Motorcycle Racing News Supersport: 16 Nations, No Americans

Supersport: 16 Nations, No Americans

World Supersport

The 2011 World Supersport grid will feature riders from 16 different nationalities, but no Americans. There has always been a high-level of global interest in the series, and this year 29 World Supersport riders from various countries will compete at 12 rounds (WSS will not run at the US round of World Superbike at Miller Motorsports Park).

Italy has the highest number of World Supersport competitors with seven, and the UK has four. Two riders each will represent France (Florian Marino and Fabien Foret), Australia (Broc Parkes and Mitchell Pirotta), Hungary (Balasz Nemeth and Imre Toth) and there is even a pair from Russia, thanks to Eduard Blokhin and Oleg Pozdneev, from the RivaMoto team.

WSBK says Spain has a high level representative in David Salom, and other countries with one World Supersport rider on the grid include Portugal (Miguel Praia), Denmark (Robbin Harms), the Czech Republic (Ondrej Jezek), South Africa (Ronan Quarmby), Switzerland (Bastien Chesaux) and Sweden (Alexander Lundh).

A high level of interest in World Supersport from Eastern Europe means that there will be riders from Poland (Pawel Szkopek), Slovenia (Marko Jerman) and Ukraine, with Vladimir Ivanov flying his national flag on a Honda in the Step Racing Team.

2011 World Supersport Entry List

(4) Gino Rea GBR (Honda CBR600RR) Step Racing Team
(5) Alexander Lundh SWE (Honda CBR600RR) Cresto Guide Racing Team
(7) Chaz Davies GBR (Yamaha YZF R6) Yamaha ParkinGO Team
(8) Bastien Chesaux SUI (Honda CBR600RR) MACH – Moto Academy Swiss
(9) Luca Scassa ITA (Yamaha YZF R6) Yamaha ParkinGO Team
(10) Imre Toth HUN (Honda CBR600RR) Team Hungary Toth
(11) Sam Lowes GBR (Honda CBR600RR) Parkalgar Honda
(19) Mitchell Pirotta AUS (Honda CBR600RR) KUJA Racing
(21) Florian Marino FRA (Honda CBR600RR) Hannspree Ten Kate Honda
(22) Roberto Tamburini ITA (Yamaha YZF R6) Bike Service R.T.
(23) Broc Parkes AUS (Kawasaki ZX-6R) Kawasaki
(24) Eduard Blokhin RUS (Yamaha YZF R6) RivaMoto
(25) Marko Jerman SLO (Triumph Daytona 675) MD Team Jerman
(28) Pawel Szkopek POL (Honda CBR600RR) Bogdanka PTR Honda
(31) Vittorio Iannuzzo ITA (Kawasaki ZX-6R) Lorenzini by Leoni
(34) Ronan Quarmby RSA (Triumph Daytona 675) Suriano Racing Team
(38) Balazs Nemeth HUN (Honda CBR600RR) Team Hungary Toth
(44) David Salom ESP (Kawasaki ZX-6R) Kawasaki
(52) Michele Conti ITA (Honda CBR600RR) KUJA Racing
(55) Massimo Roccoli ITA (Kawasaki ZX-6R) Lorenzini by Leoni
(60) Vladimir Ivanov UKR (Honda CBR600RR) Step Racing Team
(69) Ondrej Jezek CZE (Honda CBR600RR) SMS Racing
(73) Oleg Pozdneev RUS (Yamaha YZF R6) RivaMoto
(77) James Ellison GBR (Honda CBR600RR) Bogdanka PTR Honda
(87) Luca Marconi ITA (Yamaha YZF R6) Bike Service R.T.
(91) Danilo Dell’Omo ITA (Triumph Daytona 675) Suriano Racing Team
(99) Fabien Foret FRA (Honda CBR600RR) Hannspree Ten Kate Honda
(117) Miguel Praia POR (Honda CBR600RR) Parkalgar Honda
(127) Robbin Harms DEN (Honda CBR600RR ) Benjan Racing Team

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 KTM 350 XC-F Kailub Russell Edition First Look (12 Fast Facts)

KTM continues its tradition of special edition motorcycles to honor championship-winning riders. The good news is that buyers get a chance to own a...

2021 BMW R 18 Classic First Look: Touring Motorcycle (9 Fast Facts)

Hot on the heels of the 2021 BMW R 18 First Edition comes the 2021 BMW R 18 Classic. BMW goes for the touring...

2021 Yamaha YZ250F Review (13 First Ride Fast Facts)

We rode the new, upgraded 2021 Yamaha YZ250F at Glen Helen Raceway for a first ride impression. We were fans of the previous YZ250F, so...

2021 Monster Energy Supercross Schedule (Super Tuesdays and more)

The 2021 Monster Energy Supercross schedule is now public. Due to the government responses to the COVID-19 pandemic, the schedule is unlike any seen...

2021 Yamaha MT-09 First Look and All-New (18 Fast Facts)

All-new from the ground-up this year, the 2021 Yamaha MT-09 gets a new motor and chassis, along with a full suite of electronics. Let's...

2020 Yamaha Super Ténéré 1200 ES Adventure-Touring Test

The Yamaha Super Ténéré story begins with the TT500 off-road enduro machine released in 1975, and the XT500 dual-sport model the following year. These...