Motorcycle Racing News MotoGP: Misano Grand Prix Results

MotoGP: Misano Grand Prix Results

MotoGP News

Following a qualifying session that included many blistering laps on his Repsol Honda RC212V, pole-sitter Dani Pedrosa kept his rhythm solid Sunday, and won the Misano Grand Prix, Round 12 of the 2010 MotoGP Championship.

It was the Spaniard’s fourth win this season, and his first back-to-back victory after his first-place finish at the Indy GP. Pedrosa was joined on the podium by the Fiat Yamaha team of Jorge Lorenzo and Valentino Rossi, respectively.

Pedrosa was quickest in warm-up, and when the 28-lap race started, he got out front first, and led every lap in San Marino.

There was an accident at turn one, as Ducati Team rider Nicky Hayden hit Rizla Suzuki rider Loris Capirossi, and both went down. Hayden would return, but didn’t finish. As for Capirossi, the Italian suffered a DNF during his 200th premier-class race.

While Pedrosa was out front, Ducati Team rider Casey Stoner and the nine-time world champion Rossi swapped the lead a few times until Rossi made it stick. A few laps later, Pedrosa’s teammate Andrea Dovizioso also passed the Australian to capture fourth. Stoner finished fifth.

Behind Stoner came the American duo on the Monster Tech 3 Yamahas, Ben Spies and Colin Edwards in sixth and fifth, respectively. Rounding out the top ten were Álvaro Bautista, Héctor Barberá (Páginas Amarillas Aspar) and Marco Melandri (San Carlo Honda Gresini.

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1. 25 26 Dani PEDROSA SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 160.0 44’22.059
2. 20 99 Jorge LORENZO SPA Fiat Yamaha Team Yamaha 159.9 +1.900
3. 16 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Fiat Yamaha Team Yamaha 159.8 +3.183
4. 13 4 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Repsol Honda Team Honda 159.6 +6.454
5. 11 27 Casey STONER AUS Ducati Team Ducati 158.9 +18.479
6. 10 11 Ben SPIES USA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 158.3 +28.385
7. 9 5 Colin EDWARDS USA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 157.9 +34.934
8. 8 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA SPA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP Suzuki 157.8 +38.157
9. 7 40 Hector BARBERA SPA Paginas Amarillas Aspar Ducati 157.6 +40.943
10. 6 33 Marco MELANDRI ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini Honda 157.5 +42.377
11. 5 41 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Pramac Racing Team Ducati 157.3 +45.906
12. 4 7 Hiroshi AOYAMA JPN Interwetten Honda MotoGP Honda 157.3 +46.394
13. 3 14 Randy DE PUNIET FRA LCR Honda MotoGP Honda 157.0 +50.481
14. 2 58 Marco SIMONCELLI ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini Honda 155.2 +1’23.143
Not Classified
36 Mika KALLIO FIN Pramac Racing Team Ducati 155.3 11 Laps
69 Nicky HAYDEN USA Ducati Team Ducati 122.9 25 Laps
65 Loris CAPIROSSI ITA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP Suzuki 0 Lap

MotoGP Championship Points (after 12 of 18 rounds)

1. Jorge Lorenzo, 271

2. Dani Pedrosa, 208

3. Andrea Dovizioso, 139

4. Valentino Rossi, 130

5. Casey Stoner, 130

6. Ben Spies, 120

7. Nicky Hayden, 109

8. Randy de Puniet, 81

9. Marco Melandri, 67

10. Colin Edwards, 66

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 MotoE World Cup Championship Series Schedule First Look

The 2021 FIM Enel MotoE World Cup Calendar is set—well, at least as set as anything can be in the era of COVID-19 government...

Klim Adventure GTX Boots Review: Target Audience Perfection

Although mic drop is a cliché these days, some situations and products deserve that accolade. The all-new Klim Adventure GTX boots check every boot...

Harley-Davidson Gift of Riding H-D Riding Academy Contest

There is no better gift in the world than turning a non-rider into a motorcyclist. Of course, it takes more than best wishes to...

2021 Suzuki 650 V-Twins: New Colors Sneak Peek First Look

It’s always interesting to check into Europe’s latest to see what might appear on dealer showroom floors in the United States. We look at...

2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS SE First Look (5 Fast Facts)

After an upgrade last year, Honda has more plans for the now-midsize Rebel. There is now a 2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS—an accessorized version...

Sena SRL2 Review: Bluetooth Communications for Select Shoei Helmets

The Shoei Neotec II is a sweet upgrade from the original Neotec, and it incorporates many improvements. Nic de Sena reviewed the Shoei Neotec...