WSBK: Phillip Island Post-Race Stats

2011 World Superbike

After doubling at the opening round of the 2011 World Superbike Championship at Phillip Island, Carlos Checa gained 50 points, leading the series as it heads to Donington for the second of 13 rounds.

Only three other riders stood on the podium at both races in Phillip Island: the reigning Champ Max Biaggi, who took second in both rounds on the Alitalia Aprilia RSV-4; Leon Haslam, who took third in Race 1 on the BMW Motorrad S1000RR; and Marco Melandri, who took third in Race 2 on the Yamaha World Superbike YZF-R1.

Following are a list of facts and figures compiled from World Superbike following Sunday’s race in Australia:

2011 World Superbike Phillip Island Race Stats:

• Max Biaggi obtained his best results in Phillip Island with a double podium in second. Max recorded the fastest lap in both races, taking his tally to 1. In SBK history 17 riders have recorded more than 10 fastest laps; Haga leads with 56. Biaggi hasn’t recorded a fastest lap since last year’s Valencia races.
• Carlos Checa scored the double and, having won also last year’s second race, became the third rider in history to post three consecutive wins in Phillip Island after Anthony Gobert (1995-1996) and Troy Corser (2005-2006). Checa showed once more he is able to take full advantage of the pole spot: in his career he started six times from pole, winning four times and retiring in the remaining two (Miller 2010) when he was leading by a huge margin. For the first time in his career Checa is leading the championship: up to now he was able to climb up to second after the 2008 Assen races.
• Marco Melandri became the 106th rider in history to have scored at least one podium place.

2011 World Superbike Phillip Island Qualifying Stats:

• In the last three years, three different bikes scored pole in Phillip Island: Yamaha in 2009, Suzuki in 2010 and Ducati this year.
• Carlos Checa recorded the new lap record, 1’30"882, beating the lap recorded in 2009 by Regis Laconi (1’31"050).
• Max Biaggi missed out on pole by only 0"013 (tenth smallest margin in history). Since his last pole in Monza last year, Biaggi qualified second four times.
• Tenth front row start for Leon Haslam.

2011 World Supersport Phillip Island Stats:

• Maiden pole position for David Salom, the tenth for Kawasaki.
• maiden win in Supersport for Luca Scassa at his debut in this category.
• after three straight years, Honda didn’t manage to win in Phillip Island: the last win from Yamaha here dated back 2000.