World Superbike: Germany Stats & Facts

World SBK

Here’s a list of official WSBK stats and facts heading into Nurburgring, Round 11 of the 2010 World Superbike Championship.

The Numbers:

350: Troy Corser will take part in his 349th and 350th race at the Nurburgring. Significant figures also for Noriyuki Haga, who will be on 280 races after race 1 and James Toseland, who can count on 190 after the race weekend.

Nurburgring Personal Scoreboard:

• Matteo Baiocco is looking for his first points on the Nurburgring track: last year he was sixteenth in race 2, while in the Superstock 1000 championship he was eighteenth in the 2008 race;

• Max Biaggi always scored points at the Nurburgring, and his results are on the way up: he was thirteenth in race 1 in 2008, then seventh in race 2 while last year he was fifth and fourth. His 2008 performances were influenced by a fall in the warm-up;

• in 2008 Carlos Checa was the best of the Honda riders on the starting grid: third; he finished both races in fifth. Last year he was able to climb twice on the podium in third;

• Troy Corser won the second Nurburgring race in 1999 in front of Aaron Slight and Akira Yanagawa and was close to winning also the second race in 2008: when the rain began to fall he was leading, but the classification had to be taken two laps before, while he was second behind Haga. Last year he was eighth and sixth;

• the best result out of four races run for Michel Fabrizio is a sixth, obtained in 2008, race 2. The Italian rider always scored points at the Nurburgring, finishing always in the top-10, both in qualifying and in the race;

• a fall in race 2 last year spoiled an almost perfect scoreboard for Noriyuki Haga, who obtained the double in 2008 and finished second behind Spies in race 1. The Japanese rider has always performed well on German soil: he has been able to win at every German track on the WSBK calendar. He won at Hockenheim in 2000, then Oschersleben in 2004, and another one at the Lausitzring in 2007. All these wins came not starting from pole, which came last year at the Nurburgring;

• Lorenzo Lanzi won his maiden race in Germany, at the Lausitzring in 2005, last year he wasn’t present at the Nurburgring, while in 2008 he wasn’t able to score points;

• Max Neukirchner was able to finish third in both 2008 races. Recently he stepped again on the top step of the podium, winning the first of the two races of the German championship, held at Assen on the 22nd of August;

• in his three races run at the Nurburgring, Jonathan Rea was always able to improve: he was sixth in the 2008 Supersport race, fourth in race 1 last year and came out as the winner in race 2;

• Jakub Smrz is looking for his first top-10 placement at the Nurburgring: out of four races run here he finished twice eleventh (in race 1, 2008 and race 2 last year);

• Tom Sykes last year finished both races in the top-10, in eighth and ninth. Like Neukirchner he was able to win again recently as a wild card in the British Championship: he won two of the three races run in Brands Hatch the 7th and 8th of August;

• James Toseland has never raced with the superbikes at the Nurburgring, however he won his maiden race on German soil, in 2003 at Oschersleben;

• also Ruben Xaus obtained his maiden win in Germany, in Oschersleben, in 2001. He always finished in the points in Germany from 2006 to 2008, last year he missed the Nurburgring round because he was recovering from his fall in Brno. His bike was given to British rider Richard Cooper.

Teams in Germany:

• Aprilia has never been able to place a bike on the podium in Germany, even though they have raced fourteen times in this country. The best result is a fourth, obtained three times, the last one last year with Max Biaggi;

• Ducati has obtained fifteen wins in Germany, three of them at the Nurburgring, the last one in 1999 with Corser;

• Honda won again in Germany last year in race 2 with Jonathan Rea, the wait started in 2006, when they won at the Lausitzring with James Toseland;

• In 1993 and 1994 Kawasaki won three times in Germany, however the last podium on German soil came in 2000, when Akira Yanagawa finished third in race 2 at Oschersleben;

• for the first time since 2004, last year Suzuki wasn’t able to climb on the podium in Germany: the best placement was a tenth in race 2 by Yukio Kagayama;

• Yamaha won three of the four races run here in the last two years, scoring the double with Haga in 2008 and winning with Spies in race 1 last year. Spies then finished second in race 2.

Milestones in Germany:

In Germany the following riders obtained…

…their maiden win: Scott Russell (1993), Troy Bayliss (2000), Ruben Xaus (2001), James Toseland (2003), Lorenzo Lanzi (2005);

…their maiden pole: Alex Vieira (1988), Troy Corser (1995), Pierfrancesco Chili (1996), Simon Crafar (1997), Lorenzo Lanzi (2005), Fonsi Nieto (2007);

…their maiden fastest lap: Christophe Bouheben e Virginio Ferrari (1988), Troy Bayliss (2000), Mauro Sanchini (2001).

In 2009 Jonathan Rea scored Britain’s 100th win, scoring also his maiden fastest lap.