Motorcycle Racing News Malaysia MotoGP: Final Race Results

Malaysia MotoGP: Final Race Results

Sepang MotoGP

Jorge Lorenzo was confirmed as the 2010 FIM MotoGP World Champion on Sunday at Sepang, as the 23 year-old Fiat Yamaha rider rode to a third place finish in the Shell Advance Malaysian Motorcycle Grand Prix.

It was a thrilling race that was won by Valentino Rossi, as the Italian took his first victory since the season opener in Qatar, on a day on which his great rival and current teammate celebrated his first premier class title.

Pole sitter Lorenzo got off to a fantastic start and led into turn one as the race got underway, but Rossi’s getaway from the starting grid was not so swift and he had dropped as low as 11th on the opening lap.

Casey Stoner (Ducati Team) suffered a huge disappointment when he crashed out of the race on the opening lap.

Andrea Dovizioso (Repsol Honda) stuck with Lorenzo and the pair established a slight gap at the front, but by only the third lap Rossi had recovered to fourth position as he set his sights on the leaders.

Soon he was into third and closing quickly on Dovizioso.

Rossi was repeatedly laying down fast laps as he homed in on the leading duo and, just past the midway point of the race, the Italian took the lead, having first passed Lorenzo and then Dovizioso. The two Italians swapped first position again in what was a thrilling fight to the end.

Rossi was not to be denied his second win of the season however and crossed the line 0.224s ahead of Dovizioso, with Lorenzo in third and cementing the 2010 title with his 13th podium of the season as the celebrations started.

Ben Spies (Monster Yamaha Tech 3) took fourth position with rookie Álvaro Bautista (Rizla Suzuki) equalling his season’s best result in fifth. Nicky Hayden (Ducati Team) and Hiroshi Aoyama (Interwetten Honda MotoGP) followed, with Marco Simoncelli (San Carlo Honda Gresini) eighth having battled closely with former 250cc rival Aoyama.

Marco Melandri (San Carlo Honda Gresini) and Randy de Puniet (LCR Honda) completed the top ten.

MotoGP Results | Sepang, Sunday, October 10, 2010

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Fiat Yamaha Team Yamaha 162.2 41’03.448
2 20 4 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Repsol Honda Team Honda 162.1 +0.224
3 16 99 Jorge LORENZO SPA Fiat Yamaha Team Yamaha 161.8 +6.035
4 13 11 Ben SPIES USA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 161.3 +13.676
5 11 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA SPA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP Suzuki 161.1 +15.402
6 10 69 Nicky HAYDEN USA Ducati Team Ducati 160.9 +18.826
7 9 7 Hiroshi AOYAMA JPN Interwetten Honda MotoGP Honda 160.8 +20.218
8 8 58 Marco SIMONCELLI ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini Honda 160.6 +23.574
9 7 33 Marco MELANDRI ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini Honda 160.6 +23.964
10 6 14 Randy DE PUNIET FRA LCR Honda MotoGP Honda 160.1 +31.850
11 5 40 Hector BARBERA SPA Paginas Amarillas Aspar Ducati 159.7 +38.579
12 4 36 Mika KALLIO FIN Pramac Racing Team Ducati 159.6 +38.849
    5 Colin EDWARDS USA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 111.0 6 Laps
Not Classified
    41 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Pramac Racing Team Ducati 158.3 14 Laps
    65 Loris CAPIROSSI ITA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP Suzuki 158.0 16 Laps
Not Starting
    27 Casey STONER AUS Ducati Team Ducati   0 Lap

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Indian Challenger Lineup First Look: Photos, Prices, and Colors

The performance-oriented Challenger bagger lineup from Indian returns for 2021, with three models to choose from. All three 2021 Indian Challenger models get the...

2021 GasGas Motocross Lineup First Look (Specs and Photos)

When under Spanish ownership, GasGas was never known as a motocross brand. However, under the guidance of Pierer Mobility AG and Bajaj Auto—the owners...

2021 Indian Chieftain Lineup First Look: 3 Big-Inch Baggers

There are three baggers in the 2021 Indian Chieftain lineup, with just a few changes to the motorcycles this year. There are new colors,...

2021 GasGas Trial Lineup First Look (8 Fast Facts: 3 TXT Racing Models)

The first GasGas motorcycles of the Pierer Mobility AG and Bajaj Auto era have arrived. Those who were expecting wholesale redesigns of the line...

Lieback’s Lounge: This Will All Pass [Thoughts on Simic and Motorcycles]

There is a menace in the air Of tragedies in the making. These lines are from "Late September," written by the American minimalist poet Charles Simic....

Racing Classic Motorcycles: First You Have to Finish by Andy Reynolds [Review]

Author Andy Reynolds’ new book, Racing Classic Motorcycles: First You Have to Finish, is about a man livin’ the classic motorcycle racing dream—with some...