Jerez 125cc MotoGP: Spanish GP Results


125cc MotoGP

Nico Terol led the way to score another 25 points in the 125cc MotoGP Jerez race ahead of Jonas Folger (Red Bull Ajo Motorsport) and Johann Zarco (Ajo Motorsport) in a thrilling Spanish GP.

It looked set to be a Bankia Aspar one two until Héctor Faubel (Bankia Aspar), after battling with his team-mate through out the race, fell on the last lap in his 150th Grand Prix start and eventually finished 11th.

Terol claimed his 11th successive podium with this victory and his seventh win of his 125cc career, finishing a massive 17.446s ahead of second placed man, Folger.

The race got underway in damp, patchy conditions with all the riders starting on wet tires. However it became much tougher with the rain becoming stronger midway through the race leading to many accidents in the difficult conditions.

The 17-year-old Folger took only his second ever rostrum position with second place in a frantic race, ahead of Zarco who joined him on the podium. The Frenchman’s previous best result had been a sixth place. Folger and Zarco had been involved in an intense fight with pole sitter Sandro Cortese (Intact Racing Team Germany) and Efrén Vázquez (Avant-AirAsia-Ajo) and kept their composure to take the podium, whilst Cortese fell in the battle for third place.

The German remounted to finish in sixth. Vázquez suffered a similar fate as he also ended up in the gravel but like Cortese was able to rejoin and eventually finished in ninth.

It was a happy day for two British riders with Danny Kent (Red Bull Ajo Motorsport) and Taylor Mackenzie (Phonica Racing) crossing the line in fourth and fifth. Kent whose previous best result had been 13th, whilst Mackenzie’s had been 18th, were impressive results for relative newcomers to the class.

Jakub Kornfeil (Ongetta-Centro Seta) took seventh position scoring good points ahead of Hiroki Ono (Caretta Technology Forward Team). The Japanese rider’s career best had been 24th after two starts in the 125cc category. Tenth place went to Zulfahmi Khairuddin (AirAsia-SIC-Ajo).

Maverick Viñales (Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing Team) had also been involved in the very exciting and close tussle with Cortese, Zarco and Vázquez but suffered a clutch problem which took him out of the race. The Finn Niklas Ajo (TT Motion Events Racing) crashed out very early on and as the rain fell, followed by 16-year-old Miguel Oliveira (Team Andalucía Banca Cívica) who was in third place at the time he tumbled out at turn.

Spaniard Luis Salom (RW Racing GP), after securing his best qualifying result in sixth place, was another victim of the final turn of the circuit and dropped out whilst in a top 10 position.

2011 125cc MotoGP: Jerez Results

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1. 25 18 Nicolas TEROL SPA Bankia Aspar Team 125cc Aprilia 136.1 44’50.646
2. 20 94 Jonas FOLGER GER Red Bull Ajo MotorSport Aprilia 135.2 +17.446
3. 16 5 Johann ZARCO FRA Avant-AirAsia-Ajo Derbi 134.9 +23.955
4. 13 52 Danny KENT GBR Red Bull Ajo MotorSport Aprilia 134.5 +32.883
5. 11 17 Taylor MACKENZIE GBR Phonica Racing Aprilia 134.4 +34.713
6. 10 11 Sandro CORTESE GER Intact-Racing Team Germany Aprilia 133.6 +51.515
7. 9 84 Jakub KORNFEIL CZE Ongetta-Centro Seta Aprilia 133.4 +54.920
8. 8 76 Hiroki ONO JPN Caretta Technology Forward Team KTM 133.1 +1’00.164
9. 7 7 Efren VAZQUEZ SPA Avant-AirAsia-Ajo Derbi 133.1 +1’00.286
10. 6 63 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN MAL Airasia-Sic-Ajo Derbi 133.1 +1’00.399
11. 5 55 Hector FAUBEL SPA Bankia Aspar Team 125cc Aprilia 133.1 +1’00.760
12. 4 26 Adrian MARTIN SPA Bankia Aspar Team 125cc Aprilia 132.8 +1’07.739
13. 3 77 Marcel SCHROTTER GER Mahindra Racing Mahindra 132.2 +1’19.710
14. 2 96 Louis ROSSI FRA Matteoni Racing Aprilia 132.1 +1’21.812
15. 1 28 Josep RODRIGUEZ SPA Wild Wolf-Racc-MS Aprilia 132.0 +1’23.118
16. 23 Alberto MONCAYO SPA Andalucia Banca Civica Aprilia 132.0 +1’24.040
17. 15 Simone GROTZKYJ ITA Phonica Racing Aprilia 131.7 +1’30.610
18. 21 Harry STAFFORD GBR Ongetta-Centro Seta Aprilia 131.7 +1’30.952
19. 19 Alessandro TONUCCI ITA Team Italia FMI Aprilia 130.5 +1’55.354
20. 3 Luigi MORCIANO ITA Team Italia FMI Aprilia 129.6 1 Lap
21. 34 Daniel RUIZ SPA Larresport Honda 129.5 1 Lap
22. 12 Daniel KARTHEININGER GER Caretta Technology Forward Team KTM 128.9 1 Lap
23. 36 Joan PERELLO SPA Matteoni Racing Aprilia 128.4 1 Lap
24. 86 Kevin HANUS GER Team Hanusch Honda 123.5 2 Laps
Not Classified
25 Maverick VIÑALES SPA Pev-Blusens-SMX-Paris Hilton Aprilia 134.9 8 Laps
33 Sergio GADEA SPA Pev-Blusens-SMX-Paris Hilton Aprilia 134.1 8 Laps
53 Jasper IWEMA NED Ongetta-Abbink Metaal Aprilia 131.5 8 Laps
43 Francesco MAURIELLO ITA WTR-Ten10 Racing Aprilia 130.6 10 Laps
99 Danny WEBB GBR Mahindra Racing Mahindra 132.2 13 Laps
39 Luis SALOM SPA RW Racing GP Aprilia 134.2 14 Laps
30 Giulian PEDONE SWI Phonica Racing Aprilia 118.6 15 Laps
44 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Andalucia Banca Civica Aprilia 133.7 18 Laps
31 Niklas AJO FIN TT Motion Events Racing Aprilia 125.4 21 Laps