2010 FIM World Superbike Award Ceremony

World Superbike

Just a few hours after the riders had stepped off their motorcycles, the 2010 season was brought to a close with the traditional FIM Superbike World Championship awards ceremony, which this year was held in the Salle Ayrton Senna at the Magny-Cours circuit in France where the final round of WSBK occurred on Sunday.

The top 3 riders in the four racing categories were called onto the stage to receive their gold, silver and bronze medals, FIM diplomas, Pirelli awards and of course the end-of-season trophies from FIM Jury President Rudiger Merdes, Paolo Flammini (Infront Motor Sports CEO) and, for the Superstock 600, from the Chairman of the UEM Ap Ruitenbeek.

Aprilia rider Max Biaggi, Suzuki rider Leon Haslam and Ducati rider Carlos Checa for Superbike; Honda rider Kenan Sofuoglu and Eugene Laverty, and Kawasaki rider Joan Lascorz (represented by team manager Guim Roda) for Supersport; Badovini, Berger and Magnoni for Superstock 1000; and Guarnoni, Marino and Lombardi for Superstock 600 all took their awards, while the Superbike and Supersport Manufacturers’ prizes were picked up respectively by Leo Mercanti, Managing Director Aprilia Racing and Carlo Fiorani (Racing Manager Honda Europe).

Yamaha rider Cal Crutchlow and Kenan Sofuoglu received the Pirelli ‘Best Lap Award’ from Giorgio Barbier (Racing Director Pirelli Moto) for the Superbike and Supersport riders who totaled the most fastest laps throughout the season.