Motorcycle Racing News Phillip Island 125 MotoGP: Results

Phillip Island 125 MotoGP: Results


Australia MotoGP

In the 125cc class Marc Márquez’s ninth win of the season stretched the Red Bull Ajo Motorsport rider’s lead at the top of the World Championship standings to 12 points as he triumphed from pole position.

The 17-year-old also equalled Jorge Martínez’s 1988 record as the Spanish rider with the most wins in the category in a single season as he strengthened his title charge with just two rounds remaining.

Taking the chequered flag 6.062s clear of the rest of the field having opened up an early lead Márquez finished well ahead of title rivals Pol Espargaró and Nico Terol (Bancaja Aspar), who had competed closely for the remaining two podium positions during the race.

Espargaró eventually finished just over five seconds clear of Terol however as the Tuenti Racing rider put in a strong final stage of the race.

The round 15 result leaves Márquez on 272 points at the top of the standings, with Terol now on 260 and Espargaró on 255 with the Estoril and Valencia rounds to go.

In a tight battle for fourth position which required a video finish between Efrén Vázquez and Bradley Smith (Bancaja Aspar) the Tuenti Racing edged his British competitor, with Esteve Rabat (Blusens-STX) close behind in sixth.

Tomoyoshi Koyama (Racing Team Germany), Luis Salom (Stipa-Molenaar Racing), Randy Krummenacher (Stipa-Molenaar Racing) and Danny Webb (Andalucia Cajasol) all secured top-ten finishes. Unfortunately for front-row starter Sandro Cortese (Avant Mitsubishi Ajo) his race ended early with a crash.

2010 125cc MotoGP Results: Phillip Island, Australia

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1. 25 93 Marc MARQUEZ SPA Red Bull Ajo Motorsport Derbi 160.6 38’13.008
2. 20 44 Pol ESPARGARO SPA Tuenti Racing Derbi 160.2 +6.062
3. 16 40 Nicolas TEROL SPA Bancaja Aspar Team Aprilia 159.8 +11.576
4. 13 7 Efren VAZQUEZ SPA Tuenti Racing Derbi 159.3 +19.032
5. 11 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Bancaja Aspar Team Aprilia 159.3 +19.033
6. 10 12 Esteve RABAT SPA Blusens-STX Aprilia 159.2 +20.593
7. .9 71 Tomoyoshi KOYAMA JPN Racing Team Germany Aprilia 158.4 +31.519
8. 8 39 Luis SALOM SPA Stipa-Molenaar Racing GP Aprilia 157.4 +46.598
9. 7 35 Randy KRUMMENACHER SWI Stipa-Molenaar Racing GP Aprilia 157.3 +48.730
10. 6 99 Danny WEBB GBR Andalucia Cajasol Aprilia 156.6 +58.456
11. 5 26 Adrian MARTIN SPA Aeroport de Castello – Ajo Aprilia 155.5 +1’15.857
12. 4 50 Sturla FAGERHAUG NOR AirAsia – Sepang Int. Circuit Aprilia 155.2 +1’19.506
13. 3 78 Marcel SCHROTTER GER Interwetten Honda 125 Honda 155.2 +1’19.540
14. 2 84 Jakub KORNFEIL CZE Racing Team Germany Aprilia 155.2 +1’19.543
15. 1 15 Simone GROTZKYJ ITA Fontana Racing Aprilia 154.4 +1’32.122
16. 53 Jasper IWEMA NED CBC Corse Aprilia 153.8 +1’42.366
17. 69 Louis ROSSI FRA CBC Corse Aprilia 152.9 1 Lap
18. 46 Joshua HOOK AUS Hook Aprilia 152.2 1 Lap
19. 87 Luca MARCONI ITA Ongetta Team Aprilia 152.1 1 Lap
20. 57 Joel TAYLOR AUS BRP Racing Aprilia 151.8 1 Lap
21. 52 Danny KENT GBR Lambretta Reparto Corse Lambretta 151.4 1 Lap
Not Classified
32 Lorenzo SAVADORI ITA Matteoni Racing Aprilia 151.5 20 Laps
11 Sandro CORTESE GER Avant Mitsubishi Ajo Derbi 151.8 21 Laps
Not Starting
14 Johann ZARCO FRA WTR San Marino Team Aprilia 0 Lap
23 Alberto MONCAYO SPA Andalucia Cajasol Aprilia 0 Lap


Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Indian Chieftain Lineup First Look: 3 Big-Inch Baggers

There are three baggers in the 2021 Indian Chieftain lineup, with just a few changes to the motorcycles this year. There are new colors,...

2021 GasGas Trial Lineup First Look (8 Fast Facts: 3 TXT Racing Models)

The first GasGas motorcycles of the Pierer Mobility AG and Bajaj Auto era have arrived. Those who were expecting wholesale redesigns of the line...

Lieback’s Lounge: This Will All Pass [Thoughts on Simic and Motorcycles]

There is a menace in the air Of tragedies in the making. These lines are from "Late September," written by the American minimalist poet Charles Simic....

Racing Classic Motorcycles: First You Have to Finish by Andy Reynolds [Review]

Author Andy Reynolds’ new book, Racing Classic Motorcycles: First You Have to Finish, is about a man livin’ the classic motorcycle racing dream—with some...

2021 BMW R 18 Test: City and Country Life with the Big Boxer

Let's say we hop into Mr. Peabody's WABAC Machine and set the date for October 1936 and Berlin as a location. With us, we...

Harley-Davidson Tremont Shoes Review: Urban Motorcycle Footwear

In the on-going debate over how much protection is enough, the correct answer for each of us comes from within. Some riders would never...