Valencia 125cc MotoGP: Sunday Results

125cc MotoGP Valencia

Fourth position for Marc Marquez was more than enough for the 17 year-old to be confirmed as the deserved 2010 125cc World Champion after a mature ride from the Red Bull Ajo Motorsport rider in the GP Generali de la Comunitat Valenciana on Sunday.

Victory was taken by Bradley Smith as he won his first race of the season in the final round, cruising across the finish line 2.786 seconds clear in his last 125cc ride before graduating to the Moto2 class next season.

Taking a 17-point lead into the race Marquez knew that a calm and measured approach would be the key to wrapping up his first title, and immediately after the start of the race the order settled.

Smith took the lead, with Nico Terol (Bancaja Aspar) – Márquez’s only title rival in the final round – and Márquez following behind.

A poor start from Pol Espargaro (Tuenti Racing) was recovered well by the Spaniard as he slowly climbed back up the order having dropped as low as 11th on the opening lap, and as the race progressed Marquez allowed him through and into third, avoiding any potential mishaps to his title hopes.

With two laps to go Espargaro went through on Terol and the duo swapped positions once again, all the while Smith leading comfortably at the front.

The Brit took the chequered flag almost three seconds clear for his first win of 2010, thus breaking what had stretched to a 26-race winning streak in the category for Spanish riders. Espargaro signed off from the class with second position – his 12th podium of the year – with Terol crossing the line in third.

Marquez, at just over five seconds back, took fourth position to end the year on 310 points having won ten races, taken 12 podiums and 12 poles in the process.

Completing the top ten were Sandro Cortese (Avant Mitsubishi Ajo), Esteve Rabat (Blusens-STX), Tomoyoshi Koyama (Racing Team Germany) – in his 100th GP – Efrén Vázquez (Tuenti Racing), Randy Krummenacher (Stipa-Molenaar Racing) and Luis Salom (Stipa-Molenaar Racing).

Riders suffering final-race disappointment in not finishing included Johann Zarco (WTR San Marino Team) who crashed out, whilst young Brit Danny Kent (Lambretta Reparto Corse) was forced to retire with a mechanical problem. Danny Webb (Andalucia Cajasol) lost an exhaust towards the end and finished 16th.

2010 125cc MotoGP Valencia Results:

1.2538Bradley SMITHGBRBancaja Aspar TeamAprilia142.740’25.648
2.2044Pol ESPARGAROSPATuenti RacingDerbi142.5+2.786
3.1640Nicolas TEROLSPABancaja Aspar TeamAprilia142.5+3.149
4.1393Marc MARQUEZSPARed Bull Ajo MotorsportDerbi142.2+8.326
5.1111Sandro CORTESEGERAvant Mitsubishi AjoDerbi141.2+24.375
6.1012Esteve RABATSPABlusens-STXAprilia141.1+26.743
7.971Tomoyoshi KOYAMAJPNRacing Team GermanyAprilia141.1+26.823
8.87Efren VAZQUEZSPATuenti RacingDerbi141.0+27.634
9.735Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIStipa-Molenaar Racing GPAprilia140.3+41.211
10.639Luis SALOMSPAStipa-Molenaar Racing GPAprilia140.3+41.279
11.523Alberto MONCAYOSPAAndalucia CajasolAprilia139.1+1’02.540
12.478Marcel SCHROTTERGERInterwetten Honda 125Honda139.0+1’02.999
13.355Isaac VIÑALESSPACBC CorseAprilia138.7+1’08.522
14.215Simone GROTZKYJITAFontana RacingAprilia138.7+1’08.798
15.184Jakub KORNFEILCZERacing Team GermanyAprilia137.8+1’24.798
16.99Danny WEBBGBRAndalucia CajasolAprilia137.7+1’27.614
17.56Peter SEBESTYENHUNOngetta TeamAprilia137.1+1’38.939
18.58Joan PERELLOSPASAG CastrolHonda137.0+1’39.356
19.32Lorenzo SAVADORIITAMatteoni RacingAprilia137.0+1’40.387
20.63Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDINMALAirAsia – Sepang Int. CircuitAprilia136.41 Lap
21.73Taylor MACKENZIEGBRKRP MMCGHonda135.91 Lap
22.70John McPHEEGBRKRP Bradley Smith RacingHonda135.51 Lap
Not Classified
50Sturla FAGERHAUGNORAirAsia – Sepang Int. CircuitAprilia137.01 Lap
31Niklas AJOFINMonlau CompeticionDerbi138.23 Laps
72Marco RAVAIOLIITALambretta Reparto CorseLambretta135.44 Laps
14Johann ZARCOFRAWTR San Marino TeamAprilia138.85 Laps
59Johnny ROSELLSPASAG CastrolHonda135.15 Laps
52Danny KENTGBRLambretta Reparto CorseLambretta135.99 Laps
69Louis ROSSIFRACBC CorseAprilia129.012 Laps
94Jonas FOLGERGEROngetta TeamAprilia136.014 Laps
96Tommaso GABRIELLIITAOngetta TeamAprilia93.814 Laps
26Adrian MARTINSPAAeroport de Castello – AjoAprilia136.019 Laps



Previous articleItaly: The Vespa and the Movies
Next article2011 Bramo Enertia Plus | Preview
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007 and is currently Editor at Large at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of 365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).