Motorcycle Racing News Phillip Island & World Superbike: 21 Years

Phillip Island & World Superbike: 21 Years

2011 WSBK

When the 2011 World Superbike Championship begins on Feb. 27 at Phillip Island, Australia, the marriage of track and series will be celebrating their 21st anniversary.

World Superbike began racing at Phillip Island, and has been there every year since but 1993. This makes Phillip Island the longest-running event in WSBK Championship history.

Australians will enjoy loads of motorcycle racing there, considering the track is hosting a 12-race program, which includes World Superbike, World Supersport and the Australian domestic championship races.

When the 2011 WSBK season kicks off, five Australians will be competing at their home track. Troy Corser will be competing on the BMW Motorrad S1000RR; he has been racing on the track for 17 years, and has five wins there, the last while competing on a Suzuki in 2005.

Chris Vermeulen will race on the Kawasaki Racing Team ZX-10R. This will be his first official return to WSBK since missing most of last season. Vermeulen injured his knee at Phillip Island last year, and missed the following two races.

He then re-injured the knee at Round 9 in Brno, and missed the remaining of the 13 races.

The Italian Kawasaki Pedercini Team will field two riders, Mark Aitchison and Bryan Staring. Another Aussie will be former national Australian Superbike Champion Josh Waters on the Yoshimura Suzuki.

In World Supersport, Kawasaki Provec’s Broc Parkes and Honda KUJA Racing’s Mitchell Pirotta will be racing at home.

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Cardo Packtalk Black and Prototype Headset Review: Racing Intercom

Cardo has been well known for its high-quality helmet-to-helmet communication systems for over a decade. Cardo uses Bluetooth technology in both is Packtalk and...

2021 Husqvarna FC 450 Rockstar Edition First Look (8 Fast Facts)

The triumvirate of 2020 AMA 450MX National Champion Zach Osborne, 2018 AMA Supercross Champion Jason Anderson, and Dean Wilson will all be racing motorcycle...

Shoei RF-1400 First Look: New Motorcycle Helmet

The folks at Shoei made the best of our pandemic situation with their unique launch of the new Shoei RF-1400. They shipped us the...

2021 Ducati Monster First Look [13 Fast Facts + Specs]

Amid these unique times when OEMs are usually launching their lineups at EICMA, Ducati spent the past five Wednesdays releasing new models. Many, like the...

2021 Ducati Monster Lineup First Look: 4 Models; 2 All-New

There’s a big shakeup in the Ducati Monster lineup for 2021. Say goodbye to the 797, 821, and 821 Stealth. Those three models are...

2020 Ducati Monster 821 Stealth Review (15 Fast Facts)

Upgraded in 2018, the Ducati Monster 821 was joined by a Stealth version in 2019. Not merely a matte black extravaganza with exclusive graphics,...