Portuguese 125cc MotoGP: Friday Results

Estoril MotoGP

Alberto Moncayo set the quickest lap in the second 125cc practice session as the weather continued to make it difficult for the riders to gain a foothold in their preparations for Sunday’s Portugal Grand Prix at Estoril.

The Andalucia Cajasol rider’s time of 2’05.490 was just over five seconds off Bradley Smith’s effort from the morning 125cc session, as he led Johann Zarco (WTR San Marino Team) by a little over a full second in the FP2 timings.

With the track still wet there were again a number of falls during the 40-minute session, with title chasers Marc Márquez (Red Bull Ajo Motorsport) and Pol Espargaró (Tuenti Racing) both going down – the former having completed just two laps and not returning to the track for the remainder.

Both escaped injury as their bikes took the impacts.

Nico Terol (Bancaja Aspar) – the third rider still in contention for the title – Esteve Rabat (Blusens-STX) and Espargaró completed a top five which was spread across a gap of 1.655s, with the morning session’s fastest Smith placing sixth but remaining the quickest of the day.

Those 125cc riders experiencing the perils of the wet also included Randy Krummenacher (Stipa-Molenaar Racing), Simone Grotzkyj (Fontana Racing), Danny Kent (Lambretta Reparto Corse), Danny Webb (Andalucia Cajasol), Efrén Vázquez (Tuenti Racing) and Zarco as the conditions remained hazardous.

2010 125cc MotoGP: Friday Free Practice 2 Results:

Pos.Num.RiderNationTeamBikeKm/hTimeGap 1st/Prev.
1.23Alberto MONCAYOSPAAndalucia CajasolAprilia223.52’05.490 
2.14Johann ZARCOFRAWTR San Marino TeamAprilia223.22’06.5531.063 / 1.063
3.40Nicolas TEROLSPABancaja Aspar TeamAprilia228.12’06.7871.297 / 0.234
4.12Esteve RABATSPABlusens-STXAprilia226.42’07.0911.601 / 0.304
5.44Pol ESPARGAROSPATuenti RacingDerbi227.02’07.1451.655 / 0.054
6.38Bradley SMITHGBRBancaja Aspar TeamAprilia226.52’07.2551.765 / 0.110
7.99Danny WEBBGBRAndalucia CajasolAprilia226.22’07.4101.920 / 0.155
8.7Efren VAZQUEZSPATuenti RacingDerbi222.22’08.6593.169 / 1.249
9.11Sandro CORTESEGERAvant Mitsubishi AjoDerbi223.22’08.6943.204 / 0.035
10.32Lorenzo SAVADORIITAMatteoni RacingAprilia211.22’09.1053.615 / 0.411
11.39Luis SALOMSPAStipa-Molenaar Racing GPAprilia223.82’09.8804.390 / 0.775
12.71Tomoyoshi KOYAMAJPNRacing Team GermanyAprilia220.62’09.8974.407 / 0.017
13.15Simone GROTZKYJITAFontana RacingAprilia223.92’09.9184.428 / 0.021
14.53Jasper IWEMANEDCBC CorseAprilia224.82’09.9464.456 / 0.028
15.35Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIStipa-Molenaar Racing GPAprilia218.92’10.1334.643 / 0.187
16.50Sturla FAGERHAUGNORAirAsia – Sepang Int. CircuitAprilia216.32’10.2744.784 / 0.141
17.78Marcel SCHROTTERGERInterwetten Honda 125Honda218.92’10.6455.155 / 0.371
18.84Jakub KORNFEILCZERacing Team GermanyAprilia219.52’10.9935.503 / 0.348
19.26Adrian MARTINSPAAeroport de Castello – AjoAprilia221.22’11.9686.478 / 0.975
20.87Luca MARCONIITAOngetta TeamAprilia215.92’12.1346.644 / 0.166
21.52Danny KENTGBRLambretta Reparto CorseLambretta217.52’12.2456.755 / 0.111
22.94Jonas FOLGERGEROngetta TeamAprilia222.02’12.3426.852 / 0.097
23.69Louis ROSSIFRACBC CorseAprilia219.22’12.4266.936 / 0.084
24.37Robin BARBOSAFRAH43/Hernandez RacingAprilia215.02’14.2738.783 / 1.847
 63Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDINMALAirAsia – Sepang Int. CircuitAprilia214.82’15.65010.160 / 1.377
 92Luigi MORCIANOITAJunior GP Racing Team FMIAprilia214.62’17.26611.776 / 1.616
 96Tommaso GABRIELLIITAOngetta TeamAprilia214.12’17.85512.365 / 0.589
 72Marco RAVAIOLIITALambretta Reparto CorseLambretta203.32’19.20713.717 / 1.352
 95Alessandro TONUCCIITAJunior GP Racing Team FMIAprilia210.22’19.79214.302 / 0.585
 93Marc MARQUEZSPARed Bull Ajo MotorsportDerbi178.63’53.7921’48.302 / 1’34.000