Hilton RacingAprilia136.2+1’00.365
13.384Jakub KORNFEILCZEOngetta-Centro SetaAprilia136.2+1’00.479
14.231Niklas AJOFINTT Motion Events RacingAprilia135.6+1’11.738
15.152Danny KENTGBRRed Bull Ajo MotorSportAprilia135.5+1’13.752
16.99Danny WEBBGBRMahindra RacingMahindra135.4+1’15.357
17.76Hiroki ONOJPNCaretta TechnologyKTM135.3+1’18.155
18.77Marcel SCHROTTERGERMahindra RacingMahindra134.7+1’27.900
19.30Giulian PEDONESWIPhonica RacingAprilia134.5+1’32.623
20.36Joan PERELLOSPAMatteoni RacingAprilia134.4+1’35.088
21.3Luigi MORCIANOITATeam Italia FMIAprilia133.41 Lap
22.86Kevin HANUSGERTeam HanuschHonda129.81 Lap
23.56Peter SEBESTYENHUNCaretta TechnologyKTM129.21 Lap
24.69Sarath KUMARINDWTR-Ten10 RacingAprilia127.02 Laps
Not Classified
55Hector FAUBELSPABankia Aspar Team 125ccAprilia139.24 Laps
21Harry STAFFORDGBROngetta-Centro SetaAprilia132.65 Laps
53Jasper IWEMANEDOngetta-Abbink MetaalAprilia134.811 Laps
43Francesco MAURIELLOITAWTR-Ten10 RacingAprilia126.815 Laps
96Louis ROSSIFRAMatteoni RacingAprilia133.217 Laps
23Alberto MONCAYOSPAAndalucia Banca CivicaAprilia51.319 Laps