Superbike: Biaggi & Aprilia For Two More

World SBK

The man who took the World Superbike Championship aboard the Aprilia RSV4, which won the 2010 WSBK Manufacturer’s Title, has resigned with the Italian manufacturer for 2011 and 2012, it was confirmed on Monday.

Piloting the Aprilia RSV4, Max Biaggi won 10 out of 26 Superbike races, which included four double wins at Portimao, Monza, Miller and Misano, and four other podium finishes.

Biaggi, who was the first Italian in history to take a Superbike title, gave Aprilia the title in just its second year of World Superbike competition (during Aprilia’s debut year in 2009 when the rookie Ben Spies took the title, Biaggi finished a respectable fourth overall).

This year was Biaggi’s seventh competing on an Aprilia. While racing in the former 250cc Class of MotoGP, Biaggi took three consecutive titles (1994-96). He also won the ’97 250 Championship, but aboard a Honda.

With Biaggi’s 2010 Superbike title, Aprilia now has 45 world titles, and with 277 victories across all classes of MotoGP, the Noale manufacturer is the most victorious name in the history of the series.

Max Biaggi says: “”I’m obviously very happy to be continuing this winning adventure in World Superbike with Aprilia. After an exciting but tiring season, after many years of racing and many victories, it was only natural and right to stop and think, to reflect on such an important future commitment.”

And in my considerations a very decisive factor was, as it was at the beginning of this adventure with Aprilia, the fact that I feel so close to a team and a company which is so capable and so focused on the sports objective. Now we need to prepare as best as we can for next season.”

“We are well aware that we cannot rest on our laurels and that we will be in all of our rivals’ sights. But now I am also sure that we will be highly motivated at the start of the first race, with a bike which I have brought up and which I did not want to abandon, ready to die hard… extremely hard.”

Max Biaggi & Aprilia Official WSBK Stats:

Year Poles Races Podiums Wins Seconds Thirds F.Laps Pos
2010 Superbike 2 26 14 10 2 2 2 1
2009 Superbike 28 9 1 4 4 1 4