Sepang 125cc MotoGP: Friday Results

MotoGP News

Marc Márquez picked up where he left off in the previous round of the 2010 125cc World Championship as he set the best time in Friday’s opening practice at Sepang for the Malaysian Grand Prix.

The Red Bull Ajo Motorsport rider’s fastest lap of 2’14.274 left him almost four-tenths clear of second quickest Pol Espargaró.

The Tuenti Racing rider’s session got off to a difficult start when he had a crash at turn 11 inside the opening ten minutes, but it failed to affect his confidence as he eventually lapped in a time of 2’14.650.

The only other rider to get within a second of Márquez’s time was Championship leader Nico Terol (Bancaja Aspar) who was 0.510s off the lead time.

Esteve Rabat (Blusens-STX) and Bradley Smith (Bancaja Aspar) completed the top five but both have work to do to close the gap on Márquez.

Sandro Cortese (Avant Mitsubishi Ajo) was sixth fastest and avoided a high side at turn two at the end of the session, holding onto and controlling his bike admirably.

Danny Webb (Andalucia Cajasol), Randy Krummenacher (Stipa-Molenaar), Jasper Iwema (CBC Corse) and Adrián Martín (Team Aeroport de Castelló) all had crashes during the session.

Webb suffered a fracture of the first metacarpal bone in his right hand, whilst Iwema sustained a ligament injury in his right thumb. Both underwent further medical check-ups following the session.

The riders return to the track at 9 a.m. local time on Saturday morning, when the 125cc second practice is scheduled to start.


Pos.Num.RiderNationTeamBikeKm/hTimeGap 1st/Prev.
193Marc MARQUEZSPARed Bull Ajo MotorsportDerbi219.22’14.274 
244Pol ESPARGAROSPATuenti RacingDerbi219.62’14.6500.376 / 0.376
340Nicolas TEROLSPABancaja Aspar TeamAprilia220.92’14.7840.510 / 0.134
412Esteve RABATSPABlusens-STXAprilia219.12’15.3171.043 / 0.533
538Bradley SMITHGBRBancaja Aspar TeamAprilia220.02’15.4791.205 / 0.162
611Sandro CORTESEGERAvant Mitsubishi AjoDerbi214.62’15.5031.229 / 0.024
77Efren VAZQUEZSPATuenti RacingDerbi221.42’15.5681.294 / 0.065
835Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIStipa-Molenaar Racing GPAprilia217.92’15.9531.679 / 0.385
939Luis SALOMSPAStipa-Molenaar Racing GPAprilia221.32’15.9911.717 / 0.038
1094Jonas FOLGERGEROngetta TeamAprilia214.42’16.2041.930 / 0.213
1171Tomoyoshi KOYAMAJPNRacing Team GermanyAprilia217.52’17.0212.747 / 0.817
1223Alberto MONCAYOSPAAndalucia CajasolAprilia219.42’17.1112.837 / 0.090
1315Simone GROTZKYJITAFontana RacingAprilia218.42’17.1302.856 / 0.019
1499Danny WEBBGBRAndalucia CajasolAprilia216.22’17.3313.057 / 0.201
1584Jakub KORNFEILCZERacing Team GermanyAprilia213.82’17.4073.133 / 0.076
1663Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDINMALAirAsia – Sepang Int. CircuitAprilia212.42’17.4443.170 / 0.037
1778Marcel SCHROTTERGERInterwetten Honda 125Honda213.32’17.4533.179 / 0.009
1814Johann ZARCOFRAWTR San Marino TeamAprilia213.12’17.6543.380 / 0.201
1926Adrian MARTINSPAAeroport de Castello – AjoAprilia217.32’18.1043.830 / 0.450
2053Jasper IWEMANEDCBC CorseAprilia214.72’18.4854.211 / 0.381
2150Sturla FAGERHAUGNORAirAsia – Sepang Int. CircuitAprilia211.32’19.3575.083 / 0.872
2252Danny KENTGBRLambretta Reparto CorseLambretta210.62’19.5745.300 / 0.217
2369Louis ROSSIFRACBC CorseAprilia211.92’19.7115.437 / 0.137
2432Lorenzo SAVADORIITAMatteoni RacingAprilia210.62’19.8085.534 / 0.097
2572Marco RAVAIOLIITALambretta Reparto CorseLambretta209.12’19.8525.578 / 0.044
2687Luca MARCONIITAOngetta TeamAprilia214.82’20.1795.905 / 0.327
 96Tommaso GABRIELLIITAOngetta TeamAprilia209.32’24.68810.414 / 4.509