Motorcycle Racing News Silverstone Superbike: Stats & Facts

Silverstone Superbike: Stats & Facts

World SBK News

This past weekend’s race at Silverstone, Round 10 of the 2010 World Superbike season, didn’t have the close action usual of the series.

In both race 1 and race 2, Yamaha Sterilgarda rider Cal Crutchlow and Hannspree Ten Kate Honda rider immediately opened up a sizable gap over the remaining grid. But after many lead swaps, Crutchlow ended up with both wins, the first of his WSBK career.

In World Supersport, Parkalgar Honda rider Eugene Laverty edged out Hannspree Ten Kate Honda rider Kenan Sofuoglu for the win. The race was red flagged due to a fiery crash on lap one involving Kawasaki’s Joan Lascorz and Yamaha’s Roberto Tamburini.

Lascorz sustained four broken rips and other injuries, and Tamburini a broken collarbone.

The riders/teams now have a month-long break before the season commences in Germany Sept. 3-5 for the first of three final rounds.

Here are some official WSBK stats & facts from this past weekend’s Silverstone Race:


  • At Silverstone Cal Crutchlow won his first race, recorded the double and both fastest laps, entering the elite of twenty riders who have been able to record such a feat. The list is led by Troy Corser and Carl Fogarty, with six races dominated in similar fashion. Before Silverstone the last time it was recorded was last year at Donington (Ben Spies).
  • Cal also recorded his tenth front row start: in his short Superbike career he has never qualified lower than ninth.
  • For the fourteenth and fifteenth time in Superbike history the podium was locked out by riders coming from the same country, in this case the United Kingdom. It happened also this year in Assen in both races. With six total podiums in two races, the UK goes over the 300 total podium mark, at 304, moving closer to Australia, which leads with 329.
  • With the win in race one, Yamaha reached 200 Superbike podium presences, they are third in the all-time rankings behind Ducati (447) and Honda (295).


  • Tenth win for Eugene Laverty. He is at his sixth season win, only two shy of the season record of eight set by Kenan Sofuoglu in 2007;
  • Kenan Sofuoglu scored his fifteenth fastest lap, equalling Sebastien Charpentier at the top of the all-time chart. The Turkish rider is on his thirteenth straight podium, and also in this he has equalled the absolute record set by Charpentier from Brands Hatch 2004 to Assen 2005;
  • 80th Supersport win for Honda;
  • Maiden podium for Gino Rea: he is the sixth youngest rider to climb on the podium at 20 years, 11 months and 13 days. The record belongs to Yoann Tiberio, who was 19 years 5 months and 21 days old when he won in Monza in 2006.

Superstock 1000

  • Ayrton Badovini is mathematically champion with his seventh season win and for the fourth time he managed to score pole, win and fastest lap;
  • Thanks to Ayrton’s performances, BMW reached Yamaha at the longest sequence of wins, seven. Yamaha posted their streak in 2004 with Lorenzo Alfonsi (3 wins) and Gianluca Vizziello (4);
  • Badovini’s one was the 60th win by an Italian rider in Superstock 1000. Italy leads the chart in front of Great Britain (18) and Belgium (11).

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Harley-Davidson Gift of Riding H-D Riding Academy Contest

There is no better gift in the world than turning a non-rider into a motorcyclist. Of course, it takes more than best wishes to...

2021 Suzuki 650 V-Twins: New Colors Sneak Peek First Look

It’s always interesting to check into Europe’s latest to see what might appear on dealer showroom floors in the United States. We look at...

2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS SE First Look (5 Fast Facts)

After an upgrade last year, Honda has more plans for the now-midsize Rebel. There is now a 2021 Honda Rebel 500 ABS—an accessorized version...

Sena SRL2 Review: Bluetooth Communications for Select Shoei Helmets

The Shoei Neotec II is a sweet upgrade from the original Neotec, and it incorporates many improvements. Nic de Sena reviewed the Shoei Neotec...

2021 Ducati Diavel 1260 Lamborghini First Look (12 Fast Facts)

It is virtually impossible to go wrong when combining two iconic brands, such as Ducati and Lamborghini. With the two marques owned by the...

Classic Superbikes by Frank Melling Book Review: Motorcycle History

Frank Melling is an old-school moto journalist and former factory racer. He lives with his wife Carol on a beautiful farm in northwest England....