Malaysia 125cc MotoGP: Qualifying Results


Sepang 125 GP

Marc Márquez’s tenth pole position of the season was secured in the 125cc session as the Red Bull Ajo Motorsport rider laid down a best lap of 2’13.398 at Sepang for the Malaysian Grand Prix.

The 17 year-old, who trails Championship leader Nico Terol by just six points going into Sunday’s race, was 0.293s faster than second placed Bradley Smith.

The British rider had looked to be on course for his third pole of the campaign as he led towards the climax of the session, but Márquez first posted a time just five-thousandths of a second better than that of the Bancaja Aspar man before improving to end up almost three-tenths clear.

Smith’s team-mate Terol was third at 0.706s off Márquez’s time with Pol Espargaró (Tuenti Racing) completing a familiar-looking front row of the grid for Sunday’s race.

Efrén Vázquez (Tuenti Racing), Sandro Cortese (Avant Mitsubishi Ajo), Esteve Rabat (Blusens-STX) and Luis Salom (Stipa-Molenaar Racing) secured second-row berths, with Tomoyoshi Koyama (Racing Team Germany), Randy Krummenacher (Stipa-Molenaar Racing), Johann Zarco (WTR San Marino Team) and Danny Webb (Andalucia Cajasol) making up the third line of the grid.

Young Brit Danny Kent (Lambretta Reparto Corse), in only his third GP this season, qualified in an impressive 13th position.

There was a crash during the session for local rider Khairuddin Zulfahmi (AirAsia – Sepang International Circuit Team) who was avoided well by the following Márquez, whilst Simone Grotzkyj (Fontana Racing) also fell towards the end.

The 125cc race gets the Shell Advance Malaysian Motorcycle Grand Prix race day schedule underway at 1 p.m. local time on Sunday.

1.93Marc MARQUEZSPARed Bull Ajo MotorsportDerbi223.72’13.398
2.38Bradley SMITHGBRBancaja Aspar TeamAprilia218.42’13.6910.293 / 0.293
3.40Nicolas TEROLSPABancaja Aspar TeamAprilia218.62’14.1040.706 / 0.413
4.44Pol ESPARGAROSPATuenti RacingDerbi223.12’14.1050.707 / 0.001
5.7Efren VAZQUEZSPATuenti RacingDerbi221.92’14.4151.017 / 0.310
6.11Sandro CORTESEGERAvant Mitsubishi AjoDerbi218.62’14.5511.153 / 0.136
7.12Esteve RABATSPABlusens-STXAprilia220.02’14.7721.374 / 0.221
8.39Luis SALOMSPAStipa-Molenaar Racing GPAprilia219.22’15.4942.096 / 0.722
9.71Tomoyoshi KOYAMAJPNRacing Team GermanyAprilia218.72’15.5412.143 / 0.047
10.35Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIStipa-Molenaar Racing GPAprilia215.52’15.9672.569 / 0.426
11.14Johann ZARCOFRAWTR San Marino TeamAprilia212.82’16.1502.752 / 0.183
12.99Danny WEBBGBRAndalucia CajasolAprilia215.52’16.2862.888 / 0.136
13.52Danny KENTGBRLambretta Reparto CorseLambretta210.82’16.3922.994 / 0.106
14.23Alberto MONCAYOSPAAndalucia CajasolAprilia220.02’16.5433.145 / 0.151
15.26Adrian MARTINSPAAeroport de Castello – AjoAprilia223.32’16.7063.308 / 0.163
16.15Simone GROTZKYJITAFontana RacingAprilia216.02’17.1513.753 / 0.445
17.69Louis ROSSIFRACBC CorseAprilia213.62’17.1543.756 / 0.003
18.78Marcel SCHROTTERGERInterwetten Honda 125Honda215.02’17.2683.870 / 0.114
19.84Jakub KORNFEILCZERacing Team GermanyAprilia213.22’17.4414.043 / 0.173
20.32Lorenzo SAVADORIITAMatteoni RacingAprilia210.42’17.8024.404 / 0.361
21.50Sturla FAGERHAUGNORAirAsia – Sepang Int. CircuitAprilia210.32’17.8784.480 / 0.076
22.63Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDINMALAirAsia – Sepang Int. CircuitAprilia209.92’17.8964.498 / 0.018
23.72Marco RAVAIOLIITALambretta Reparto CorseLambretta209.62’17.9534.555 / 0.057
24.53Jasper IWEMANEDCBC CorseAprilia212.32’18.5155.117 / 0.562
25.87Luca MARCONIITAOngetta TeamAprilia212.72’19.4446.046 / 0.929
26.96Tommaso GABRIELLIITAOngetta TeamAprilia210.82’21.1907.792 / 1.746
94Jonas FOLGERGEROngetta TeamAprilia