Estoril 125cc MotoGP: Portugal Results

Portuguese 125cc GP

Marc Marquez opened up a 17-point lead at the top of the 125cc World Championship over Nico Terol with just a single round remaining thanks to his tenth win of the season at Estoril on Sunday, which came in amazing circumstances at the bwin Grande Premio de Portugal.

Finishing ahead of title rivals Terol (who placed second) and Pol Espargaró (tenth), the Red Bull Ajo Motorsport 125cc rider came from the back of the grid to record what will be looked back upon as one the definitive performances of his fledgling career.

The original race was red flagged with 16 laps remaining as rain began to fall, and with the leading four being Terol, Marquez, Smith and Espargaró at the time that was determined as the starting grid for the rescheduled nine-lap race, which was declared wet.

Just when it appeared the drama and pressure could not intensify a crash for Marquez on the sighting lap added to the already tense atmosphere, and unable to retake his place on the starting grid in time the 17 year-old was relegated to the back of the 16 other riders who re-started the second part of the race.

That did little to hinder him as he rose to fourth position immediately and before long he was hunting down Terol. The Bancaja Aspar rider’s team-mate Bradley Smith did his best to aid his colleague, but after what he had been through Márquez was in no mood to be held back and overtook the Brit to set up a showdown with Terol.

On the final 125cc lap the pair swapped the lead a number of times, Marquez eventually getting his nose in front and crossing the line 0.150s ahead of Terol, with Smith taking third place. Jonas Folger (Team Ongetta), Luis Salom (Stipa-Molenaar Racing) and Alberto Moncayo (Andalucia Cajasol) completed the top six with Espargaró’s title hopes ended after he finished tenth, a gamble from his Tuenti Racing team on putting wet tires on his Derbi machine failing to pay off. Brit Danny Webb (Andalucia Cajasol) placed ninth.

In the original 125cc race crashes on the opening lap resulted in a fractured left collarbone for Luca Marconi (Team Ongetta) and an injury to the right shoulder for Jasper Iwema (CBC Corse). Sandro Cortese (Avant Mitsubishi Ajo), Adrián Martín (Team Aeroport de Castelló), Danny Kent (Lambretta Reparto Corse), Louis Rossi (CBC Corse), Simone Grotzkyj (Fontana Racing) and Esteve Rabat (Blusens-STX) all experienced crashes that meant they were unable to re-start the second part of the race.

Marquez is still on course to equal Valentino Rossi’s 125cc record of the most victories in a single season (11 in 1997).

2010 Estoril 125cc: Portugal Results

1.2540Nicolas TEROLSPABancaja Aspar TeamAprilia136.811’00.392
2.2093Marc MARQUEZSPARed Bull Ajo MotorsportDerbi136.8+0.038
3.1638Bradley SMITHGBRBancaja Aspar TeamAprilia135.8+4.566
4.1344Pol ESPARGAROSPATuenti RacingDerbi133.0+18.603
5.1123Alberto MONCAYOSPAAndalucia CajasolAprilia132.8+19.647
6.1039Luis SALOMSPAStipa-Molenaar Racing GPAprilia132.6+21.036
7.935Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIStipa-Molenaar Racing GPAprilia132.1+23.457
8.894Jonas FOLGERGEROngetta TeamAprilia131.9+24.366
9.799Danny WEBBGBRAndalucia CajasolAprilia130.7+30.860
10.684Jakub KORNFEILCZERacing Team GermanyAprilia129.4+37.799
11.595Alessandro TONUCCIITAJunior GP Racing Team FMIAprilia128.2+44.269
12.492Luigi MORCIANOITAJunior GP Racing Team FMIAprilia126.7+52.685
13.337Robin BARBOSAFRAH43/Hernandez RacingAprilia126.7+52.796
14.263Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDINMALAirAsia – Sepang Int. CircuitAprilia125.7+58.006
15.115Simone GROTZKYJITAFontana RacingAprilia123.4+1’11.695
16. 7Efren VAZQUEZSPATuenti RacingDerbi121.8+1’20.970
Not Classified
  12Esteve RABATSPABlusens-STXAprilia132.02 Laps
  26Adrian MARTINSPAAeroport de Castello – AjoAprilia89.53 Laps
  78Marcel SCHROTTERGERInterwetten Honda 125Honda129.04 Laps
  50Sturla FAGERHAUGNORAirAsia – Sepang Int. CircuitAprilia126.94 Laps
  14Johann ZARCOFRAWTR San Marino TeamAprilia120.74 Laps
  71Tomoyoshi KOYAMAJPNRacing Team GermanyAprilia45.04 Laps
  11Sandro CORTESEGERAvant Mitsubishi AjoDerbi126.45 Laps
  52Danny KENTGBRLambretta Reparto CorseLambretta123.75 Laps
  69Louis ROSSIFRACBC CorseAprilia123.35 Laps
Not Starting
  53Jasper IWEMANEDCBC CorseAprilia 0 Lap
  87Luca MARCONIITAOngetta TeamAprilia 0 Lap
  32Lorenzo SAVADORIITAMatteoni RacingAprilia 0 Lap