Motorcycle Racing News World Superbike: Brno Superpole

World Superbike: Brno Superpole

Superbike Brno

Four different manufacturers will be starting on the front row at Brno, Round 9 of the 2010 World Superbike Championship, with Yamaha Sterilgarda rider Cal Crutchlow leading the 22-rider grid.

The 24-year-old Brit piloted his YZF-R1 to a 1:58.018, which was his best at Brno. This marks the fourth time Crutchlow starts on the pole, including Portimao, Valencia and Kyalami, although he has yet to win a World SBK race.

The only other rider to post under 1:59 was Aprilia Alitalia’s Max Biaggi. The 39-year-old Italian and series leader posted a 1:58.743. Many riders consider him the biggest challenge this weekend; Biaggi has already won eight races this season on his RSV4, and arrives in Brno with two back-to-back double headers under his leathers.

HANNspree Ten Kate Honda rider Jonathan Rea grabbed the third spot on the grid after posting a 1:59.094 on his CBR1000RR. The 23 year old from Northern Ireland is coming off a hectic WSBK race weekend in Misano, where he had a 13-12 finish.

The last bike on the front row is the BMW Motorrad Motorsport S1000RR ridden by 32-year-old Ruben Xaus. This is his best superpole of the season, his second-best coming at Monza when he placed the second-year BMW in sixth.

His teammate Troy Corser gave BMW their first pole at Misano, and had a 3-10 finish there. Unfortunately, Corser won’t race this weekend due to injuries he sustained in a crash during Friday’s Qualifying Practice.

Troy Corser says “Unfortunately I cannot race this weekend. I feel quite exhausted right now, and I have a pain in my chest. It was a huge impact, and I am happy I was not hurt badly. I remember the crash pretty well: I somehow lost the rear, and then I highsided. I would have loved to race in Brno, but we all agree I need a couple of days to rest now to be able to start in Silverstone.”

2010 World Superbike: Brno Superpole Results:

1. (35) Crutchlow C. (GBR) Yamaha YZF R1 1’58.018

2. (3) Biaggi M. (ITA) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1’58.743

3. (65) Rea J. (GBR) Honda CBR1000RR 1’59.094

4. (111) Xaus R. (ESP) BMW S1000 RR 1’59.135

5. (50) Guintoli S. (FRA) Suzuki GSX-R1000 1’59.179

6. (99) Scassa L. (ITA) Ducati 1098R 1’59.393

7. (84) Fabrizio M. (ITA) Ducati 1098R 1’59.451

8. (7) Checa C. (ESP) Ducati 1098R 1’59.571

9. (57) Lanzi L. (ITA) Ducati 1098R 1’59.699

10. (52) Toseland J. (GBR) Yamaha YZF R1 1’59.699

11. (76) Neukirchner M. (GER) Honda CBR1000RR 1’59.829

12. (66) Sykes T. (GBR) Kawasaki ZX 10R 1’59.830

13. (2) Camier L. (GBR) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1’59.841

14. (91) Haslam L. (GBR) Suzuki GSX-R1000 1’59.995

15. (41) Haga N. (JPN) Ducati 1098R 2’00.258

16. (67) Byrne S. (GBR) Ducati 1098R 2’00.564

17. (96) Smrz J. (CZE) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 2’00.341

18. (77) Vermeulen C. (AUS) Kawasaki ZX 10R 2’01.167

19. (15) Baiocco M. (ITA) Kawasaki ZX 10R 2’01.523

20. (11) Corser T. (AUS) BMW S1000 RR 2’00.508

21. (23) Parkes B. (AUS) Honda CBR1000RR 2’01.463

22. (95) Hayden R. (USA) Kawasaki ZX 10R 2’01.826

2010 World Supersport: Brno Superpole Results:

1. 26 J. LASCORZ (ESP) Kawasaki ZX-6R 2’02.800

2. (37) K. FUJIWARA (JPN) Kawasaki ZX-6R 2’02.817

3. (50) E. LAVERTY (IRL) Parkalgar Honda CBR600RR 2’03.082

4. (99) F. FORET (FRA) Team Lorenzini by Leoni Kawasaki ZX-6R 2’03.193

5. (54) K. SOFUOGLU (TUR) HANNspree Ten Kate Honda CBR600RR 2’03.397

6. (51) M. PIRRO (ITA) HANNspree Ten Kate Honda CBR600RR 2’03.421

7. (4) G. REA GBR Intermoto Czech Honda CBR600RR 2’03.450

8. (7) C. DAVIES GBR ParkinGO Triumph BE1 Triumph Daytona 2’03.641

9. (127) R. HARMS DEN Harms Benjan Racing Honda CBR600RR 2’03.757

10. (117) M. PRAIA POR Parkalgar Honda CBR600RR 2’03.959

11. (25) D. SALOM ESP ParkinGO BE1 Triumph Daytona 675 2’04.157

12. (14) M. LAGRIVE FRA ParkinGO Triumph BE1 Triumph Daytona 675 2’04.445

13. (31) V. IANNUZZO ITA ParkinGO BE1 Triumph Daytona 675 2’04.549

14. (55) M. ROCCOLI ITA Intermoto Czech Honda CBR600RR 2’05.130 2’04.849

15. (5) A. LUNDH SWE Cresto Guide Racing Team Honda CBR600RR 2’05.504

16. (8) B. CHESAUX SUI Harms Benjan Racing Honda CBR600RR 2’05.673

17. (85) A. PALUMBO ITA Puccetti R. Kawasaki Italia Kawasaki ZX-6R 2’05.770

18. (9) D. DELL’OMO ITA Kuja Racing Honda CBR600RR 2’06.091

19. (32) T. HOLUBEC CZE Intermoto Czech Honda CBR600RR 2’06.306

20. (22) D. BUKOWSKI POL Bogdanka Racing Honda CBR600RR 2’06.336

21. (88) J. CERNY SVK Bily Racing Team Yamaha YZF R6 2’06.620

22. (74) B. SKUBIC SLO Inotherm Racing Team Yamaha YZF R6 2’09.288

23. (24) E. BLOKHIN RUS Rivamoto Yamaha YZF R6 2’10.220

24. (10) I. TOTH HUN Team Toth Honda CBR600RR 2’10.248

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2022 Kawasaki KLR650 First Look (14 Fast Facts)

2018 was a dark year for Kawasaki KLR650 enthusiasts. It was the last year of the much-loved venerable big-bore dual-sport model that debuted in...

2022 Indian FTR Lineup First Look (8 Fast Facts)

It’s barely 2021, yet the 2022 Indian FTR lineup is here, and there are some significant changes to three of the four variants. In...

2021 Kawasaki KLX230R S First Look (8 Fast Facts)

Just a year after the debut of the Kawasaki KLX230R trail bike, we get our first look at the 2021 Kawasaki KLX230R S. While...

2021 Triumph Speed Triple 1200 RS First Look (19 Fast Facts)

Forget what you know about any previous Triumph Speed Triple. The 2021 Triumph Speed Triple 1200 RS is an all-new naked upright sportbike ready...

2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited First Look: Updates, Specs, Photos

The 2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited arrives with two new paint choices, plus a couple of updates in the dash area. There’s a new LED...

MP Magic 37.5 Tech Merino Wool Socks Review (All-Season Footwear)

I’m very picky when it comes to motorcycle socks. For dirt bikes, it’s easy. I always wear Fly Racing Knee Brace socks, as they...