Italy & Biaggi Join World Superbike History

WSBK Champion Biaggi News

In winning the World Superbike championship for Italy in 2010, Max Biaggi became the first rider from that country to lift the prestigious trophy – a fact that has been well publicized ever since.

With Biaggi, Italy has now become only the fifth nation to have produced a full World Superbike champion, and only the second non-English speaking country, after France, to produce a series winner in the WSBK category.

In fact, in the 23-year history of the Superbike World Championship, Biaggi and Raymond Roche (in 1990) are the only riders from outside the USA, Great Britain and Australia to have produced a WSBK champion, despite strong challenges coming from all points of the compass in each season.

Leading the tally of championship glory is America, which has produced six World Champions (Fred Merkel, Doug Polen, Scott Russell, John Kocinski, Colin Edwards and Ben Spies) who have shared nine individual world championships between them.

Britain has seven World Championship wins, split between three riders (Carl Fogarty, Neil Hodgson and James Toseland) and Australia five titles, shared between only two riders (Troy Corser and Troy Bayliss).

In terms of individual race wins, we have a remarkable tie at the top of the stats table, with Australia and the USA each having 118 race victories each. Britain is third with 110, Italy fourth with 73 and Japan fifth, on 62.

Australia and Britain tie on the number of individual riders who have won at least one WSBK race – eleven. Japan, thanks to a multitude of wildcards as well as regular riders, has ten race winners in total.

America and Italy each have nine riders who have scored at least one victory. Riders from no less than 42 individual countries have competed in Superbike World Championship races, and the new running total of individual riders who have raced in WSBK at least once is 927.