Manx Grand Prix: First Timed Practice

Manx GP Practice

Variable conditions around the course on the Isle of Man meant a short delay in this evening’s first timed practice for the 2010 Manx Grand Prix, sponsored by but the session got away just before on Aug 23rd.

The first three riders away were newcomers Finland’s Osmo Partti, who failed to complete his obligatory newcomers lap on Saturday following his accident at Sulby Bridge, and Robert Simcock. Mick Godfrey also joined the pair on a lap accompanied by Rider Liaison officer Carolynn Sells.

The rest of the field set off once the newcomers reached Sulby, with Drogheda’s Wayne Kirwan, riding for his own team this year and Brian Purdy from the Isle of Man followed by Mike Minns and experienced MGP campaigner Phil McGurk leading the field away.

Manxman Paul Smyth from Douglas set the early pace on his Yamaha R6 600 machine and was the only rider to post three figures on the first lap, with a time of 100.629mph, followed by Grant Wagstaffe and Andy McPherson. Smyth’s time was also the fastest in the Senior class with Glyn Jones on the 750 Suzuki the second fastest at 97.807.

Smyth again posted the fastest lap on the second lap, increasing his average time to 104.021 with Peter Symes on a Suzuki GSXR 750, Jonny Heginbotham (CBR600), Grant Wagstaffe (GSXR Suzuki) 102.645 and Ivan Lintin also posting 100mph plus laps.

Newcomer Andy Fenton also achieved his first 100mph lap with a time of 103.009 on a 600cc Yamaha in the Newcomer A group with Scott Campbell recording 94.085 in the Newcomer B class.

In the lightweight class double 2010 TT sidecar winner Dan Sayle topped the leaderboard after the first practice with a lap of 96.022 with Nigel Moore second and Roy Richardson third. Dave Moffitt was quickest in the Ultra Lightweight’s with 99.526mph.

In the Classic practice Olie Linsdell recorded an excellent 100.327mph on the Paton with Mark Herbertson (94.929mph) on the Matchless and Paul Coward (93.032) on a 71 Nourish Weslake in second and third. Michael Dunlop and Mark Buckley were first and second in the Post Classic practice with Dave Madsen-Mygdal the Senior Classic (750cc) class fastest.

Alan Oversby topped the Junior Classic class with 91.971 with Chris Palmer second and Nigel Moore third fastest on the night. Alan Bud Jackson topped the Lightweight board with 84.865mph.

Ivan Linton posted the evening’s fastest Sulby Speed trap time at 159mph with newcomer Robert Simcock clocking the second fastest at 155.3mph. Olie Linsdell was timed at 143.1

Steve Hodgson was reported as okay, and making his own way back, following an incident at Gooseneck and Tim Venables was assisted by a travelling marshal after sliding off, also at the Gooseneck.

Michael Moulai and Roger Jones were both taken by airmed to Nobles hospital but were not causing concern while Adam Easton was OK and treated by the Red Cross after an accident at Bedstead.